We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could Have Been Better”
Review of Days Inn Carlsbad

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Carlsbad
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Carlsbad
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    156
    135
    70
    67
See reviews for
228
149
16
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We are seasoned travelers and have never had such a horrible experience. We booked a confirmed credit card reservation at this motel months in advance. We lost the credit card on this trip and called the credit card company to have it cancelled. When we arrived at this motel at 2:30 pm on the day of our stay we were told our reservation had just been cancelled. They said our original card had been declined.

I explained to the owner what happened and that we were planning to use another credit card to pay for the room. He could have cared less. The reservation clearly stated that the card would not be charged until we checked out or if we did not show up. I said it never occurred to me that I had to notify him in advance if we were going to use a different card (we had no problems at our other hotels). I said that we were travelling in remote locations (Big Bend Nat Park) were there was no cell phone coverage anyway.

The owner spoke fluent English so there was no issue with him not understanding what happened. I told him he should not have tried to charge our card in advance. He was very rude and more concerned about justifying what he had done so he would not lose any money than caring about our problem. I told him that we would never stay at another Days Inn motel in the future.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

While the room, itself, was adequate, we found crumbs in the bed when we turned down the covers on the sofa bed! I called the front desk and was told by the desk clerk that there was no one else at the hotel and he could not leave the desk. He said I could come to the desk and pick up the linens myself and change the sheets. I went to the desk and told him that this was unacceptable and insisted he call the manager. The manager had him lock up the front desk and change the linens.

We had also asked the desk clerk to suggest a restaurant and he recommended a Chinese Restaurant down the road; however, he had told us to take the right side of the fork instead of the left and we ended up in who knows where before we decided to turn around.

We did enjoy the continental breakfast but wish there had been more fruit variety than just apples.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanDiegan79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Carlsbad hotels

Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Arrived at the reception desk to find the receptionist arguing with a guest on the phone. After listening to five minutes of this, a man walked in wanting to talk to the Manager about the rude way his wife was treated.
Not a good first impression!!!!
When the receptionist finally got around to me, she said "Your reservation was cancelled because your credit card was refused". When I offered another card, I was informed that the room had already been given away.
I had used the credit card for the rent-a- car and to make several other purchase that day, with no problems. I called the bank and they said the card was good. ( I even used the card later that night and the in the following days after with no problems!) So the credit card excuse was total Bulls**t!!!!
What is the point of reserving in advance? The hotel never tried contacting me to resolve the supposed issue. The staff is rude and uncaring. They never offered to find me a room in another hotel. (They had no vacancies after giving away the room I had reserved). There was an oil convention in town, so I had to drive to Roswell to get a room( about 80 miles away).
I will never ever stay at a Days Inn again!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere would be my tip!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daljetamt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInn-NM, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Carlsbad, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
First of all I want to start off by apologizing that your stay was anything but comforting. I am and will do my best to get these issues taken care of. Again my apologies !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLENDALE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Jennifer at the front desk took very good care of me. Answering all my questions and giving me very quick check-in service. Although, it didn't workout for my return trip to the area because they were booked, Jennifer worked hard to try to offer some options but they just didn't have the space available. Would have, and actually did recommend this Days Inn to my co-workers. Thank you,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
2 Thank DANIEL A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInn-NM, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Carlsbad, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Hello! We are very glad to hear that u enjoyed your stay and that our staff in front desk was very helpful to you. We hope to have you stay with us again and appreciate you letting others know about us. Take Care and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAS CRUCES
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Good location for getting to Carlsbad Caverns. However, it seems that the better motels in Carlsbad are on the north side -- might be worth the extra miles for a better spot to spend the night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank EnchantedTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlsbad
5.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 22 in Carlsbad
216 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Carlsbad
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
#4 of 22 in Carlsbad
95 reviews
5.0 mi away
U.S. Travelers Inn & Suites
16.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#1 of 3 in Whites City
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Carlsbad

Property: Days Inn Carlsbad
Address: 3910 National Parks Hwy, Carlsbad, NM 88220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Carlsbad 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Days Inn Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing