We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS MUCH BETTER”
Review of Super 8 Carlsbad

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Carlsbad
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Carlsbad
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS MUCH BETTER”
Reviewed August 22, 2010

This was the WORST and I mean WORST motel experience of my life. BODILY FLUID STAINS ON THE SHEETS. BUGS IN THE HALLS. BLOOD ON THE SHEETS. BEDBUG WELTS IN THE MORNING. Breakfast is from the George Washington era. DO NOT STAY AT THIS MOTEL, I'm calling the health dept. as soon as possible so it can be shut down. When we informed mgmt. of the bedbugs they simply refunded the money and Didn't act surprised.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smdrtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    51
    83
    63
    90
See reviews for
103
88
19
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2010

Please do not stay at this hotel yes its cheap but is very dirty and the breakfast room is filthy and sticky. Like my youngest said Super 8 not so super!!!!
The manager of the place did nothing about the noise level at 11:00 people were running up and down the halls and yelling and basically having a party in the hallways.

Beware there are no elevators at this dump you will have to carry your bags up 3 flights of stairs- yikes after you hike Carlsbad cavern the last thing you want is to drag your stuff up.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamelapurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Carlsbad hotels

Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
108 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2010

We stayed here one night in June before our hike to Guadalupe Mountain. I had read the reviews and was not expecting much but since we were literally only going to be here for about 10 hours, I thought it couldn't be that bad. We didn't notice the bed bug problem mentioned in other posts but the level of cleanliness was lacking. The rooms are old and everything seemed dirty. There was a mini fridge in the room which was handy for keeping our snacks and drinks for the hike cold but that was really the only positive thing I can say. There was an odd cooking smell that permeated throughout the hotel. Beds were not very comfortable. Everything is just very outdated and kind of depressing here. The Holiday Inn Express seemed to be the newest hotel in town but was about $150 which seemed really too expensive for 10 hours in a room. However, I think I would definitely splurge for the Holiday Inn Express next time if I were staying in Carlsbad again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saqsaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2010

The Carlsbad Super 8 is infested with bed bugs. In room 313, we found live two bedbugs, blood stains on the bed and bed bug excrement all over the sheets after one night. We ended up with over 50 welts per person after just 1 night here. We killed a bug and brought it to the manager, who was not surprised and said we could cancel the rest of our reservation with no penalty, but did not refund our money. We know they put people in room 313 the next night because we had to return for a novel we'd left behind and they said the room was occupied. We found one bug in room 315 also. This hotel is infested and the management does not care. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KSL84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2010

had over $2000 dollars of stuff stolen out of our vehicle in their parking lot
zero sympathy from either local or corporate.
did not even offer to comp our room.
according to local police this a regular occurrence here.
if you enjoy poor customer service and being robbed...
this is the place for you!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrucesSean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
391 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2009

When a person travels and stays in small towns across the USA, this is the typical motel you'll stay at. To its credit, the bed was comfortable and the pillows were decent. The shower worked well and the hot water came on right away. The free wi-fi came in handy. Very important things.

The down sides: There were no outlets to plug in electronics. Every one was taken. There was the potential for being disturbed by noise in the hallway, but we were there on a relatively quiet day. And the continental breakfast was out of juice and didn't have much else.

I have stayed in much worse places across the country in small towns, so I feel a bit lucky. It's always a gamble when it's not the Ritz.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mauiwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socorro
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2009

My girlfriend and I were going to celebrate her birthday, She got sick with the H1N1 virus. Super 8 refused to cancle our reservation and still wanted to charge us 100% of our bill. My family and I will not ever use these branch of hotels again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
2 Thank dalleec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlsbad
5.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 22 in Carlsbad
198 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Carlsbad
4.8 mi away
U.S. Travelers Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad
16.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#1 of 3 in Whites City
346 reviews
2.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
#4 of 22 in Carlsbad
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Carlsbad

Property: Super 8 Carlsbad
Address: 3817 National Parks Hwy, Route 62/180 South, Carlsbad, NM 88220-5952
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Carlsbad 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Super Eight Carlsbad
Carlsbad Super Eight
Carlsbad Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing