We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Carlsbad
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My family and I stayed here for 2 nights while visiting the caverns and were very pleased. Everything was nice and clean, the beds were comfortable, and despite being right around the corner from the elevator it was quiet. The breakfast was also really good, and all of the staff we encountered were very friendly. The only reason I deducted one point was due to the price. For the area, it's pretty up there, but I guess since there's limited nice choices available in Carlsbad, they can command a higher price. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TxMama414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptoncarlsbadnm, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we appreciate your business. We thank you for all the kind words regarding our hotel cleanliness, comfort of our beds, quietness of your guest room and staff service. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast as well. We understand prices are high in the Carlsbad, NM area, but we hope to provide value compared to our competitors by providing great service and excellent accommodations. We look forward to being your host on future trips to the area. If you have any other questions, comments or concerns regarding your stay, please contact me at 575-725-5700.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (445)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 445 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

Great stay, I would recommend this hotel to anyone. We had a great location, very centrally located. The staff was always helpful and nice. We were on a family vacation and we love the Hampton Hotel, so it was only natural that we would stay there. The kids really loved the pool and fitness center. My Husband loved the movie options and they even had a DVD player for us to use. Thanks

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Claudia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptoncarlsbadnm, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we thank you for your business. We thank you for all the kind words regarding the service by the hotel staff, hotel room and location and our hotel amenities. We look forward to being your host on future trips to the area. If you have any other questions, comments or concerns regarding your stay, please contact me at 575-725-5700.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed here one night on our way through New Mexico. This was our first experience with Hampton Inn and we were pleasantly surprised. The hotel seems fairly new, the front desk staff was very friendly and helpful, and the room was clean and larger than expected. Bed was very comfortable and the shower was fine. The towels could have been larger and/or softer, but I am never satisfied with hotel towels! The noise wasn't bad for a hotel filled with other guests, although we did hear some loud footsteps in the room above us.

The Dish TV with many channels and online guide was a welcome surprise. The breakfast was also very good—a reasonable variety of items that were the correct temperature, and plenty of seating. The price was high, but apparently all the hotels in the area are about the same. There is a brand new Chili's restaurant right next to the hotel, and other places to eat nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpinyIguana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptoncarlsbadnm, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear your first experience with our hotel and Hampton Inn was an enjoyable one and we thank you for your business. We appreciate all the kind words regarding our service, hotel cleanliness, room size and comfort, breakfast and hotel amenities. We understand price is a concern in Carlsbad, NM, but we hope to provide value compared to our competitors by providing clean accommodations, more quality amenities and excellent service. Once again we thank you for staying with us and we look forward to being your host on future trips to the area. If you have any other questions, comments or concerns regarding your stay, please contact me at 575-725-5700.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

This Hampton is just a bit nicer than most Hamptons. The decor seems to be a bit more modern and although most Hamptons are customer service friendly, this one seemed to go the extra mile. Our family appreciated the treat bags upon arrival and the manager phone call to make sure everything was as it should be.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brittany P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptoncarlsbadnm, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we appreciate your business. We thank you for all the kind words regarding the service provided by our team members and the decor of our hotel. We look forward to being your host on future trips to the area. If you have any other questions, comments or concerns regarding your stay, please contact me at 575-725-5700.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The prices are high in Carlsbad compared to other communities not too far away; but they are in line with each other. The rooms and hotel overall was very clean and well kept and the staff were friendly and competant. The breakfast room was very well layed out and well stocked; definately recommend and would stay at again when in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ykbuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptoncarlsbadnm, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we thank you for your business. We thank you for all the kind words regarding our hotel staff, breakfast and hotel cleanliness. We understand prices are high in the Carlsbad, NM area, but we hope to provide value compared to our competitors by providing great service and excellent accommodations. We look forward to being your host on future trips to the area. If you have any other questions, comments or concerns regarding your stay, please contact me at 575-725-5700.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I was impressed with the size, comfort, and overall cleanliness of the room. I did find a few long hairs in the bathtub and the noise from the elevator kept me awake. I also think that the price was a bit outrageous (over $300 including tax per night) but I know that area is in high demand due to the oil industry. Other than those things, we were happy for one night at this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Janet N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptoncarlsbadnm, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we thank you your business. We thank you for the kind words regarding our accommodations and overall cleanliness. We have notified our housekeeping department for the issue you had in your room and apologize for the noise issue you had during your stay. We understand you had a concern with price in our city. As you mentioned, our current rates are based on the market conditions in the city and as those market conditions change, our pricing will change accordingly. We hope to provide value compared to our competitors in the mid level limited service hotel category by providing great service and accommodations. If you have any other questions, comments or concerns regarding your stay, please contact me at 575-725-5700.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

no service response to broken coffee pot. Bad morning service from desk. Desk person has very poor person to person comunication skills, was rude to, did not care that a costumer hasd a complaint, shewas rude to the staff around her.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptoncarlsbadnm, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We understand you experienced an issue or problem with coffee pot and staff service. While the lack of service you experienced is unusual and not the standard for our hotel, there is no excuse for this and I sincerely apologize. Please contact me at 575-725-5700 so I can address the issues you had at our hotel with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
4.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 22 in Carlsbad
230 reviews
1.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carlsbad
1.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Carlsbad
3.8 mi away
U.S. Travelers Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Address: 120 Esperanza, Carlsbad, NM 88220-6536
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range: $237 - $492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Hotel Carlsbad
Hampton Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing