We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable hotel at decent price on cavern side of town”
Review of Days Inn Carlsbad

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Carlsbad
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Carlsbad
Reviewed April 4, 2010

Acceptable chain hotel on the south side of town closer to the caverns. Try to stay on the second floor ot cut down on noise.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mclpcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (534)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

462 - 468 of 534 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2010

This hotel is way, way over priced. They have an indoor pool and they allow pets with a charge BUT....the room is already so overpriced that the extra for the dog was ridiculous. The pool is so chlorinated it made us itchy. It felt weird on our skin.
The breakfast was a huge disappointment! No juice of any kind. One sad looking apple. Plain flavored oatmeal with nothing to flavor it. No bagels. Plain white toast. A few cereals...nothing our kids liked.
The desk clerk was dressed in a goth outfit. Completely unprofessional.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suebailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2010

I have had some fairly poor stays at other Days Inn hotels in the past, but based on the other Tripadvisor reviews, I was willing to stay at this one due to a good price. I was very happy that we picked this place; it is very clean, and the owners are quite friendly (the front desk staff is just ok in terms of friendliness). The rooms were clean, larger compared to many other similar hotels, and the room was comfortable. It was great value for the price. The only complaint I had was that there were a lot of smokers in the common areas outside the rooms, and though we had a non-smoking room, every time we walked outside, it reeked of smoke.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redanteater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2010

Good hotel for the price. Room was clean and adequate, definately not fancy. My kids swam in the indoor pool and had fun. Breakfast was nothing special and I hate styrofoam plates/bowls, but it was fine for feeding kids before you hit the toad in the morning. Overall it was about what I expected for what we pd, especially since I got a great deal using a coupon code off the Internet. I would stay here again if passing through Carlsbad.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZLbike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2010

The room was very comfortable and quiet. The price was right. However the best thing is that the owner pick us up 30 miles from the motel when our truck broke down and the tow truck couldn't carry all of us! He then refused our tip, offered a car for the next day and then took us to the airport to pick up the rental car. This guy deserves our business. Please reward this kind of commitment to the customer.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4pajones0403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2010

Traveled to Carlsbad for a weekend and for the most part this was the city's saving grace. Most of the resturaunts have the worst customer service we have ever had. $10 per a dog per a night is alittle steep.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nmsu71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2010

This hotel is overpriced compared to hotels in other cities, but for Carlsbad it was rated as one of the better hotels for this price. Room was perfectly adequate, but the evening staff was just plain lousy. Completely unhelpful (had no information on the town, and no area map) and very rude. Breakfast was underwhelming (heat up this frozen processed pancake on this George Foreman Grill). Conveniently located for excursions to Carlsbad Caverns.

Be warned, not much to do in this town aside from the delightful and reasonably priced Fiesta Drive-In Theater, so choose your hotel wisely (as you may be spending a lot of time there).

Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
1  Thank sfgamchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
5.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 22 in Carlsbad
223 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Carlsbad
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
5.0 mi away
U.S. Travelers Inn & Suites
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Carlsbad

Address: 3910 National Parks Hwy, Carlsbad, NM 88220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range: $161 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Carlsbad 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Days Inn Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing