We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food made to order takes a little time to reach the table.”
Review of Larez Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Larez Restaurant
Ranked #47 of 72 Restaurants in Carlsbad
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food made to order takes a little time to reach the table.”
Reviewed May 16, 2012 via mobile

Friendly and attentive staff. Food food. Had a burrito with red and green sauces.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Djellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    5
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Battle Ground, Washington
Level Contributor
117 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Slow service but good food”
Reviewed March 28, 2012

The parking is a little tricky. The server was nice enough but the food was 20 minutes in arriving yo the table (1 cook with several to-go orders).

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Justj700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perkins, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Don't be in a rush( in a good way)!!”
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Home cooked food takes time. Go with people you enjoy visiting with and relax. If you are in a rush you won't want to choose this spot. Food is very good and staff is friendly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank getoutsideman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“expensive and tastless....poor quality”
Reviewed March 6, 2012

1 enchlada,no sides,no salad,very small $8.50 1 Chulapa also very small,no sides,no salid more like a snack, not a meal, $6.50..no salsa on it verry bland..sauce on enchilada also bland no flavor..need some spice..not hot spice just spice salt pepper cumin. garlic..you know flavor..Go to Taco Bell..cheeper and better food..service was also bad.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank homecook57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kat88220, Owner at Larez Restaurant, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Its unfortunate that the information you provided in this review is incorrect. I was informed by our waitress your discontentment was initiated in a rude manner under your breath as you walked out of our business. I would have loved the opportunity to address your complaint in person as I was in the kitchen at the time of your visit. It would have given me the opportunity to compensate you for any part of the meal you were dissatisfied with. Our plate of enchiladas contain three corn tortillas with cheese and onion and a salad garnishment with a choice of red or green sauce for 7.50 a plate. Each additional side: rice, beans, meat, egg, ect., is only an additional .95. Our Chalupa contains a fried corn tortilla 10 inches in dia. beans meat cheese, topped with salad for 6.50. The first serving of chips and salsa is free. after that each addition bowl of chips is .75. If my addition is correct including tea or a soft drink your meal price would have been under $20.00! Our food is ALL HOMEMADE! prepared fresh everyday! We use only the best and fresh ingredients I am amazed you did not request to talk to the owners I would have been more then willing to listen to your complaint. We have been the same owners and cooks for 40 years and have a strong customer base! It's a shame consumers get use to eating processed foods all the time, for example Taco Bell, they often forget how real food should taste.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewood, New Mexico
1 review
“Staff not interested in serving us.”
Reviewed January 5, 2011

6 adults and 2 children walked in at 6:30 pm to a half empty restaurant. Two older people walked in behind us. Staff ignored us, asked who was first - older people said they were. Staff ignored us some more as we tried to gently give our number in party. Waitress finally said to our group that it would be at least an hour before they could feed us and that there was another restaurant down the road. Someone behind us said that place was closed, and admid other suggestions, we walked out. Hampton Inn where we were staying recommended this place as good local food. For whatever it is worth, we are a white family and also New Mexico residents. No idea what was going on here, but it was the holidays and there were lots of tourists in town for Christmas on the Pecos and the Caverns.

  • Visited December 2010
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redhotmama87015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kat88220, Manager at Larez Restaurant, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Larez restaurant welcomes the reviews of customers who have joined us for lunch and/or dinner. The couple who wrote their review did not even eat at our restaurant but left after being informed of a 40 minute wait for a group of six....... 40 minutes from the time they were seated, drinks served and food served. The group still refused to wait. They continued to remark about our staffs non-intrest and made a comment on race. My 73-year-old mother has been the only cook for the last 40 years with me by her side as a prep. She prepares every dish herself and and takes pride in it's presentation. the waitstaff are a mother/daughter team who have been with us for a combination of 25 years. My mother and I and our whole staff were born American citizens and very proud of our country. Our menu states we are not a fast food restaurant and it does take time to prepare quality food. We will not accept parties of ten or more without a reservation. It was unfortunate, this group was not able to join us for dinner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Larez Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing