We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A midtown dive, and I mean that as a compliment”
Review of Jimmy's Corner

Jimmy's Corner
Ranked #358 of 13,684 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Midtown
New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A midtown dive, and I mean that as a compliment”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I hadn't been to Jimmy's Corner for a long time, and I haven't stopped in regularly since the stretch of 42nd between 6th and 7th still had peep shows. Then it was the cheapest dive bar in midtown, and I loved it because it reminded me of the East Village dive bar where I worked (except Jimmy's was focused on boxing instead of punk rock). Dingy. Loud. Bar staff who wouldn't let you keep hanging onto a table if you weren't ordering another drink. Walls crowded with memorabilia. Cheap beer.

So tonight I went back to Jimmy's, and it remains almost exactly as it was 20 years ago--one of the few places in the Times Square area of which that can be said. It's still loud and dingy, and still cheap. An echo of the old squalor still hangs around the place. I still love it.

Don't go to midtown if you can avoid it, but if you have to be in the neighborhood, end up at Jimmy's.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lengelcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    93
    16
    5
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orchard Park, New York
Level Contributor
83 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great out of the way bar -right there in Times Square”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I heard about Jimmy's Corner and was in the mood for a drink. I ended up with more than a few beers and left with more cash in my pocket than I ever have in NYC. $4.00 Sam Adams for the four hours I sat there. Not the type of place to go with more than two friends due to the postage stamp size standing area behind the bars tools. Finding a stool is a bonus and I lucked out after only 10 minutes. No loud obnoxious yelling idiots, no discussion of politics allowed (even posted!) and new friends are made easily. Well, being so close to each other, you better become friendly. The bartenders were great and always in front of you to fill your empty glass. Don't expect bar food, just a great atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly locals, cold beers just off Times Square without killer prices”
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Just returned home after a father and son trip from the UK to New York. We stayed in the nearby Hotel Mela and tried Jimmys Corner for a drink, and we were glad we did. OK so this place is a bit rough around the edges, but hey the staff and locals are friendly, serve cold beers, e.g. Bottles of Budweiser $3 each for just of Times Square is a very acceptable price. If your not a fan of boxing that's no problem, if your a fan of a friendly bar and sensible prices give it your custom. I for one will return when I next visit NYC.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, Ca
Level Contributor
104 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Go early in your trip- locals give great suggestions!”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

$3 beers just a block off Times-Square?! Yes! A super cool, tiny bar owned by Jimmy who used to manage Mohammed Ali. Tons of cool boxing pictures, and friendly locals! No food, but well worth a few hours. One of our favorite NYC experiences! I wish we had visited earlier in our stay, the locals know the best restaurants!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank iwannag0there
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cheap beer great atmosphere”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Pints and bottles are 3 dollars in this bar lots of boxing memerobilia and an old juke box, open till 4 in the morning and full of locals

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank carbek01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jimmy's Corner also viewed

 

Been to Jimmy's Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing