We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY disappointing”

Vegetarian Dim Sum House
Ranked #4,465 of 13,684 Restaurants in New York City
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“VERY disappointing”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

I can't say that I'm very familiar with dim sum, or that I am a fan of the sticky texture of some Cantonese dishes. That said, I found the food here to be bland, mushy and soggy. We ordered 8 items (the waitress did not advise us that that would be too much) and there was not much to distinguish them from each other (with a couple of exceptions). As others here have mentioned, the service was also not friendly. I can't recommend this place, which is too bad since many of the reviews (and the Lonely Planet write-up) seemed so promising.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IBeenBattuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    23
    11
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Horrible”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

We sought this restaurant out because it's in the Lonely Planet book for New York City. My word of advice...don't waste your time. Granted, I'm not a connoisseur of dim sum but all the dishes we got tasted pretty much the same...mushy and bland. Nothing tasted fresh, nothing had flavour. Really, it was the worst meal we had in New York.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Selleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
303 reviews
271 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Stuck in the 1970s”
Reviewed February 4, 2012

This place has absolutely no atmosphere, when you walk in, it's like you're back in the 1970s, very depressing decor, there's things they can do to brighten up the place without spending much money, like adding mirrors, playing some music in the background, fresh coat of paint, etc. However, the food is great. We ordered from the Dim Sum menu that the waitress gave us along with their regular menu. We tried the pan fried dumplings, spinach buns and mixed veggies buns. We had to hail a waitress for more soy sauce because they walked by and didn't ask us if we needed anything. Service could be better. Everything was delicious, we ate it all, zero leftovers. You get complimentary hot tea too. I saw many tourists in the place, so I guess they do pretty well despite having no atmosphere and I have to admit that I would eat here because I love their food.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank QueenoftheHighways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Terrible service, food ok”
Reviewed January 13, 2012

I would recommend avoiding this place. While the food was ok,the service was terrible. The waitress grabbed our ordering sheet and then came back a while later to throw our food down on the table. Turns out it was not our order, but it was too hard to get any help so we just ate it and paid. It ended up being a good deal for us because the food was not that good and the order we were given was smaller than what we had ordered. I think there are much better places out there.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank miller20817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A remarkable surprise on Christmas Day!”
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Our family party of nine met in Chinatown where this and most every restaurant had lines in the street on Christmas day. Our wait was short and the staff helpful. Once seated, the waitress was right there and took our very large order in a flash, including a custom sauteed garlic/greens dish not on the menu. Platter after platter began to arrive in minutes, generous servings all hot, fresh, and delicious. They serve "mock" pork, chicken, and seafood Dim Sum as well as many main dishes, and it all really works! The fact that everything is vegetable based left us satisfied and full for hours with no "giant Chinese meal after-effects". We were not rushed through our dinner and the bill for nine of us was less than $120!! Wow.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oldbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vegetarian Dim Sum House also viewed

 

Been to Vegetarian Dim Sum House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing