We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Inn!”
Review of Stevens Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stevens Inn
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Carlsbad
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
210 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“Loved the Inn!”
Reviewed July 27, 2007

We just dropped into town looking for a place to stay. My husband said, "Okay, would you like to try this one?" I agreed.

I stepped into the motel lobby and was impressed with its decor. It was spacious and beautifully decorated. The check-in was pleasant, since the desk clerk was very courteous. The rate was good--$79 per night. It featured a hot breakfast with that price.

The room was delightful. We had a king-sized bed in a really huge room. Everything was neat and very clean. The decor was beautiful, in the southwestern style.

My husband told me to remember this place in case we went to Carlsbad again.

  • Liked — the room size and decor
  • Disliked — did not find anything we didn't like
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank karoleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    168
    144
    76
    64
See reviews for
216
158
24
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2007

People at desk were not very friendly. Gave us some breakfast coupons but neglected to tell us what time breakfast was served. We were in a hurry to try to get to the Caverns to see the bat flights, so didn't look at them until the morning...by then it was too late. Ask about a restaurant next door and the girls at the desk were clueless. Older hotel...ok for the price. Worst dinner at their restaurant though although Frommer's rates it the best in town. I can't even imagine what the other one's were like. Had to send my steak back 3 times, the chicken wasn't cooked and everything was served with canned corn. Prices were $16.00 and up.

  • Liked — Proximity to Carlsbad Caverns
  • Disliked — Front desk
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pigglywiggly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Carlsbad hotels

Lutz, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2007

We stayed one night. Our room had a kitchenette and was quite large. Unfortunately, the room had ants, flies and a few we couldn't identify. My understanding is that some rooms are renovated and therefore better than others. Although this Best Western is said to be the best hotel in Carlsbad I would ask to see the room first before paying. The restaurant is also said to be the best in Carlsbad as attested to by several plagues on the wall. It was acceptable but not great. The servers were just going through the motions and didn't seem to care. The best reason to stay is the wonderful buffet breakfast included with the price of the room. Just get there early because as the food disappears they are slow to refresh the buffet. The Best Western in Artesia is a far better hotel by way of comparison.

  • Liked — Breakfast buffett
  • Disliked — Ants
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank FromAnotherUniverse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2007

Our family stay in June was Ok. Average room for the price. The location was fine. 30 minute drive to Carlsbad Caverns. The free buffet breakfast was, you get what you pay for (burnt pancakes and runny scrambled eggs.)
Our main complaint was when we returned to our room in the afternoon after a day at the caverns, 2 men came into our room while we were inside. They had used a room key they just received and apologized, saying that they just checked in and were given our room number to stay in. We weren't leaving until the following morning. The men left, and my wife and me checked our electronic room keys and found them to be disabled. We went to the front desk and we were told someone had inadvertantly checked us out that morning. My main complaint was that our luggage was left in our room with laptop computers and other expensive gear locked inside. what could of have happened if we weren't in our room when these people came in.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Front desk service
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jeter2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2007

This place will suit your needs. Older but being remodeled. Swimming pool and breakfast were just fine. I think the rates were low to what we pay other places.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Full House
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ruidosoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, CO
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2007

Just an average motel with nothing particularly outstanding other than it's proximity to Carlsbad Caverns and Guadeloupe National Park. Everything worked, the staff was pleasant, the bed and towels were poor.

  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BackRoadBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2007

This Best Western is owned by the Mayor of Carlsbad. There are several types of rooms available, including rooms with small kitchenettes for longer stays. They offer a laundry facility near the pool, which is quite small but clean. The rooms are older, plastic shower/bath stalls that were clean and offered lots of hot water. The beds are hard, linens thin and skimpy, but CLEAN. There was a dirty coffee pot in my room upon arrival and no coffee to brew, but that was corrected the next day. Some of the better food available in Carlsbad is served at the Best Western Stevens restaurant, The Flume. I had an acceptable prime rib dinner while there. The salad bar offered a decent selection as well. The down side is the breakfast buffet. Terrible eggs, greasy bacon, just a disappointing start to the day.
Overall, the Best Western Stevens offers a decent room at about $85 night, that is clean and safe.

  • Liked — close to downtown and just about the best accomodation in the city
  • Disliked — the fact that this was the best accomodation in the city
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank mamieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Carlsbad
3.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 22 in Carlsbad
216 reviews
0.7 mi away
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
#4 of 22 in Carlsbad
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad
3.4 mi away
U.S. Travelers Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stevens Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stevens Inn

Property: Stevens Inn
Address: 1829 S Canal St, Carlsbad, NM 88220-6517
Location: United States > New Mexico > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stevens Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formally know as Best Western Stevens Inn we are now Independent and are doing business as Stevens Inn Inc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stevens Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Stevens Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad Best Western
Best Western Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing