We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXPENSIVE for no apparent reason!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carlsbad
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Carlsbad
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We recently traveled across America with our Grand kids. We stayed in Holiday Inn Express Hotels several times during this journey. They were all excellent (as usual) except when it came to this one in Carlsbad, New Mexico.

First of all this was the most expensive with the SMALLEST rooms! We paid $288 for a one night stay in a very small room. The city is nice, but NOTHING really to do or see (other than the Caverns). So why the big cost amount to stay here? I didn't get it. I drove 11 hours through rain and road construction, so we were looking forward to the NORMAL sized rooms we had enjoyed prior to stopping here. What a huge disappointment! I have a closet back home bigger than this small room!

Second, the air conditioner went on and off hundreds of times during tbe night which obviously drove us all crazy! It was so loud every time and obviously no one got ANY SLEEP!

Third, while sitting in the enclosed pool area, I couldn't help but noticing the filthy residential home/apartments behind the alley - disgusting and ffilthy in plain view (put up a non see through fence). Considering how much we paid for one night, I didn't expect to see the slums of Carlsbad so close by - YUCK!

Positives: breakfast was good, and the clerk at front desk was nice and friendly. The noise level was okay during our stay.

We are "priority reward members" and we didn't feel too "rewarded" at this Holiday Inn Express!

ADVICE: If you are going to charge us an arm and a leg, then make it worth our while. This is NOT how to treat customers who expext the VERY BEST from your Hotel after a long day of driving.

***We spent the following night at another Holiday Inn Express in Arizona and they provided us a large room with a view (twice as large as the one in Carlsbad) for only $83 total price. We never discussed the details of your Carlsbad Hotel with them either. Much better, nicer and lots to do in the area compared to Carlsbad. Oh.... we also were able to sleep with a normal working air conditioner.

Thank you for reading my review. Hopefully someone will make some changes in Carlsbad.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mcclintock853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Mcclintock853,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I appreciate the compliments on the staff and the level of service provided. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. However, I would like to apologize for the overall dissatisfaction you had experienced because of the rates. We are hospitality professionals who work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we strive to provide service rates that are competitive in the area. It is certainly not our intent to inconvenience our valued customers, but to instead provide good value, comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. Your feedback is of great importance to us and allows us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.


Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 226 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

Apparently there's an oil boom in or around Carlsbad right now which means many people are there for work. Expect to pay over $200 for any of the nicer hotels. We chose Holiday Inn because it was the newest and we figured if we're going to pay outrageous prices we may as well stay in the nicest of the three!

Other reviewers put this hotel at an hour from Carlsbad Caverns but it only took us about 30 minutes. We thought we'd need jackets since we read the Caverns were cold even in the summer so it was nice to be next to a sports store. Turns out we didn't need them tho - the temps below were very pleasant!

We got some cookies when we arrived, swam for an hour or so (pool was cold, hot tub was boiling), ordered pizza from Dominoes for delivery and hunkered down for some Disney channel. Perfect night after many hours on the road!

Beds were comfy and I wasn't concerned at all about bed bugs or dirty carpets - something that worries me in older hotels. Breakfast was wonderful, as usual. We filled up our water bottles before checking out and set off on our adventure.

The only negatives were: (1) the price seems crazy but I get the reasons and (2) the a/c is the kind that shuts off every few minutes and slams the room into an abrupt and complete silence. I find that super annoying and it makes for difficult sleep. Thankfully we traveled with a fan this time so it offered the constant white noise that allowed us to sleep peacefully.

Great hotel - as are all Holiday Inn Express - but pricey for where you are.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chrystals73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel was about 5-6 years old, but very clean and well taken care of. The staff was very friendly & helpful!! Pizza Inn delivered VERY quickly to the hotel as we were so tired after a long day. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katrina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The price for a room here was high but that was expected in the high season. The room was nice, hot breakfast was good.

It was a slow to check in as they were very busy and had many people to help but only two people there to check in customers. And it is a bummer that their summer pool hours only go until 10 p.m.

This was an ok place to stay for visiting Carlsbad National Park. Keep in mind that it is still an hour away from the park. And the town of Carlsbad does not have much going on late at night. So this is really just a "place to rest" kind of hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schlegal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

On the farthest end of town away from Carlsbad Caverns we found the Holiday Inn -- we didn't have any issues the hotel, staff or room. The staff was friendly and the room was clean and well taken care of. There was pleanty of room and it had a nice little sitting area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CastellanosML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We were a little concerned with the general appearance of the area when we arrived. It turned out to be unfounded and worked out just fine. Room was everything we have come to expect from this chain and there were no complaints. Room was clean, AC worked fine, internet was OK, and staff was friendly. wold stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gramps-nanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I made a reservation over the phone and was not informed about the 24-hour cancellation policy. My business plans changed and I called to cancel at 3 pm on the day of my reservation. Only then was I informed the hotel required 24-hours notice to cancel a reservation and I would be charged for the room if it didn't sell. I told the manager I never received an email confirmation or even a verbal notice about this policy. She then emailed the confirmation stating the cancellation policy; however, it was dated the same day as my reservation! The manager was rude and my credit card was charged $189. Not only will I never stay at this hotel but probably never stay at a Holiday Inn Express again!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
4  Thank Robin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Robin D,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We aim to provide competitive rates and the best possible service and it is unfortunate that we were not able to deliver based on your expectations. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Again, thank you for the candid review and my apologies for the inconvenience.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 22 in Carlsbad
222 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad
2.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
#4 of 22 in Carlsbad
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Carlsbad
3.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad
0.3 mi away
U.S. Travelers Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carlsbad

Address: 2210I W Pierce St, Carlsbad, NM 88220-3516
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range: $199 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carlsbad 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Natural Attractions Abound Near this Carlsbad, New Mexico Hotel In the heart of Eddy County in central New Mexico, you will find a comfortable place to stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites of Carlsbad. Conveniently located near some of the world s finest caves, this is the perfect starting point for your New Mexico adventure.Our Carlsbad hotel is three miles from the Carlsbad City Airport (CNM); so getting to and from your flights will be no problem with our central location. Just minutes from the center of Carlsbad and within walking distance of many shops, our New Mexico hotel is near the Pecos River Convention Center and the Carlsbad Civic Center. Los Alamos National Labs and Sandia Labs are also situated close to our Carlsbad accommodations.Some of America s most famous caves, like the Carlsbad Caverns, are only a half-hour from our hotel in Carlsbad. Lodging here also keeps you near the Living Desert State Park and Zoo and the River Walk and Recreation Center, located on the beautiful Pecos River. Brantley Lake State Park, a 20 minute drive from our Carlsbad hotel, offers a number of walking and hiking trails. Our Carlsbad hotel offers choice amenities like a recently renovated Fitness Center and whirlpool. From the complimentary hot breakfast bar and free high-speed Internet access to the triple-sheeted bedding, we go beyond discount hotels in Carlsbad, NM to offer you an enjoyable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Carlsbad
Holiday Inn Express Carlsbad
Holiday Inn Carlsbad
Carlsbad Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing