We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The area was clean, easy to access, and had an indoor pool...”
Review of Days Inn Carlsbad

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Carlsbad
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Carlsbad
Reviewed March 19, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (527)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 527 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

My son and I stayed here over the weekend since we were headed to Carlsbad Caverns. It was a nice place to stay. The price seemed about par for a chain hotel located close to any recreation. The room was nice and comfortable. The lady at the desk was real friendly. Actually got to talk to her twice. She was working a double and was even friendly the next morning even though she looked tired. The indoor pool and hot tub was nice. Not a big pool but nice to soak in. The room was clean and the beds were nice. It was a no frills room but we didn't need any. The wifi worked fine. Just a plain continental breakfast served in the morning. Overall not a bad place to stay at all.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayM71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInn-NM, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Hello, My name is Carla Sandate the manager ay Days Inn i want to thank you first off for your review. I am so happy to hear that your stay with us was comfortable and convinent for you and your son. Plase if you happen to come out our way again we hope that you stay with us again thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DaysInn-NM, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

As advertised on their sign upon entering, they had new bedding. The mattress was wonderful - even though it was a really strange size. My husband and I have a sleep number bed at home - he prefers a soft mattress and I prefer a firmer one - but we agreed this mttress was perfect for both of us!
We were in a "suite" - the front room was the sitting area, so our sleeping area was far enough from the main road that we didn't hear the traffic noise from the street.
Unfortunately, the carpets were filthy - there was lint and dirt throughout and it seemed like they hadn't vacuumed properly in a year! . There were five of us traveling together and had three rooms - every one of them with the same dirty carpet issues. Even though the rest of the room appeared to be clean, the carpets were such a turnoff that we felt dirty just being there.
The breakfast was basic - nothing special, but adequate for a Continental breakfast. We all would have preferred eating in a decent restaurant, but there wasn't one in close proximity to the motel.
The shower head was great - the toilet was not good., so there was a "wash" as far as the bathroom facilities were concerned. The water in the sink got so hot it would scald you if you weren't carefull, but the shower water stayed constant and was not an issue.
One of the three rooms smelled of Fabreeze or something similar, so there must been a dog or something in that room and I couldn't even visit my neice staying there. . The housekeeper reeked of perfume and after making up our room the second day, the scent remained and and we had to air it out before I could go in it. I had a whiff of her in the dining area at breakfastand earlier and it was pretty potent and obnoxious..

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank A G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

There were five of us (two couples and the daughter of one of the couples) staying here for two days. We had three rooms and not one of them had a decently vacuumed carpet - and as one in our group said it had probably been years since the carpets had been cleaned and monhs since they'd been vacuumed, making everything else seem dirty. Everythng else, however, seemed to be fairly clean. The smell of the Fabreeze or something like it was overwhelming to me - instant headache. We all left the doors open as long as we could to try and get rid of the smell, but that didn't quite cut it. Also, the housekeeper who made up our room reeked of perfume and left another very strong scent behind. The rooms were a decent size; the furniture and fixtures definitely needed replacng except for the shower head which appeared to be fairly new and was quite nice AND the new mattress which was a strange shape (much wider than long) but extremely comfortable - and I stress "extremely". As another reviewer said, there were sizable cracks around the door and the cold air got into the room. There was a small microwave and a typical motel sized refrigerator in each room, which was nice. The breakfast was nothing special, but did offer a choice of two juices and a couple of cold cereals, hard boiled eggs and waffles and some apples. What contact we had with the staff was pleasant. Don't think I'd like to stay here again, except I keep thinking about the wonderful mattress..........

Room Tip: Stay as far back on the property as you can. There was quite a lot of trafic and train noise closer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank bnb325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed just two nights. The room was acceptably clean, the bed comfortable, the shower nice. There were lots of tables and other furniture tops for bags and other belongings. There weren't enough outlets for charging electronics. Our biggest problem was the noise! Walls were paper thin and neighbors were loud, so we got little sleep. There were sizable cracks around the door, so the cigarette and pot smoke from outside drifted right into our room. Staff were pleasant. Like every room we found in Carlsbad, it was very overpriced.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Wanderingthrulife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
5.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 22 in Carlsbad
221 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Carlsbad
2.6 mi away
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
#4 of 22 in Carlsbad
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad
5.0 mi away
U.S. Travelers Inn & Suites
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Carlsbad

Address: 3910 National Parks Hwy, Carlsbad, NM 88220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range: $161 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Carlsbad 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Days Inn Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing