We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be a nice motel if ....”
Review of Days Inn Carlsbad

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Carlsbad
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Carlsbad
Reviewed July 22, 2008

We stayed here for 3 nights this month (07/08). It is still a acceptable Days Inn, but it will go downhill quickly from here on. In a few more years this place will be a dump. The room was nice-sized and mostly clean. The sheets were all wrinkly and starting to look gray, but I think they were clean. The towels were thin, thin, thin and came in shades from medium gray to dark gray. The towel rack by the sink fell off the wall while we stayed there. I did not get fixed. The towel rack in the bathroom hang loosely on 2 screws waiting to fall off. The safety latch on the door was broken and unusable.

We were there during several thunderstorms and noticed that half of the rain cutters were missing (broken off) and everything got trenched. The light post around the parking lot were either not working at all, or the light bulbs needed to be replaced.

We had good working Internet in our room. The breakfast room was OK and so was the breakfast - normal Days Inn breakfast consisting of a nice assortment of prepackaged cereal, muffins, bagels and waffle makers.

It's a shame because the place is not very old and someone build a nice Days Inn. I am sure that the ownership changed in the last few years and the new owners just run it down.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (542)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

498 - 504 of 542 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2008

Our stay was good...clean, comfortable, quiet room. My only complaint was that the free WiFi wasn't working. We ate at Denny's instead of the continental breakfast. We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Julious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2008

We spent 2 nights at this motel last Sept. Although the room had a slightly deoderized smell it was a huge improvement from the Best Western Cavern Inn where we had spent the previous night. I recall that the room was a decent size, the bed was comfortable, the tub was clean, the shower head had numerous settings, there was plenty of light in the shower for shaving, and the free continental breakfast was adequate. The location was very convenient; the motel is one of the closest to the Caverns (about a 35 min drive and away from the local traffic in Carlsbad.) In the busy summer months I imagine this might be especially advantageous. It is only a mile or 2 in the other direction to the center of Calsbad for restaurants. For a standard motel room the Days Inn worked out fine for us.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank 4evertravlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2008

This is a basic hotel which served our purposes quite well when we visited Carlsbad Caverns and Guadalupe Mountains National Parks. The hotel was fairly clean, but we did discover that our sheets appeared to be dirty. Hotel Management came and changed our sheets. The continental breakfast was fairly basic. We never used the pool which was overrun with kids. We image that this hotel is overrun in the summertime with folks going to Carlsbad caverns and this hotels does show a bit of wear and tear. The best thing this hotel has going for it is its location. It's one of the hotels closet to Carlsbad caverns. If I ever went to Carlsbad caverns again, I would probably stay here again. I would not pick a hotel on the other side of Carlsbad.

Stayed: March 2008
Thank photoguywisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2008

We just needed a clean place for the night and the Days Inn was just right. Indoor pool was good for our kids and light carb breakfast. Not good for me but you won't starve. Front desk people were great and we had a great time.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cindykelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2008

Stayed 1 night in Feb. Room was clean, everything was in working order. Rooms have fridge, microwave and coffee maker. There is an indoor pool and Jacuzzi. Unfortunately, there’s no way to access them except from outside - a nuisance in the colder months. Free breakfast was adequate. Free wi-fi is available in the rooms and there’s a free internet computer available for use in the lobby. Motel is located on south side of town, closest to the Caverns. Hotel recommended eating at Lucy’s. It was a good choice for Mexican food.

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank NewMexBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2007

This was a "drop-in" stay, and our third stop on a Southern New Mexico roadtrip. I've given this hotel four out of five stars on a "small town motor hotel" scale.

The Days Inn Carlsbad is located on the stretch of highway pointing toward Carlsbad Caverns - a plus for tourists headed that way. The lobby decor is unique and derives from the Indian subcontinent.

The indoor pool was fantastic after a long drive, and the temperature was just right for my skinny 2-year old. We all had a ball. (Outdoor pools are just not an option in November, even in the southland).

The suite has a partial partition between the living and sleeping areas. There is an opening in the wall that allows a direct line-of-sight from the exterior window to the main bed, so there is NO privacy in the room if the curtain is open. The smoking rooms are quite intensely "fragranced" and non-smokers will want to open the window or door for a while during their stay.

Our suite had a DVD player! I thought that was novel, and we were inspired to run to WalMart to pick up a video. We also did a load of laundry at the hotel with no problems.

Room was clean, lobby was clean, checkin and checkout were straightforward (we had no reservations). Breakfast was more-than-basic, with some hot items, but not a standout.

Stayed: November 2007
4  Thank mamawantsgreenchile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad
5.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 22 in Carlsbad
229 reviews
2.5 mi away
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Carlsbad
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carlsbad
5 mi away
U.S. Travelers Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Carlsbad

Address: 3910 National Parks Hwy, Carlsbad, NM 88220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range: $164 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Carlsbad 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Days Inn Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing