We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SOMEWHAT SURPRISED”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Carlsbad
GreenLeadersBronze level
Mineola, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“SOMEWHAT SURPRISED”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

This is your typical Hampton Inn, with just a couple exceptions: the staff and the price. The staff, from Elsa the hostess, to the front desk clerks, and to the Front Desk Manager, couldn't have been more friendly or any more helpful. They were just terrific and made our stay very enjoyable. We can highly commend everyone we met as being outstanding. Now the downside! We had to find a hotel due to a family funeral in Carlsbad which happened during spring break 2013. After checking others, we booked the Hampton at a "reduced" price of $215 per night, plus taxes! Apparently it isn't only spring break that has the prices so high - it's the oil field production or something. All the hotels in Carlsbad were outrageous in prices, but we had no choice. Our room was considered a business king which had only a straight back chair and a desk chair and 5 little drawers, but awesome bedding! We did mention it to Elsa, the breakfast room hostess, who passed on our complaint to the front desk manager. From that point on, she was so accommodating and apologetic, even offering to move us to another room, but we declined. I can only reiterate the staff was friendly, accommodating, and very concerned about making us happy. So, if you can afford the price and are going to Carlsbad, this is a great place, great people, and wonderful beds!

Room Tip: Make sure you know what the difference is between business king and the other choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lonestargal360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptoncarlsbadnm, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We thank you for all the kind words regarding our staff. We understand you had a concern with price and room amenities. I am so sorry that your room type did not fit your needs, but when you come back we have several other larger options that I am sure you will love! We hope to provide the best value in Carlsbad, with our exemplary service, great breakfast, accommodations and other amenities. If you have any other questions, comments or concerns, please feel free to contact me at 575-725-5700. We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to being your host on future trips to Carlsbad, NM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    101
    34
    14
    5
See reviews for
171
113
9
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alaska
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

The Inn itself is very nice. The proximity to the National Park can't be beat. But you have to remember that you're in Carlsbad, New Mexico. What comes with being in Carlsbad is a hotel at the end of a road stub that is shared with a chain restaurant, a self-service car wash and a high-traffic gas station. While it's not located on the same driveway, there is a WalMart next door. So, arrive after dark, proceed immediately into the hotel and you should have a nice stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoNorthToAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptoncarlsbadnm, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate your business. If you have any other questions, comments or concerns regarding your stay, please contact me at 575-725-5700.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Put simply: Carlsbad is a "rural New Mexico" town and those that are not from towns like this, being used to the finer points of life, find this a useful retreat to hide and recover from, "The outside." Everything is in order here, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HKertland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptoncarlsbadnm, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate your business. We look forward to being your host on future trips to Carlsbad, NM. If you have any other questions, comments or concerns regarding your stay, please contact me at 575-725-5700.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
195 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

This hotel was very clean. Great staff. Room perfect. If going to the Carlsbad Caverns this is about 20 minutes away and you can buy your Cavern entrance ticket at the hotel desk for the same price. Staff very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: All rooms seem okay. Very good AC and heat so not a problem to be on south or west.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 466Richard789466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptoncarlsbadnm, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we appreciate your business. Thank you for all the kind words regarding our hotel and staff. We look forward to being your host on future trips to Carlsbad, NM. If you have any other questions, comments or concerns regarding your stay, please contact me at 575-725-5700.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

My family and I stayed here one night passing through from our spring break vacation. Rooms were very clean, beds were comfortable, every staff member was very friendly and more than willing to help with whatever you needed. We arrived early and they were very accomadating with our early check-in. Free breakfast was served in the morning. It was very good with a large variety to choose from. If my family and I ever return to Carlsbad, we will definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptoncarlsbadnm, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We thank you for all the kind words regarding our hotel and staff and are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your business and look forward to being your host on future trips to our area. If you have any other questions, comments or concerns regarding your stay, please contact me at 575-725-5700.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands
Level Contributor
175 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is one of the nicest hotels in Carlsbad but at $250/night I'm used to being at a resort. Unfortunately, you pay for location, location, location. In order to spend time at Carlsbad Caverns and Guadulupe National Park there are not many options. The hotel is pretty new. Beds were nice with down comforters and the bathrooms were a good size. But we spent 4 nights here and with 2 adults and 2 teenagers it was pretty compact! We enjoyed the big breakfast room downstairs and used the area in the evenings to play games. They also served cookies and coffee after dinner. The breakfast staff was great but I would say the breakfast was average. Eggs were a strange consistency. The oatmeal bar with toppings was the best thing they had.
The pool/hot tub were on the small side but functional. The fitness area was very nice. The hotel was sold out the entire time we were there but didn't feel that way. Besides price our only big complaint was the noise. Insulation between floors is very poor and you could hear people walking above or even walking down the hall. We would not stay here again because of being woken up every night. We did love the location being on the south side of town closer to our day activities.

Room Tip: If you stay here, ask for the 4th floor or try to use points to avoid paying the high costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Texans112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptoncarlsbadnm, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We thank you for all the kind words regarding our hotel and staff. We do all we can to create a great experience for each of our guests. Our highest priority is the comfort and safety of our guests and I apologize for the level of noise you experienced. I appreciate your review as it provides valuable feedback in order to continually improve our accommodations. The next time you are in the area, please consider staying with us again. If you have any other questions, comments or concerns regarding your stay, please contact me at 575-725-5700.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
593 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 415 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Don't get me wrong, it is a nice hotel, but wow idea out expensive. And gol for a caverns package. You get two free adult tickets which are 6.00 each. Although the cost onky added $5.00 to my room rate.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kuwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptoncarlsbadnm, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate your business. We understand price is a concern, our current pricing in Carlsbad, NM is based on the current market conditions in the city and as those conditions change, our pricing will change accordingly. If you have any other questions, comments or concerns regarding your stay, please contact me at 575-725-5700.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
4.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 22 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
1.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
#4 of 22 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Carlsbad
1.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Carlsbad South Hotel
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Address: 120 Esperanza, Carlsbad, NM 88220-6536
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites
Hampton Hotel Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing