We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice stoping point” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stevens Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stevens Inn
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Carlsbad
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“nice stoping point”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

booked this hotel though AAA travel having traveled up from san antonio texas while on our way to pheonex az nice little town room was clean and had all you want even had a swiming pool now moving on to stop on starr pass resort

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sean00000007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    163
    141
    76
    63
See reviews for
215
151
23
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tucson AZ
Level Contributor
217 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We had stayed at this Best Western several years ago, and it was fine. That was, however, before the great oil boom took place. Now, the place is packed with oil workers, and it seems as if this place has no room for "regular" visitors. As BW Gold members, we had requested a top story room and NO connecting door. When we arrived, the gal at reception just shrugged and said that they were full and we were "stuck" with the room she was giving us. My husband asked if there was a connecting door, and she replied "no." Well guess what? There was indeed a connecting door in our ground floor room. Additionally, the ONLY window was about a foot and a half wide and ran up the wall next to the door -- that was it for outside light only; it could not be opened. The old-style television had many channels that were blurry with static, and there was no correlation to the station listing provided in the room. The best part came, though, at 3:25 a.m. when we were awakened by the alarm radio and music coming -- guess where? -- through the connecting door. After quite a time of ringing reception, the phone was finally answered. They called next door and the music stopped. However, it was by now 3:30 a.m. We packed up our things and left. We will definitely not be back, as it is obvious that they are not at all interested in making "casual" guests feel welcome. There is a new Fairfield Inn down the street; try that!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappytrailsTucsonAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Carlsbad hotels

Fenton, MO.
Level Contributor
126 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

After reading several negative reviews about hotels in Calsbad, we were pleasantly surprised by the Stevens Inn. At about $100 per night, it was expensive, but significantly less than several others in the area. Staff were very helpful with checkin and with directions to Carlsbad Caverns. The hot full breakfast was very good. Several waitresses were available to keep the food and coffee fresh. Our room was clean and comfortable. I observed several people enjoying the pool. Our experience was a little unusual in that, although we reserved a regular two person room, we were given the "honeymoon" room which featured a large red-tiled tub in the shape of a heart. Not what we ordered or expected, but a fun feature.

Room Tip: One room has largue heartshaped tub (not a whirlpool).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mfsinmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Considering the cost of hotels in the city of Carlsbad, NM, the Stevens Inn was reasonably priced but dated. The rooms were clean and considering railroad tracks across the road, quite quiet.The beds were comfortable and the room did come with a refrigerator and microwave.
The breakfast buffet was fair and I rated it that way because the eggs were terrible. The sausage, biscuits and gravy were ok.
The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Texyankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Very Clean, nice size rooms. I read a review here that is under renovation at this moment I just stayed there and there were no renovation or constructions in progress. I was surprise by their breakfast a full breakfast in a spacious dinning room. Nice treat for the cost.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harangus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW MEXICO
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Even when undergoing a construction project to update this hotel....we feel it is still a gem. The staff was friendly and courteous as usual. Rooms were clean and beds were comfortable. The buffet breakfast is the best in town. Knowing that the Stevens Inn is updating and improving their property will definitely keep us coming back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DANCETEACH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corrales, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Having family in Carlsbad NM my husband and I stay at the
Steven's Inn quite often. Next trip is September 6-9 for our grandson's 3rd birthday. The staff is right on target with anything you may need. The fully cooked buffet breakfast is great also. You can have waffles, already made for you, meats, eggs, potatoes, toast, cereals, hot and cold, pancakes, fresh fruit, yogurt, any drink imaginable. All ready when you are from 6am to 9am. Our room is always clean with special TV remotes that are changed each day. Bye bye remote germs. I could go on about their rates which, just increased but still, are one of the cheapest places to stay. Great rates, clean rooms and good food. Did I mention the pool? Try it I know you will love it. Sharon Petrisak, Corrales, NM

Room Tip: If quiet is what you want stay away from the Lounge area and the pool areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad
3.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 22 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.7 mi away
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
#5 of 22 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Carlsbad
1.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Carlsbad South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stevens Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stevens Inn

Property: Stevens Inn
Address: 1829 S Canal St, Carlsbad, NM 88220-6517
Location: United States > New Mexico > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stevens Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formally know as Best Western Stevens Inn we are now Independent and are doing business as Stevens Inn Inc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Stevens Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Stevens Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad Best Western
Best Western Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing