We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best rooftop bar!”

plunge Rooftop Bar & Lounge at Hotel Gansevoort
Reserve with OpenTable
plunge Rooftop Bar & Lounge at Hotel Gansevoort is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,401 of 13,619 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Scenic view, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: West Village
Cross street: 13th
Transit: A, C, E & L trains to 14th Street and 8th Avenue.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“best rooftop bar!”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This rooftop bar had great food, music, service and view! It was quieter on Wed. nite, but nice to hangout and have apps and couple drinks. Thurs nite much livelier with cool people watching crowd and fun dance music. People were very fashionable and friendly. Def. will be back!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    96
    31
    19
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“good drinks, great music”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

i stayed at the gansevoort on saturday night and we got a late lunch here with some cocktails. yes, it is overpriced but i don't think you should really be here if you are looking to not spend money. the drinks were really good and the food was good too. we went back here later at night for dancing and the music was great! it was crowded but not so much so that we couldn't move or dance.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dchrysan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallarate
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful view”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I have been at Gansevoort roof top bar with a friend for a cocktail after my office time
The view on NY is simply amazing
The cocktails are really nice
There is an opened smoking area and an area with a nice swimming pool
I suggest to go there to have a lovely night view of the town

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
464 reviews
391 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Open air rooftop terrace with a rookie crowd”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Stopped in here for a drink with a friend on a late summer evening. It was pretty crowded with non NYers, it seemed. Drinks served in plasticware and were way overpriced. View of the Hudson and NJ was nice.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBM212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountainside, New Jersey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“When you want the rooftop sexy scene....”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

What can I say? It's the meatpacking and there is a lot of skin on display so it's hot, sexy NY nightlife. Great music and ambiance on the rooftop overlooking the river and midtown.
Yes, drinks are through the roof, but if you are on a budget, you shouldn't be there.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lgsells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed plunge Rooftop Bar & Lounge at Hotel Gansevoort also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to plunge Rooftop Bar & Lounge at Hotel Gansevoort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing