We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carlsbad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Carlsbad
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boca Raton
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Carlsbad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The hotel sits back from the road. The room was very clean. I had a long day. It was nice to be able to walk to the Chili's for dinner. Hotel is on the south side of downtown. It was very, very busy from 5:00-8:00 pm.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Athena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptoncarlsbadnm, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we thank you for your business. We thank you for the kind words regarding the hotel cleanliness and are glad to hear our hotel location was to your liking. If you have any other questions, comments or concerns regarding your stay, please contact me at 575-725-5700.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    87
    30
    11
    4
See reviews for
145
93
6
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Merkel, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious and the dining room was clean. Our room was clean and cool, no funny smells. Located next to Walmart and Chili's. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Debora P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptoncarlsbadnm, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we thank you for your business. We thank you for all the kind words regarding hotel staff service, breakfast taste and hotel cleanliness. If you have any other questions, comments or concerns regarding your stay, please contact me at 575-725-5700.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The hotel was the same as the ones I stayed at in El Paso and Nashville...very good for what I needed. Wi-Fi, refrigerator and microwave are handy and convenient. Breakfast was extensive from fruit, oatmeal, cereal, eggs, waffle, etc. Only issue I had is with the price of this hotel. The same room in Nashville is $80 cheaper than the one in Carlsbad, i.e., $219 vs. $139.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptoncarlsbadnm, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we thank you for your business. Our current pricing is based on market conditions in the city and as those factors change, our prices will change accordingly. We hope to provide value by providing exceptional service and great amenities compared to our competitors in the mid scale hotel market in Carlsbad, NM. If you have any other questions, comments or concerns regarding your stay, please contact me at 575-725-5700.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at the Hampton Inn for one night while touring the caverns. Our check in was quick and the girl at the front desk had a very capable and kind demeanor. Our room was quiet, clean and had comfortable beds. It also had a mini fridge so that we could cool our water bottles for the next day. The hotel seemed to be mostly filled with business travelers. We got to bed a bit late after watching the bats at the caverns and our room was very quiet. The next day we got up and had a delicious breakfast. I had a wonderful conversation with the lady who attended breakfast. She told me all about the oil industry in the area and I learned a lot. Breakfast was delicious with baked goods, hot items and make your own waffles. Afterwards our family went to the pool and we were the only ones there. The pool was clean and had clean towels available. We seek out hotels that are quiet and clean and this did not disappoint!

Room Tip: Our room was on the 3rd floor and was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 973Love2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptoncarlsbadnm, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased to hear you had a great experience and stay at our hotel and we thank you for your business. Thank you for all the kind words regarding our hotel cleanliness, room comfort, staff service, breakfast products and pool facilities. We look forward to being your host on future trips to the area. If you have any other questions, comments or concerns regarding your stay, please contact me at 575-725-5700.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This hotel was RIDICULOUSLY OVERPRICED!!!! We paid a STUPID amount for a plain double room during the week! Would hate to see its price for the weekend or a holiday!!!! The staff was friendly and courteous, but they don't control the prices!! I felt robbed, and was embarrassed because I had bragged to my mother about how wonderful Hampton inn was, and we felt like we had been SEVERLY RIPPED OFF!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
4 Thank Celeste L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptoncarlsbadnm, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We thank you for all the kind words regarding our hotel staff and we appreciate your business. We understand you had a concern with price. Our current pricing is based on market conditions in Carlsbad, NM. Due to the increased corporate travel, Carlsbad stays sold out Monday to Thursday year round and as a result prices are higher during the week than on weekends. If you have any other questions, comments or concerns regarding your stay, please contact me at 575-725-5700.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I can't say I've ever been disappointed in a Hampton Inn. Service was great. No problems with check in. Breakfast had great selections but it would have been nice to have fresh fruit and Soy milk options. Compared to other hotels in the area I felt it was a bit overpriced, but overall, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Sharron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptoncarlsbadnm, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we thank you for your business. We thank you for all the kind words regarding the service you received from our hotel staff. Hampton hotels is always looking at different options to make the breakfast provided better. If you have any other questions, comments or concerns regarding your stay, please contact me at 575-725-5700.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The room we had (two queens on 3rd floor) was exceptionally clean and the staff were very friendly. The Hampton Inn and Suites is a little more pricey than the rest of the competition, and located along the main thoroughfare in town - behind a Chilis restaurant (skip it - horrible food there), gas station and car wash as well as next to WalMart. The premises Note- don't enter at WalMart's parking lot, it isn't connected to the hotel's parking lot. We were there over 4th of July so there was a little more noise (fireworks outside) than the previous night, there are floor creaks from the 4th floor, and the air conditioner is a little noisy as well.

Room Tip: Away from the main highway might be quieter. Higher floors are less noisy - note the floors are wood...
See more room tips
Green Features: They used green-ware, but did not offer recycling.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PolarElephant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptoncarlsbadnm, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we thank you for your business. We thank you for all the kind words regarding our hotel staff and cleanliness. We have alerted our engineering department to check all air conditioners for irregular noises. If you have any other questions, comments or concerns regarding your stay, please contact me at 575-725-5700.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlsbad
4.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 22 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 stars 128 reviews
1.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
#4 of 22 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 stars 49 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Carlsbad
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carlsbad
1.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Carlsbad South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Address: 120 Esperanza, Carlsbad, NM 88220-6536
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites
Hampton Hotel Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing