We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The quintessential Super 8”
Review of Super 8 Carlsbad

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Carlsbad
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Carlsbad
Sudbury, MA
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“The quintessential Super 8”
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

A roof over your head but no reason to spend any more time there than necessary. The room had a slight moldy smell but not enough to be really bothersome. Window screen hadn't been cleaned in years. Breakfast was bare essentials. The positive highlight: the mattress was nice and firm, something many more expensive hotels don't get right.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mix579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
praful07451, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Carlsbad, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
As a valued customer, what you experienced during your stay is important to us. By giving us your feedback, you are helping us to understand what we do well, and what we need to focus on improving. Your comments regarding the cleanliness and upkeep of our property will be seriously taken and will be immediately handled by our Housekeeping staff.

It is enlightening to know that we got the mattress part right, we will constantly strive to look for ways to enhance our services that satisfies our guests most. Thank you for the opportunity to grow and improve more, we certainly hope to be of service to you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    53
    85
    64
    94
See reviews for
108
91
19
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Billings
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2014

we were on a business trip, the motel was clean, had laundry service which was nice and a good breakfast

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Jody T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
praful07451, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Carlsbad, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
It is always encouraging to hear positive comments of our guests regarding the great experience they had on our Hotel. We are pleased to know that your stay was comfortable with our well-maintained rooms and laundry service and fulfilled by our refreshing breakfast selections. Please advise us of your next business trip and we will be more than happy to ensure that you receive the same pleasant accommodations, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I've stayed in some truly horrible places and this doesn't qualify, but it was below average. The rooms are nicely decorated, but they smell moldy and the bathroom was dirty (see attached photo). My husband asked the management to clean it on our second day, but they didn't. I see this as poor management. Also, the type of uncleanliness appears to be due to very cursory cleaning and a management that doesn't properly supervise - not seeing the ground-in dirt or the sour-smelling refrigerator. The hotel hallways smell funky, as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldloverSantaFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
praful07451, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Carlsbad, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

We sincerely appreciate your time and effort to write us a review of our property. In behalf of the management, we would like to apologize for the inconvenience during your stay.
We value all of our guests' feedback and use it to evaluate what can be done to improve our hotel as well as what we are doing right. The comments you’ve mentioned regarding the cleanliness and upkeep of our Hotel will be immediately taken care of and our staff will be reminded to ensure the upkeep of our Hotel to make you more comfortable and satisfied in your next visit.

We hope you give us a chance to make things right so that you’ll have better perception of our Hotel should you decide to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Carlsbad hotels

Winterset
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Carlsbad motels take advantage of the tourism draw of the caverns, every single one has outrageous rates, this one is no exception. The same room in other towns averages $30-40 less per day. The room had overall bad odor, the in-room refrig. smelled of spoiled food. The tissue box in bathroom was empty. The tv remote was missing the battery cover & worked intermittently. The window screens were completely full of dust & there was a fine layer of dust on all the furniture. There was a broken area of tile flooring on the steps which I tripped on. This room was a disappointment, this motel is past it's prime.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tlmw27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
praful07451, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Carlsbad, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for finding the time to share about your stay. Your feedback is indeed of great importance to us. Our aim is to provide a great hotel stay to every guest and we are saddened that we failed to achieve that during your stay.

Your comments regarding the maintenance and upkeep of our hotel will be shared to our and team. Rest assured that we will strive even more to improve the quality of accommodations we offer to our guests as we want you to find great value each time you choose to stay with us.

Again, thank you for the opportunity to grow and improve more, we certainly hope to be of service to you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

I'm currently staying here at the super 8 hotel. I am writing this review from what it feels like to be a sheet of plywood as a "bed". The shower is disgusting and doesn't drain properly. The hotel also has a moldy smell as well. Will be sleeping in my truck if other hotels are booked! Fair warning!

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
praful07451, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Carlsbad, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
We sincerely apologize for the very unlikely experience at our Hotel. Our hotel is committed to delivering the best service quality to our guests- your feedback will help us correct and improve our services to better achieve our primary goal.

Your comments regarding the bed and cleanliness of the shower room will be highly regarded and immediately forwarded to our staff to ensure that your next stay will be more comfortable and convenient and to prevent this from happening in your future visit. We hope that you will be more satisfied on your next stay should you decide to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRAND JUNCTION
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

The Super 8 met our needs. We arrived late and left early so just a bed for the night was required. That's about all you get and it's not that reasonably priced. Everything in Carlsbad is overpriced because of the national park. It was clean enough but don't expect more.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TGinGJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
praful07451, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Carlsbad, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for your time and effort to write us about your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback greatly helps in our effort to continuously achieve customer service excellence.

We always see to it that our rates are affordable and competitive to offer great value to our dear guests. We are delighted to know that you were satisfied with your accommodation at our hotel.

Thank you for your business, we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlsbad
5.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 22 in Carlsbad
216 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Carlsbad
4.8 mi away
U.S. Travelers Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad
16.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#1 of 3 in Whites City
355 reviews
2.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
#4 of 22 in Carlsbad
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Carlsbad

Property: Super 8 Carlsbad
Address: 3817 National Parks Hwy, Route 62/180 South, Carlsbad, NM 88220-5952
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Carlsbad 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Super 8 Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Super Eight Carlsbad
Carlsbad Super Eight
Carlsbad Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing