We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only for the Desperate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Executive Suites & Hotel
Ranked #22 of 22 Hotels in Carlsbad
Reviewed May 25, 2012

The room was not clean. The bedding was dirty. The sink and tub did not have stoppers in the drains to hold water. The drains all had hair visible in them. The towels were thread bare and had holes in them. The wash cloths looked like they had been used to clean an old car engine and then washed without bleach. The TV worked, but the service was so poor that you spent most of you time watching it reload until in frustration you turned it off. The mirror was off the wall and on the floor. If you have any standards at all, you will not find this hotel acceptable.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Da F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 82 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2012

I called to make a personal reservation at 12 noon prior to our arrival, and when i arrived to check in at 7 pm, the motel
Clerk said only suites were available. Just 1 min prior to my arrival the clerk gave a last min basic room to a man , saying the room would be ready in 15 mins . When i asked why i called to reserve a room i was told a basic room
Non smoking would be available now only a 160 suite was available the clerk said it was because i was late checking in. It was 7pm in evening. I originally told clerk 9 pm. She flat out lied and said i did not tell her. Then she said she would get a room the a another clerk said he would give me a room and torn up my form. All this why he let his young sons laugh at the situation. In general they were unprofessional and RUDE. Now i know why they were the last on 12 hotels in town to have rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Annie0221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

This property may look OK from the outside, but forget it. Filthy and not maintained.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jshref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

I checked the sheets as always. And there was poop stains on the sheets from whoever stayed before me. The floor of the bathroom had pubic hairs covering the floor and tub. I will try to add pictures of.the sheets.to.this website.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RREng197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

If you are looking for a cheap place to rest along the way, DO NOT STAY HERE!!! Please heed the warning. If you stay here, you'll be on TripAdvisor immediately trying to save humanity from this hell hole!

1. The sign out front advertises luxury. It's obviously not luxurious, and one can clearly see that from the exterior of the hotel but still...

2. The owners/managers were very friendly, so we were pleased when we were checking in. However, I believe they must be trying to divert your attention from the crappiness of the accommodations and their awful customer service. Read on for details.

3. They also advertise free wi-fi on their signage. However, they provided a non-working password. The network they provided did not exist. When I walked to the lobby for a correct network and password, they told me to get on a neighboring unsecured/unlocked network - one that evidently did not belong to the hotel and had a weak signal. The husband wouldn't even get up to assist...his wife just yelled at him from around the corner, and he yelled back. They probably got their Internet cut off and are trying to exploit their neighbors' working Internet.

4. Again, they advertise free breakfast on the sign out front. There is also a sign in the lobby advertising the same. There was no such thing. Not even free coffee.

5. We rented two double rooms because we have five children. The key would not work for one of the rooms, so all seven of us waited in one room while we walked back and forth to the lobby FIVE TIMES asking for them to fix the problem. The first time, they gave us a new key. After that key didn't work, we walked over again and they said they would send someone over. When they never showed up, we went back again, and they were like, "your rooms are connected, you should be able to get in to the other room through the room that is open." I told them we couldn't get in through the interior door until they let us in the other room to unlock it. Duh. We FINALLY got them to get their lazy butts over to the room to open the door.

6. When our 11 year old accidentally shut the interior door, thereby locking us out of the other room, they sort of got into us for making them come back to open it. They never gave us a working key. They just put the burden on us to make sure we didn't close that interior door!!

7. We had two microwaves in our room. One sat directly on the floor. Our children had a coffee maker in their room; we did not have one. Not a big deal really; I just thought it was weird.

8. When we were checking in, we indicated we were all starving and craving Mexican food reallly bad. The owner/manager recommended a Mexican restaurant right next door that he assured was the very best. We were so excited to be heading to a much anticipated Mexican meal as we walked over. It was closed, so we spent an hour driving around town looking for a place to eat. The guy failed to tell us that ALL the Mexican restaurants in Carlsbad are closed on Sundays and Mondays. Again, not a big deal, but he was about 0 for 10 right around the time we got that news, so I decided to put it up here.

Don't count on a restaurant recommendation from this place, and DEAR GOD, don't expect a good hotel experience!!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmberBighorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We came here to escape our other hotel. We were hoping for a Nicer room, bug free, and clean. Here is what we got. 1 front door with a broken security latch, a pair of broken blinds, 1 adjoining room door with no deadbolt, but a chair was pushed in front of it to "lock" ( if I has not been a guy with a 9mm pistol in my bag, I would have left) a broken blower dryer and a nightmare. Rm 111 stayed in march. Btw the breakfast is probably left overs from a soup kitchen. Management is a joke.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrShawnD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We stayed here one night on our way back home to Texas.

The man at the front desk was very nice.

Yes, it looks grungy from the outside, yes the rooms aren't the cleanest, yes there are BBQ pits outside, yes it may not be the safest, yes construction and oil workers probably live here. This is all obvious.

But ... Our sheets were clean, our bed was comfy, and we were totally safe. Average hotel prices these days are well over $100 a night. So ... what do you think you are going to get from a place that only charges $50? You got it ... a place that is not as nice.

We probably won't stay here again but for the short 12 hours we were there ... it was just fine.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank csj444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
3.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Carlsbad
2.5 mi away
U.S. Travelers Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 22 in Carlsbad
223 reviews
2.8 mi away
Days Inn Carlsbad
Days Inn Carlsbad
#7 of 22 in Carlsbad
534 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#2 of 22 in Carlsbad
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Executive Suites & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Executive Suites & Hotel

Address: 601 S Canal St, Carlsbad, NM 88220-5551
Location: United States > New Mexico > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 22 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range: $59 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Executive Suites & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Suites And Hotel
Marriott Execustay Carlsbad
Executive Hotel Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing