We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay for a good price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
U.S. Travelers Inn & Suites
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Carlsbad
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
166 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good Stay for a good price”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Lots of hotels in Carlsbad are expensive, I chose this based on ratings and the price. The desk clerk was one of the friendliest people I have ever met and the rooms were large and clean. Everything about this place was fine- they could use more places to plug in phones and tablets/computers in the rooms. Breakfast was extensive for the price-- all in all a very nice stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhyteWind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    37
    30
    23
    18
See reviews for
37
33
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This was a very clean and pleasant stay. The room was nice, with a fridge and microwave. The hotel was very quiet. The staff was friendly and informative. The continental breakfast was pretty standard but the woman running it did her best to make sure that there was always plenty of each item in stock. The price, though high, was the lowest of any place in Carlsbad. It seems like rooms anywhere in Carlsbad are $30-$40 more than their counterparts in other areas. All in all, we'd stay here again. In fact, we did. Originally, we planned to see Carlsbad Caverns the next day and then move on toward Santa Fe. However, after staying for the bats and star party at the national park, it was too late and we were too tired to move on. So we spent a second night here and were very satisfied.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

You may be in sticker shock with what Carlsbad has to offer, but if you want to go to the caverns and stay overnight, you're stuck! Luckily this hotel was much less expensive than many of the others in town, and it's comfortable and has everything you need. The room was clean although the bathroom was a bit dark. The fridge & a/c worked just fine. Breakfast offered plenty of options. The pool looked clean although we didn't use it. WiFi worked great. You may notice that in relation to town and the caverns, it's location is clear across town, but make the drive as it's so much cheaper than the other options!

Room Tip: Get a 2nd floor room, there were youth groups and families at the hotel when we stayed and you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Lunas, New Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Room was okay - had a frig and microwave. The frig clicked and made noise all night and wasn't that cold. The tub was so chipped I would never have considered actually sitting in it. It's the most expensive hotel I've stayed in with my work travels and was no where near the quality or value. I only stayed here because the oil companies have all the hotels booked and this was the only room I could find within 100 miles. I would not have stayed here if I had a choice and would not choose to stay here again. The parking lot was absolutely full and because the hotel is booked they are charging $145 for a $75 room. Outrageous! I only saw 2 other women - 1 guest and the clerk. Fortunately, the workers I encountered were polite. I looked at the breakfast - cold cereal and from the freezer pastries - I skipped it. I understand it may be more relaxed on the weekends but this was a business trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CamelotVet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
butternut wi
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Rooms were large, clean and staff was friendly. Breakfast was good. If an elevator is a concern book a room on the first floor they do not have one. We had a room on the west side of the building. On hot days it takes a little while for the air conditioning to cool off the room but nothing unreasonable. Stay was good. All of the hotels in Carlsbad are overpriced.

Room Tip: On extremely hot days stay on the east or north side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Where to start? The ladies behind the counter upon checking in were extremely friendly. One even mentioned my weight loss after looking at my govt. ID. VERY nice of her! The room was very clean and spacious. Lots of extras, coffee pot, microwave, fridge, iron board, etc.

Free breakfast was relaxing. Yes it's a continental breakfast, but you can have a Danish and some coffee and just relax. The fitness room was great, absolutely loved the treadmill. Would have been better if the weight machine had of been functional, but not a big deal.

I didn't get to use the pool or hot tub, but they were very clean.

Lastly the location is ideal. Carlsbad Caverns was one direction and Roswell / Bottomless Lakes the other.

One of the best experiences I've had in a hotel / Inn ... Not sure how it was before when it was Comfort Inn, but I would be willing to bet this is leaps and bounds better.

Thank you again for a truly pleasant experience. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank washamur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Most of the time, "Name your price" on Priceline works out... and then there's this hotel. We paid $100/night for this old, musty, moldy, gross hotel. If we paid half that amount, I would say that it's just old and kind of gross... I'm not sure how this hotel is allowed to function without an elevator or egress sign in the room (a MAJOR safety concern)... When we opened the door to the room, we were hit in the face with a horrible stinch and when we hit the lightswitch the lights flickered on like some bad horror movie. This is not so family friendly as we found numerous worker vans in the parking lot with some guys hanging around smoking/drinking outside. The breakfast was better than expected... but the jacuzzi was broken (of course I wouldn't have touched it anyway...)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Carlsbad hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 22 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
4.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad
2.7 mi away
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
#4 of 22 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carlsbad
5.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Carlsbad
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to U.S. Travelers Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U.S. Travelers Inn & Suites

Property: U.S. Travelers Inn & Suites
Address: 2429 W Pierce St, Carlsbad, NM 88220-3558
Location: United States > New Mexico > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — U.S. Travelers Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The US Travelers Inn and Suites is ideally located near some of New Mexico’s best features such as Carlsbad Caverns National Park, Living Desert State Park, Lake McMillan, Carlsbad Museum & Art Center and Brantley Lake State Park. This 100% non-smoking Magnuson Hotels affiliate offers guests a Continental breakfast served daily, free high-speed wireless internet access, free parking with room for large vehicles, indoor heated pool, hot tub, fax/copy service and exercise room. Unfortunately, pets are not accepted at this location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your U.S. Travelers Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u.s. Travelers Inn And Suites
u.s. Travelers Hotel Carlsbad
Comfort Inn Carlsbad
Carlsbad Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing