We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not too bad, not too good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
U.S. Travelers Inn & Suites
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Carlsbad
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not too bad, not too good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2010

Picked this hotel because they let us bring our dog for only $10 extra a night. Wasn't too impressed with breakfast, but it was there for us until 10am, even on a weekday. Close to the Caverns. Close to town. Nothing too out of the ordinary for what you'd expect from a budget hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ohstewardess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    37
    30
    23
    18
See reviews for
37
33
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2010

We first stayed at this Comfort Inn a few years ago, and at the time it was better than the other hotels in Carlsbad, but we will not stay here again. The owner is only interested in making money, and doesn't care about his guests. The breakfast room is VERY TINY. There were five small tables in a small space, so that it was impossible to walk between the tables. The hotel was fully booked with 50 rooms, many holding 4 or 5 people. We have never seen such a crowded room, with people bumping into each other. People were eating in the lobby and found it really difficult to reach the food, and they were always running out of food. They locked the breakfast room shortly before 9:00 am. When we checked out we complained about this, and asked why couldn't he at least lengthen the breakfast times so people could spread out the times they ate. We were told that the owner keeps the breakfast hours short on purpose, and the room small, because he can fill the hotel anyway even if the people are dissatisfied. Apparently Comfort Inn inspectors only come when the hotel is empty, so they think the breakfast room is adequate. They said the owner wants to remove the hotel from the Comfort Inn brand so he can make more changes. I hate to think how bad the place will be after that, because it is becoming run down already.

Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank ViolaNewMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Carlsbad hotels

Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2009

My wife and I stayed here during our western road trip. We originally planned to stay at the newer Holiday Inn but ended up here instead when we found that it was fully booked. The hotel was in decent condition upon our arrival. It's located at the north edge of town which puts it farthest away from Carlsbad Caverns. It really didn't bother us though since we were heading to Colorado after our stay there... but do be aware that you will have to drive through Carlsbad and numerous traffic lights on your way to the caverns.

The hotel had a nice staff and they quickly got us checked in. Our first room had a broken a/c so we were relocated a few rooms down. The room was nice and clean but did have some wear and tear and could definitely use some touching up. It did have an LCD television though which was nice. Didn't try out the pool area although it looked a bit worn as well. The breakfast area is also very small.

Overall we had a nice, quiet stay. Not a bad hotel but might check at others first.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DudleyDupree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2009

the staff was great but a little dissapointed for a comfort inn, overall not a bad experience

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soccer_star94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
720 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2009

The Comfort Inn Carlsbad is an ok place to stay while venturing to nearby parks and other outdoor recreation opportunities. Sadly, the hotel appears nicer from the outside than it is on the inside. A few recent furniture and décor upgrades do not cover up the general beat-up appearance of the rooms.

POSITIVES
*Extremely spacious rooms. (My 2nd floor king room is one of the largest hotel rooms I’ve had in a hotel of this class.)
*Very friendly check-in.
*New flat-screen TV.
*Sink area is separate from shower/toilet area.
*Removed from the older, busier area of Carlsbad for peace and quiet.
*Big, bright windows in rooms, especially on the 2nd floor.

NEGATIVES
*The rooms and corridors look very, very beat up. It’s time for management to give the walls some TLC, replacing wall-paper, repainting and patching holes from old hanging furnishings (pictures, mirrors, shower rods, etc.)
*No sheer blinds for allowing in daylight while providing privacy. Only the heavy black-out blind was present.
*The hot water is very slow to arrive to the room shower or sink. While this is an inconvenience anywhere, it’s a sad and unnecessary waste of water in an extremely arid environment.
*There is a smokers’ area right outside the center entry door. Management should move the smokers’ area further from the door so the rest of us do not have to run a gauntlet of foul air to enter the building.

In summary, with a little bit of capital investment, this hotel could be a very pleasing property. Until that investment occurs, however, the positives of a stay at the Comfort Inn Carlsbad will be tempered by the negatives.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank COLadyRoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
150 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2009

The bed was ok, the carpet was not conducive to walk around barefoot, and the pillows were small. The rooms need some refurbishing as everything is quite dingy. The flat panel TV was nice. The water was hot, but the shower area was poorly lit, and narrow. The breakfast area was very SMALL!! This made it difficult for us to get food and sit.
The hotel is on the FAR north side of town. It takes about 45 minutes to get from the caverns to the hotel, because of the 30 miles distance and many poorly timed traffic lights. The front desk staff was extremely helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Artie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2009

We stayed at Comfort Inn during our trip to Carlsbad Caverns. Be aware that this hotel is the farthest away from the caverns but we were traveling north afterwards so it wasn't a big deal. There is still a lot of construction on the way to the caverns and it takes about 45 minutes to get there from Comfort Inn.

Our room was very nice except for a sink with cracks in the bottom of the basin. Not a big deal. The air conditioner kept me freezing the entire time but husband loved it. The construction of the building is such that you can hear people on the floor above you but we didn't hear any noise from nearby rooms. The indoor pool was nice but FREEZING. Wifi works well. Went out once while we were there but was quickly reset.

My main complaint about this hotel that would keep me from staying again is the size of the breakfast area. It is tiny and the tables are so close together that you simply can't get through if people are sitting at every table. The caverns guests seem to arrive at about 8:00 so go before or after that if possible. They were almost out of food at 8:00 but refilled containers fairly quickly.

Front desk staff was extremely helpful.

I don't think they have an elevator in the hotel so plan to request a 1st floor room or walk the stairs.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mishshel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 22 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
4.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad
2.7 mi away
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
#4 of 22 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carlsbad
5.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Carlsbad
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to U.S. Travelers Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U.S. Travelers Inn & Suites

Property: U.S. Travelers Inn & Suites
Address: 2429 W Pierce St, Carlsbad, NM 88220-3558
Location: United States > New Mexico > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — U.S. Travelers Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The US Travelers Inn and Suites is ideally located near some of New Mexico’s best features such as Carlsbad Caverns National Park, Living Desert State Park, Lake McMillan, Carlsbad Museum & Art Center and Brantley Lake State Park. This 100% non-smoking Magnuson Hotels affiliate offers guests a Continental breakfast served daily, free high-speed wireless internet access, free parking with room for large vehicles, indoor heated pool, hot tub, fax/copy service and exercise room. Unfortunately, pets are not accepted at this location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your U.S. Travelers Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u.s. Travelers Hotel Carlsbad
u.s. Travelers Inn And Suites
Comfort Inn Carlsbad
Carlsbad Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing