We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Don't expect too much” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Continental Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Continental Inn
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Carlsbad
Boracay, Philippines
Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Don't expect too much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We spent the night at Continental Inn after hours and hours of driving from AZ to NM. Our bed was okay. The sheets doesn't smell bad. The A/C was noisy. Our bathroom has some kinda issue. The toilet bowl was not properly installed and the water was leaking all over the bathroom floor. There are rust in the bathroom faucet.Our room had microwave and fridge. I'm glad we only spent one night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cinammon_Hearts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    2
    8
    8
    17
See reviews for
12
11
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I'm happy they had a room at this hotel when I couldn't stay at the hotel I had reserved (Motel 6 right across the parking lot). Had to wait for the room to be clean since I didn't have reservations, but the rooms are really large. Furniture is old and stained but fairly clean. They keep the pool locked because of kids from the trailer park in the back sneaking in to it. This wasn't very convenient if you want to go for a quick swim. Also on a 13 day trip this is the only hotel we had problems with crime, someone tried to steal gas from our van and took our gas cap which caused the check engine light to come on. So I'm guessing there is an issue with vehicles being tampered with in the parking lot. Breakfast is a packaged pastry you pick up at the front desk. Would not stay here again...

Room Tip: Larger and better than the Motel 6...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

The air conditioner broke after a couple hours on a record breaking heat wave. The owners refused to move me to another room nor even offer a partial refund!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank starknaked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Carlsbad hotels

Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Traveling through with my husband an 3 kids. Came in town late and didn't think I needed to reserve a room. The Rodeway Inn in White City was my 1st choice and really close to caverns and pool looked nice , but no vacancy!! Bummed and late called many hotels in Carlsbad, but$$$ for just 1 night. The Continental Inn was adequate. Only had 2 rooms left and we were just happy to get a room. Not much of a breakfast ( went to mcdonalds) but room was clean. My advice is reserve room ahead !!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nursehem97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Shoot i dnt kno were to start from!! Do not stay here im being dead serious.. Having to stay here cuz theres not any rooms elsewhere!! Ppl here r very rude (the front desk)!!!!! Wakin the lady up is a crime.... Breakfast (or should i say a hunny bun n coffee), is ready at 7am, bt the office doesnt open til i wanna say 10am mayb even later do to the beauty sleep!!! The only good thing about this place is the price!! Bt not even that, it always has a room open,, this place is never full bt bcuz of the rudeness!! If they had a good customer service this place would not b that bad..... I mean if u have a business its cuz u want it, not bcuz ur forced to have it.. If u dnt want to b woken up then get someone to wrk for u up front... Others would love friendly faces then ugly places!! Women: if ur on ur menstral, dnt stay there, they will blame u for the smell!! Man this could go on n on bt i hope that, just with this/these comments,, honest experience........ Seriously theres other good, nice, friendly, hotels!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pichunguis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Stayed here one nite during Memorial Day weekend. Other places we tried were full. Seems to have gone downhill, as AAA no longer recommends it. Door to room was difficult to unlock and shower faucet had a steady drip. Most disappointing was the non-functional WiFi. A previous reviewer mentioned this, so I asked if it was working when I called. They said yes, but when I typed in the password given to me (and many variations upon it), I got a "Not able to connect" error. There is a sign in the office stating that a you are essentially on you own with wifi problems, "We are not computer people". Didn't even try the breakfast, as the common area was so small it could not have been much. Motel 6 next door looked newer and was probably a better deal.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nighthawk2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Stayed here since the name brand places were all booked.

We stayed in a 3 queen, non-smoking room for a really cheap price. The room itself was spacious and everything was in working order. Also included was a microwave and mini-fridge. Free Wifi was up and running just fine.

Make no mistake, this is a motel-quality establishment, so adjust your expectations accordingly. However, I found the spaciousness and Wifi made up for any shortcomings.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zfam71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlsbad
5.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 22 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 stars 137 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Carlsbad
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#1 of 3 in Whites City
3.5 of 5 stars 312 reviews
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Carlsbad South Hotel
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Inn

Property: Continental Inn
Address: 3820 National Parks Hwy, Carlsbad, NM 88220-5951
Location: United States > New Mexico > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Continental Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Continental Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing