We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel in a Fabulous Area”
Review of Hotel East Houston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel East Houston
Ranked #341 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Wonderful Hotel in a Fabulous Area”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Hotel East Houston is a great place to stay for comfort, convenience and enjoyment. We loved how close it was to so many burrows of NY. Only a few minutes to Brooklyn, Time Square, Tribeca, Meat Packing etc. the hotel is quiet, warm and safe feeling. The staff are all so very friendly. We loved East Side and would certainly recommend this hotel. Wish the weather was not so cold as the rooftop area has an awesome view.

Room Tip: Corner Room or room on Houston St side was great. No noise which was surprising.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meeksell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    187
    63
    12
    14
See reviews for
24
200
74
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Andover, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Not the best location, but it is accessible to subway, east village, soho, etc. and easy spot to get a cab. Great lobby, rooftop deck, and breakfast/computer lounge in basement. Rooms were basic and small - European sized. Platform bed was adequate, but not plush comfy. Good for the price, as NYC hotels go.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mws80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ozone Park NY
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Loved staying at Hotel East Houston. The rooms are cozy and clean. The staff are very courteous. The rooftop offers excellent views of the city skyline. Location is great to travel anywhere in NYC! I highly recommend the Hotel East Houston!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Walking distance to East Village. Hotel staff friendly and eager to assist. Three night stay, the smallest hotel room we've had in NYC. Coffee, tea and hot chocolate are the only beverages available for guest and a trip to lower level to get.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

This is a very simple, affordable hotel conveniently located in Soho. This hotel is located close enough to Soho shops you can easily walk and drop bags within 10 minutes.

Additional benefits of the location – it’s a block away from a Whole Foods, which saved me money on food, across the street from a subway stop, and a couple of blocks from Katz Deli (which is fantastic).

This is a well located, clean, no frills hotel. I’d stay here again.

Room Tip: Elevator is maybe the slowest in any hotel I've stayed in. Lower floors may be better since if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

This was a great little hotel right on Houston street. The bus was right outside and metro was 4-6 blocks away. January was low season so the price was right. It can get very price in the Summer months since you can walk to so many great areas. Very nice roof top patio to relax and check out the skyline. Friendly front desk staff. Rooms are very small with no side chair or desk. Closet is very small for 2-3 items only. Stay here for the location, not the room.

Room Tip: The rooms higher up and not on Houston street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyomaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

If you want a great, basic hotel that's close to NY's coolest bars and restaurants, look no further than Hotel East Houston. My husband and I have just got back from a four-night stay there and loved it - the hotel was clean, had good, hot showers, was perfectly located for the nightlife and practically next to a subway stop (2 Ave). We could walk to most of the places we wanted to visit - including Williamsburg - and were just a stone's throw away from Bowery, Little Italy and Broadway. Our room was spotless and the staff were always friendly (although we only really spoke to them to check in and check out). During our stay, there was a lot of work taking place on the main road outside but it didn't disturb our sleep and we didn't hear a peep out of the other guests so the soundproofing must be good. There's also a really cute little roof terrace on the 7th floor where you can enjoy the views with your own food and drink - we've promised ourselves we'll go back to experience it in the summer next time :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brogmalog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Orchard Street Hotel
Orchard Street Hotel
#316 of 466 in New York City
142 reviews
East Village
The Gatsby Hotel
The Gatsby Hotel
#385 of 466 in New York City
43 reviews
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#97 of 466 in New York City
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Sago Hotel
Sago Hotel
#360 of 466 in New York City
64 reviews
Manhattan
Off Soho Suites
Off Soho Suites
#370 of 466 in New York City
267 reviews
Lower East Side
Redford Hotel
Redford Hotel
#395 of 466 in New York City
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel East Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel East Houston

Property: Hotel East Houston
Address: 151 E Houston St, New York City, NY 10002-1004
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #341 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel East Houston 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelPower, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel East Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Houston Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing