We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyed my stay”
Review of Stevens Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stevens Inn
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Carlsbad
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Breakfast was great.I really enjoyed the service at the front desk. Dillon was the one that helped me and provided me coffee, extra towels right away while running to the room. Rooms were very nice and well kept!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (573)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

395 - 401 of 573 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2012

booked this hotel though AAA travel having traveled up from san antonio texas while on our way to pheonex az nice little town room was clean and had all you want even had a swiming pool now moving on to stop on starr pass resort

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sean00000007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We had stayed at this Best Western several years ago, and it was fine. That was, however, before the great oil boom took place. Now, the place is packed with oil workers, and it seems as if this place has no room for "regular" visitors. As BW Gold members, we had requested a top story room and NO connecting door. When we arrived, the gal at reception just shrugged and said that they were full and we were "stuck" with the room she was giving us. My husband asked if there was a connecting door, and she replied "no." Well guess what? There was indeed a connecting door in our ground floor room. Additionally, the ONLY window was about a foot and a half wide and ran up the wall next to the door -- that was it for outside light only; it could not be opened. The old-style television had many channels that were blurry with static, and there was no correlation to the station listing provided in the room. The best part came, though, at 3:25 a.m. when we were awakened by the alarm radio and music coming -- guess where? -- through the connecting door. After quite a time of ringing reception, the phone was finally answered. They called next door and the music stopped. However, it was by now 3:30 a.m. We packed up our things and left. We will definitely not be back, as it is obvious that they are not at all interested in making "casual" guests feel welcome. There is a new Fairfield Inn down the street; try that!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappytrailsTucsonAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

After reading several negative reviews about hotels in Calsbad, we were pleasantly surprised by the Stevens Inn. At about $100 per night, it was expensive, but significantly less than several others in the area. Staff were very helpful with checkin and with directions to Carlsbad Caverns. The hot full breakfast was very good. Several waitresses were available to keep the food and coffee fresh. Our room was clean and comfortable. I observed several people enjoying the pool. Our experience was a little unusual in that, although we reserved a regular two person room, we were given the "honeymoon" room which featured a large red-tiled tub in the shape of a heart. Not what we ordered or expected, but a fun feature.

Room Tip: One room has largue heartshaped tub (not a whirlpool).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mfsinmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Considering the cost of hotels in the city of Carlsbad, NM, the Stevens Inn was reasonably priced but dated. The rooms were clean and considering railroad tracks across the road, quite quiet.The beds were comfortable and the room did come with a refrigerator and microwave.
The breakfast buffet was fair and I rated it that way because the eggs were terrible. The sausage, biscuits and gravy were ok.
The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Texyankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Very Clean, nice size rooms. I read a review here that is under renovation at this moment I just stayed there and there were no renovation or constructions in progress. I was surprise by their breakfast a full breakfast in a spacious dinning room. Nice treat for the cost.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harangus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Even when undergoing a construction project to update this hotel....we feel it is still a gem. The staff was friendly and courteous as usual. Rooms were clean and beds were comfortable. The buffet breakfast is the best in town. Knowing that the Stevens Inn is updating and improving their property will definitely keep us coming back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DANCETEACH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlsbad
3.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 22 in Carlsbad
222 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad
0.7 mi away
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
#4 of 22 in Carlsbad
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Carlsbad
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad
18.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#1 of 3 in Whites City
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stevens Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stevens Inn

Address: 1829 S Canal St, Carlsbad, NM 88220-6517
Location: United States > New Mexico > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range: $181 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stevens Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formally know as Best Western Stevens Inn we are now Independent and are doing business as Stevens Inn Inc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Stevens Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Stevens Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad Best Western
Best Western Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing