We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the price-too much”
Review of Sala One Nine

Sala One Nine
Reserve with OpenTable
Sala One Nine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,928 of 13,684 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Flatiron District
Cross street: Between 5th and 6th Avenues
Transit: 4, 5, 6, N, Q, R, W, & L trains at Union Square; F & V trains at 14th Street and 6th Avenue; 1, 2, and 3 trains at 14th & 7th Avenue.
Description: Sala One Nine offers a true and authentic Spanish culinary experience in a casual, friendly, and unpretentious setting. Come in and enjoy a few tapas and a glass of sangria with a friend at one of our two bars or invite 15 friends in for a specially coursed out and wine paired experience...From the business lunch to the special occasion with friends, we offer a warm and friendly experience and the very best of what Spain has to offer. Sala One Nine has live flamenco music and dance shows every Monday from 7:30pm-10pm. Sala One Nine is the only venue that offers live flamenco music and dance in New York City.
Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
97 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“For the price-too much”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The tapas were ok... Small pitcher of sangria... was $32. Service was good enough but menu selection was not. I had higher hopes but was disappointed. I do not think I will try this again. It is too bad because it is a nicely decorated place but unfortunately we can not eat that...

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rkounsny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    37
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, CA
Level Contributor
111 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Pleasant Find”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Walking down 19th street to go shopping at TJ Max on 6th Avenue when I noticed I was pretty hungry. My wife and her sister are like Spartans who never stop to eat and I was with them. Realizing that if I did not tell them I was starving we would never stop for lunch I just picked the next restaurant and said we should try it. They were dubious, but recognizing that I was being dragged with them to shop they decided to try it. The restaurant was Sala One-Nine and it was superb. They have a lunch special at $10 which is soup and 1/2 sandwich. We tried this. All of us had the lentil soup which was thick and delicious. My wife had the Vegetal Bocadillo which is Roasted portobello, roasted red pepper, empeltry olive and goat cheese. My sister-in-law and I had Pollo Braseado Bocadillo which is Grilled chicken, roasted vegetables and alioli. Everything was great. I even came back later for a nice glass of cabernet savignon when I could no longer figure out what to do while the others shopped. The lunchtime waiter remembvered me and pleasantly visited with me during his break. Enjoy. Here is the link http://www.salaonenine.net/

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bobba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good food, Service..Eh”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Food was good. Started with a traditional plate of chorizo, ham, manchego cheese etc. Then we had patatas bravas, meatballs and then the calamari. Everything was good, except the calamari was awful, Chewy and eek! Sauce was a great companion to dip crusty bread in.
Service--- Our bus boy was a nightmare. asked for clean plates and then he stood there waiting for me to finish my food so he can take my plate away. It was awkward and weird. ALso told the waiter to STOP sending out food so fast. It wasn't busy and tapas are meant to be enjoyed so we asked them to HAULT! and they did... overall been there quite a few times and it's a lovely atmoshphere . Food is delicious and will always go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LandJNYUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flushing, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great drinks and Food”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This place has a great happy hour and the tapas are delish. It is small and accomodating and the atmosphere is welcoming. The wait staff is pleasant and attentive. Sangria is tasty and inexpensive. Definitely a "come back" to place.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LadyDiNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
94 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Cool Place...”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Went here with my niece for her birthday to meet. Started off with a great Sangria. Had many tapas to try. The octopus was off the map; the others were fine too. Waiter service was pleasantly attentive. My niece said this is a hot place and seemed so. Good for a first date or a business meeting.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mitchell I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sala One Nine also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Sala One Nine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing