We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total Disappointment & RIP OFF”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Great Western Inn & Suites
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Carlsbad
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My husband thought it was the Best Western Hotel,which turned out to be an typical cheap scale
Indian Motel. They charged us over 80 dollars.The room was very shabby and dirty. Internet was broken for the day and they don't have time to fix it,later I read other reviews about the internet seems broken year round. The continental breakfast was a joke. spoiled milk & $1 worth Tampico Juice...TOTAL RIP-OFF AND DISAPPOINTMENT

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
There are newer reviews for Great Western Inn & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 91 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2012

After reading reviews online I was scared to book this room,but my daughter had gotten a puppy for Christmas so we needed a room with pets allowed! 10$ charge per pet per night,that's much better than the other in that city for 25-50$ a pet a night.
Our room was clean (window edge was very dusty) room was very out of date,but bed was soft & warm,bathroom was very dated but clean! We even used the indoor pool- it was freezing outside but the pool was heated and cleaned- I liked it being a salt water pool. We didn't use the hot tub it was full of teenage boys. The motel is in a good location! Gas was cheaper here 2.99 at walmart - go eat at Happy's they have ginormous hamburgers awesome old fashion milkshakes. We will stay here again if in the area!!! Oh yeah,tv was updated flat screen nice! Internet was fast worked great for our iPads&itouch.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amber T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Let's get the bad stuff out of the way:
- the room is old, and furniture looks ancient. There's a microwave and fridge, and my partner said that the microwave is considered an antique - i'm not familiar with the history of microwaves, so i cannot comment, but you get the general idea.
- The breakfast is meager. When i say meager, i mean that there is a poor selection of flour products (bread and bagels only?), some cornflakes, and milk and orange juice is provided. I wouldn't say that you would look forward to their breakfast at all.

I'm not sure if there's any good, but
- this is your standard run-of-the-mill motel facility, and if you are just checking in for a night, i would say it's value for money. I have tried to find other accommodation in the area, and i think this is the cheapest, if not the cheapest, in the area. Totally live-able.
- there is a huge Samsung TV, which really goes against the mood of the place. It looks new, it's like 52" or something. We did not use it, so i can't comment on the channel selection.
- the internet is fast. I had no problem connecting to it via my handphone and tablet, but my laptop couldn't get a valid IP on it. I can understand if some people complain about the internet not working, cause i tried all kinds of stuff, and my laptop still could not connect.
No sweat though, i tether my cellphone's connection to it in the end, but it's still puzzling.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Conjured
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We found and prepaid for our room online. The front desk was helpful and quick in giving us our room keys. The room wasn't anything fantastic considering the price, but it was clean and warm. We slept soundly and had no problem checking out in the morning.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyMK47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We arrived at the Great Western Inn and Suites excited about the hot tub, indoor pool, and free internet. Our room was OK, fairly dirty, with old, stained furniture, but a nice TV and leaky but acceptable sink and bathroom. The sheet appeared to have been freshly cleaned, but not the comforter.

First we went to the pool area. The hot tub was really gross with lots of sand and junk on the bottom and stains on the sides. It smelled bad too. The salty water lacked almost any chlorine, and seemed to be more of a urine bath than anything else. The pool was slightly cleaner. We headed back to the room to take showers and rinse the urine off. The shower head was terrible. In general I like high pressure showers, but this one hurt, firing several water pick like jets at bizarre angles, but it did get the urine off.

Before dinner, we wanted to use the internet to look up restaurants in the city, look at maps, etc, but the internet did not work. After a couple of calls to the font desk it still didn't work. They told us it work for other customers because they hadn't received any other calls. Finally another customer came in to complain, and they admitted it didn't work and that they could not fix it. Since we hadn't touched the bed and had been there less than 45 minutes, we asked for a refund so we could find a hotel that could supply internet as promised. We were told that they were not able to, because they didn't have the permissions to refund a card. Then we were told that there were no refunds after 15 minutes, and we found out the permissions comment was untrue, he just didn't want to refund the money and put new towels in the room. Since we payed more to book this hotel over others specifically for the free internet and pool, we felt ripped off when the urine bath (pool) was gross and the internet was nonexistent. I have never dealt with such a dishonest, disrespectful and rude businessman ever.

We ended up staying the night to find the "continental breakfast" pathetic. In contained only a jug of cheap orange juice and 2 varieties of cereal.

Major waste of money, Find another hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danasaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Had a very difficult time getting a hotel room in this small town. Lots of out of state oil workers here with no rooms available. Thought we might be sleeping in the car, but when we arrived at 930 the desk clerk said he had been waiting on someone who hasn't showed up or called about their room and he gave it to us. It was a little scary since the hotel lobby area smelled simply awful, thought the room would smell the same way. This was a motel with a regular "key" lock, like you seen in the movies. Really old and dingy but in the end we were happy to have a room and the rate was very reasonable, they could have charged way more than what we paid

Room Tip: This was a "motel" in the heart of town so good location I guess...not many rooms availabl...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank immrstigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Hotel was clean, owners take good care of their facility and they are friendly. They saved our situation with giving us the room hard to find last minute, allowed our small dog. We were after 12 hours drive on October 2, 2012, and had huge disappointment shortly before with another hotel in Carlsbad we originally reserved via internet. That was Executive Inn and Suites - don't ever consider that one. So, we recommend Great Western inn & Suites ,it's not new one but very quiet, safe and clean, good parking, comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marysiakwiat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
5.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 22 in Carlsbad
219 reviews
4.8 mi away
U.S. Travelers Inn & Suites
2.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
#4 of 22 in Carlsbad
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Carlsbad
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Western Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Western Inn & Suites

Address: 3804 National Parks Hwy, Carlsbad, NM 88220-5951
Location: United States > New Mexico > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range: $83 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Great Western Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Great Western Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Western Hotel Carlsbad
Great Western Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing