We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older Hotel but very clean and Friendly Staff”
Review of Stevens Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Stevens Inn
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Carlsbad
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The breakfast was good. The room was clean but older. They gave us extra towels with no problem when we asked for them. The internet was slow and sometimes did not work. That was the only complaint. But it did not bother me as much as my children.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (574)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 574 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed during the long weekend for 4th of July. Good reasonable price for a clean room. Beds were comfortable. Breakfast was good. Good place for Carlsbad area. Convenient to the caverns. Fitness center was adequately equipped.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benbrooktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My family visits Carlsbad for our family reunion and when we are in town we stay at the Best Western Stevens. As always the rooms are in great condition and the staff is usually great and very accommodating. This particular trip was not different until the last few hours. I was curious as to why my pending charge did not match the room rate. To include taxes & fees the pending charge was about $150 more then what it should have been. I went to the from desk around 0130L to inquire about the charges in person. When I approached the front desk the clerk did not acknowledge that I was standing there and when she finally glanced up from her paperwork she annoyingly snapped "Can I help you" and since she was not looking at me when she asked I did not respond. I guess she noticed, she then paused a little longer to as if she could help me again. I asked if I could square my room charges and why there was a pending. charge on my account. She annoyingly advised that those were the charges, $722.00, are for 7 nights I advised here that the pending charge was $862.00 this is when she once again annoyingly advised me of there refundable deposit and that she cannot check me out at this time. Did not appreciate her attitude or her customer service...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SGunduz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We needed a place to stay in Carlsbad, NM to see the Caverns. Oil and gas boom has driven the price of hotels higher and higher. We were a little nervous about the Best Western. Hotel was clean and remodelled. Would stay here again. Great hotel for families !!!!'

Room Tip: The place is huge. We liked our room away from the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kennethsoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The front desk staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Room spacious and comfortable. Older, yes, but very clean and well maintained. Breakfast was very good, with attentive waitresses and plenty of food choices. Convenient to Carlsbad Caverns and several good restaurants nearby. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonPatTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We dragged into town at about 2:00 AM after being unable to find a room in Fort Stockton (rooms are booked out to the many oil workers in West Texas and Eastern New Mexico, so book your room in advance!). The furnishings in the room were worn and had water damage. The room we were given had a large wet spot on the carpet between the front room and bedroom. Clear signs of mold/mildew in the air and on the ceiling. When we were awoken at 7:00 AM by the sound of saws in the room above ours, we didn't complain at all because that was just the wake-up call we needed to get out of there. We paid about $160 for our room. Also, this hotel was a little rowdy/noisy with lots of folks (some clearly well liquored) wandering about when we got there. On the plus side, it is close to the caverns.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Azriel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The staff at this hotel went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. One young man even went to the kitchen/bar to get a bag of ice for us when our car refrigerator quit working and we needed to purchase an ice chest. They were very helpful in giving directions to shopping centers. The "plus" in this Best Western was not only the staff but a large spacious room and an outstanding complete hot breakfast. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: This facility has many options, i.e. near the pool, upstairs, downstairs, away from the highway. Ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlsbad
3.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 22 in Carlsbad
223 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad
18.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#1 of 3 in Whites City
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
U.S. Travelers Inn & Suites
2.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Carlsbad
0.6 mi away
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stevens Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stevens Inn

Address: 1829 S Canal St, Carlsbad, NM 88220-6517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range: $177 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stevens Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formally know as Best Western Stevens Inn we are now Independent and are doing business as Stevens Inn Inc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Stevens Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Stevens Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad Best Western
Best Western Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing