We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Carlsbad
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 10, 2013

The hotel was beautifully decorated for Christmas when we were there and when we walked into our room it smelled of fresh linens. The breakfast was amazing, fresh fruit and pastries, hot foods, and a large variety of other breakfast items. The staff was very friendly, even though it was busy, I was checked in very quickly. My husband and kids went to the lobby in the evening and got hot chocolate and warm cookies. This was a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Share F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptoncarlsbadnm, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we appreciate your business. We thank you for all the kind words regarding our staff, hotel cleanliness, Christmas decorations and breakfast products. We look forward to being your host on future trips to the area. If you have any other questions, comments or concerns regarding your stay, please contact me at 575-725-5700.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (419)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 419 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2013

Stayed here during Thanksgiving week while visiting the Caverns.

For the record I'm a Hampton Inn fan. They're like Mcdonalds - you always get the same thing no matter where you are. They're never five star luxurious but they're always nice and predictable. This hotel is no different. I have absolutely no issue with this hotel but the price makes me not recommend it and say you should save 100-200 bucks a night and pick a hotel rated slightly lower. We paid $300 a night after all the fees/taxes we factored in. No Hampton Inn is worth that. It's a great deal for $100-$130 a night. If this hotel was sitting at the gates of Disney World that'd be one thing, but this is sitting next to a Walmart and a car wash/hang out place.

Yes if you pick a hotel lower ranked it probably won't be as good, but you're just not getting your value here for the money. Several hotels along that strip have upgraded recently and are about $100 cheaper. Go there.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
4  Thank olozbal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptoncarlsbadnm, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. As mentioned in your review, we are happy to hear you liked our hotel and we thank you for your business. We understand you had a concern with price. Our current pricing is based on the market conditions in the city. We hope to provide value compared to our competitors by providing great service, clean accommodations and better amenities. We look forward to being your host on future trips to the area. If you have any other questions, comments or concerns regarding your stay, please contact me at 575-725-5700.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I spent more that a full week there for a business trip, the maid did not clean the toilets, not moisterizer and soap on two days in the row. I was hoping for a very high rate get the same service as in NY. very disppointed

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
2  Thank Fabio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptoncarlsbadnm, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. While the lack of service you experienced is unusual and not the standard for our hotel, there is no excuse for this and I sincerely apologize. Our housekeeping department has been notified of the issues you faced during your stay. We are committed to you, our valued customer, and are taking immediate corrective steps to regain your confidence in us. You deserved better- a lot better- from us on your last visit. Nothing is more important than regaining your trust and all of us here hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again soon and provide you the positive Hampton Inn & Suites Hotel experience you have come to expect from us. Please contact me if you have any additional questions, concerns or comments regarding your stay at 575-725-5700.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

The hotel was very clean and well taken care off. The employees were very helpful and freindly. The place was very secure i was not worried about the security of my self or vehical. The breakfast had a wide variety of food and the people serving the breakfast were very friendly and nice. I would highly recomend this as a regular place to stay to any one.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Roy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptoncarlsbadnm, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we thank you for your business. We thank you for all the kind words regarding our staff, hotel cleanliness, breakfast food and service and hotel security. We look forward to being your host on future trips to the area. If you have any other questions, comments or concerns regarding your stay, please contact me at 575-725-5700.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Everything at Hampton Inn is perfection, but Jessica, at the front desk, made our visit memorable. She easily answered questions and guided us in our travels. We left Carlsbad feeling we had made a new friend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnaHarwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptoncarlsbadnm, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we appreciate your business. We thank you for all the kind words regarding our hotel and our staff. We look forward to being your host on future trips to the area. If you have any other questions, comments or concerns regarding your stay, please contact me at 575-725-5700.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The staff and front desk personal at the Carlsbad Hampton Inn are the best I have found in any Hampton inn I have stay at. I was very happy to see the upgrade to Direct-TV while I was there. I had a great Six months.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Bret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptoncarlsbadnm, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we appreciate your business. We thank you for all the kind words regarding our staff and hotel amenities. We look forward to being your host on future trips to the area. If you have any other questions, comments or concerns regarding your stay, please contact me at 575-725-5700.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Above average and above your typical price for a Hampton Inn, however, the hotel is fairly new, the staff is excellent and the rooms are slightly larger than older Hampton Inns. Not certain what is driving the price up on this particular hotel, but it seems to be the norm for Carlsbad. Could it be the Carlsbad Caverns? My experience at the hotel was very good. The front desk complied with my request for a room away from the elevators and vending machines, so I was happy. They also provided me with a room on the backside of the hotel, away from the car-wash and traffic noise (thanks!). The wireless access to the Internet work well, and the breakfast had a fair selection of items. The pool and hot-tub were very clean, as was the room. The only quirk was the cleaning solution used to clean the bathroom, it was quite strong; lingering long after the bathroom was cleaned. A slight nasal irritation occurred upon entry, but disappeared within a reasonable amount of time (my suggestion is to open the window for about 5 minutes, which greatly helped).

Room Tip: Request a room on the back-side of the hotel and avoid the car-wash and traffic noise.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrzj42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptoncarlsbadnm, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we thank you for your business. We thank you for all the kind words regarding our service, hotel cleanliness, room size, internet, pool and breakfast amenities. We understand price is a concern, but we hope to provide value compared to our competitors by providing great service, clean accommodations and better amenities. We look forward to being your host on future trips to the area. If you have any other questions, comments or concerns regarding your stay, please contact me at 575-725-5700.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
4.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 22 in Carlsbad
219 reviews
1.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
#4 of 22 in Carlsbad
97 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carlsbad
1.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Carlsbad South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Address: 120 Esperanza, Carlsbad, NM 88220-6536
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range: $199 - $390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Hotel Carlsbad
Hampton Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing