We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“After a long, wonderful day at Carlsbad Caverns this was just perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Carlsbad
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tarzana, Ca.
Level Contributor
84 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“After a long, wonderful day at Carlsbad Caverns this was just perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is not the least expensive hotel in the area but it is deserving of the #1 status on Trip Advisor which is why we selected to stay here. The room was awesome, clean, comfortable, new and very nice. It had tons of electrical outlets so could plug in EVERYTHING! The front desk staff were as nice as they could be and upon arrival gave us water and snacks! After a long, wonderful day at Carlsbad Caverns this was just perfect! Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mstarzana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptoncnmnm, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and our accommodations were to your liking. We appreciate your business and look forward to being your host on future trips to Carlsbad, NM. If you have any other questions, comments or concerns regarding your stay, please contact me at 575-725-5700.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    101
    34
    14
    5
See reviews for
171
113
9
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

I picked this hotel from Tripadvisor ratings as one of the top hotels to stay in at Carlsbad. It is centrally located and very new looking (they said it was built in the last year or so). There is a Walmart next door and a mini strip mall too. We stayed on the 4th floor and overall it was a great stay. The staff went OVER THE TOP to make sure we were happy - they left a voicemail asking if we had any issues, the front desk has prominent signs of the 100% guarantee - don't like it - don't pay. I'm sure some people will take unfair advantage of that, but it was there.

The best part was the free breakfast - great selection and the dining area was 1st class - the high quality marble trim, seating, LCD TVs. You may as well have been in a nice restaurant and not just the modest breakfast rooms like seen at so many other restaurants. The breakfast staff person was very diligent about keeping things clean and well stocked.

The front desk folks were very friendly and helpful with the Carlsbad Cavern visit info.

Overall, a very nice experience for our 1st time in Carlsbad, New Mexico. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Hotel is set back from the main road, so most rooms should be OK sound-wise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank machband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptoncnmnm, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we appreciate your business. We thank you for all the kind words regarding our hotel and staff. We are happy to hear we were able to make your first stay in Carlsbad, NM a memorable one. If you have any other questions, comments or concerns regarding your stay, please contact me at 575-725-5700.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
150 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

The hotel seems to be pretty new which makes him above average Hampton Inn. I have already experienced larger rooms in Hampton Inn but the size of the room was decent, the room and hotel public areas were very clean and everything in the room was in a good working condition. Internet access is worth mentioning because compared with many other Hampton Inns it provides very good bandwidth both downlink and uplink) and there is both wired and wireless access in the room.
The breakfast is typical for Hampton Inns ... I would not say exceptional but still very good.
All in all I can recommend it as a place to stay when visiting Carlsbad Caverns or Gaudalupe Mountains national parks.
There may be cheaper hotels in Carlsbad but I think Hampton Inn is a good value when I take into consideration the rates they charge and the quality of accomodation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ED5611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptoncnmnm, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we appreciate your business. We thank you for all the kind words regarding the hotel. Our corporate team is working on updating and improving the breakfast and once these changes and new products come available to us, we will make the change. If you have any other questions, comments or concerns regarding your stay, please contact me at 575-725-5700.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in mid June when we were visiting the Caverns. This is probably the nicest hotel in town. I do think it was somewhat expensive for the area though. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Just about everyone knew your name when you came into the lobby, including the girls who worked in the breakfast room. Breakfast was nice with a large variety of food and drink. A nice extra touch was the little boxes of breath mints for the guests. There is also a coin operated laundry room for the guests (loved that). If you don't mind spending the extra money, I suggest you stay at this hotel. I do wish there was more for the traveler to do in town though.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachgirl36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptoncnmnm, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate your business. Thank you for all the kind words regarding our staff and hotel. If you have any other questions, comments or concerns regarding your stay, please contact me at 575-725-5700.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

We recently finished a 15 night 13 hotel trip. Seven nights were spent at Hampton Inns one of which was at Carlsbad.

The hotel is pretty new and up to date. Our room was fairly large and had a fridge. Most of the Hamptons had a fridge but not all. (A couple of Hiltons we stayed at did not have fridges either.) The staff was great.

I only had a couple of issues. The biggest was the price. It is an above average Hampton in a smaller city. I have seen higher priced ones at beaches and in major cities. It just seem the market is high so value is dragging my rating down by a point.

The second issue I had is that our room only had sheers that closed all of the way. We were in a Western facing room in the middle of July. I could read a book in my bed with the light coming through the window. It was not conducive to sleeping in on one of the few days we had that scheduled.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hootch62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptoncnmnm, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your business and all the kind words regarding our staff and hotel. We understand price was one of your concerns while you were in Carlsbad, NM. Our pricing strategy is based on current market conditions in the area and as market conditions change our pricing will change accordingly. All rooms come equipped with black out panels which are located behind the sheers. We apologize for any inconvenience this caused during your stay. If you have any other questions, comments or concerns regarding your stay, please contact me at 575-725-5700.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

I would recommend this hotel. Room was clean and staff was friendly. Loved that it had an empty refridgerator and microwave. They only thing I didn't like was the price of the room. Loved the turkey sausage and western omelets for breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smileysara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we appreciate your business. We understand your concern for price in Carlsbad, NM, as it is higher than most other areas. Our current pricing is based on current market conditions in Carlsbad, NM and as market conditions change our pricing will change accordingly. If you have any other questions, comments or concerns regarding your stay, please contact me at 575-725-5700.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Enjoyed everything about this hotel. Rooms were large with a sitting area and wet bar area. The hotel was extremely clean and had nice linens. Breakfast was good and everyone that worked there was helpful and extremely nice.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjk55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we appreciate your business. Thank you for all the kind words regarding our hotel and staff. If you have any other questions, comments or concerns regarding your stay, please contact me at 575-725-5700.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
4.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 22 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
1.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
#4 of 22 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Carlsbad
1.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Carlsbad South Hotel
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Address: 120 Esperanza, Carlsbad, NM 88220-6536
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites
Hampton Hotel Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing