We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely the best in Carlsbad.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Carlsbad
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bonsall, California
Level Contributor
345 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 622 helpful votes
“Definitely the best in Carlsbad.”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

This Hampton Inn and the Fairfield Inn nearby are the newest hotels in the area. Either is a good choice, but the Hampton wins for having a much better breakfast, as do all of this brand's hotels. I also think you get a more upscale experience at the Hampton.

The decor is modern and attractive with lots of nice decorative touches. The front desk staff is extremely welcoming and go out of their way to greet everyone and say something pleasant. Check-in was fast and easy. I stayed using points, so I can't really comment on the value, but do expect all hotels in the city to be a bit overpriced for what they are. They are constantly booked up with oil field workers and geologists, plus tourists.

I felt sorry for the cleaning crew because those geologists track in mud all over the floors constantly. As quickly as it was cleaned (which was often), they tracked more dirt in. The rooms are very clean though.

Since the property is fairly new, it is in good shape overall. The air conditioning works well and is as quiet as one of those through the wall units can be. The only issue that we had was that the bathroom exhaust system was either broken or turned off the entire time, so the bathroom really steamed up during a shower. Otherwise, everything worked well.

Be aware that they must have omitted any sort of sound insulation when the hotel was built. We heard every footstep from above us even though they weren't doing anything unusual. It actually vibrated the walls. The same with conversations in the hallway and the next room. I could plainly hear every word even though they were speaking quietly. The maids should be trained not to talk loudly while they are in the halls.

The breakfast is the usual expanded Hampton fare. They have the typical Continental items, full sized muffins, breads, fruit, cereal, etc., plus a different type of egg dish, meat and starch every morning. One morning the eggs were scrambled with steak and cheese. The next time there were premade cheese omelets. Everything was good and well stocked. The woman who takes care of the breakfast room is outstanding. She always asked how our stay was going and was generally a great ambassador for the hotel.

There is a Chili's restaurant in front of the hotel that is VERY popular. It was packed every night. There is an IHOP on the other side of the Walmart that adjoins the hotel. There is also a car wash and a large gas station in front of the hotel, so every service you need is right there. The hotel is set back from the highway, so there is no traffic noise at all.

If I visit Carlsbad again I will definitely choose the Hampton Inn.

Room Tip: Ask for the 4th floor to avoid the sound of people walking above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davegidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptoncnmnm, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and your time in Carlsbad, NM. Thank you for all the kind words regarding our staff and hotel cleanliness. We have alerted our engineering department to ensure our continuous recirculating bathroom exhaust fans are working correctly. The sound insulation used at the hotel was according to fire code, we have let the corporate team know so they can evaluate this further. We thank you for your business and look forward to being your host on future trips to Carlsbad, NM. Please contact me, if you have any other questions, comments or concerns regarding your stay at 575-725-5700.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    103
    36
    17
    5
See reviews for
176
117
9
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midland, TX
Level Contributor
160 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

My husband and I recently had business to take care of in Carlsbad. We felt lucky to get a reservation at Hampton Inn. Until recent years, there wasn't much choice involved in hotel selection in Carlsbad. We are glad to have a Hampton Inn there.

The basics of the room were fine. The rate was about $168.00 per night which seems kind of high for an ordinary hotel room. The air conditioning was a little loud and the mini-frig was so loud that we unplugged it. We didn't need it anyway so that wasn't a big deal for us. The location is also good. It's right behind a Chili's Restaurant.

There was a nice breakfast buffet included. The bacon was crisp and the eggs were good. They had onions, peppers, and cheese in them. There was lots of good coffee, yogart, fruit etc. Really nice breadfast. The breakfast area was kept clean and fresh, too.

The bed was pretty good with four pillows provided plus a tiny one. The sheets were wrinkled but clean. The comforter was clean, too.

The shower was a walk-in, and there was quite a bit of dark hair stuck to the wall. Without my glasses, I thought it was swirls in the tile! Oops. The rest of the bathroom seemed fine and plenty of towels were provided.

There was a good TV and a little desk with a chair and a small couch.

All in all, it was a good place to stay for one night on a business trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lindaabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptoncnmnm, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear our hotel was able to meet your needs while travelling on business. Thank you for providing us feedback on our fridge unit and bathroom. We have notified the appropriate departments to improve quality. We appreciate your business and look forward to being your host on future trips to Carlsbad, NM. Please contact me, if you have any other questions, comments or concerns regarding your stay at 575-725-5700.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
83 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

This Hampton Inn is brand new and it shows! Nicely decorated- no creepy stains, etc. We found the employees to be helpful and pleasant except for once night manager. While we were sitting in the lobby playing games and listening to music, instead of asking us to turn off the music and/or without realizing it, he came in and cranked up the tv volume and then walked back out. It was weird. Also weird was that our second floor room looked out at a wall about two feet out.

Also the hotel is located with a walmart right next door and a Chilis and gas station right out front. Park the car once and you dont have to move it until you leave in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMHMelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptoncnmnm, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We apologize for the service provided by our night manager. The room in question with the strange view is directly above our front desk and the wall you see is from the canopy in the center. We do apologize for any inconvenience this caused during your stay. Please contact me if you have any other questions, comments or concerns at 575-725-5700.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Looking around the town at the other hotels, from the outside, this place looks like heaven! The inside was very nice too. The front desk ladies were always very accommodating, friendly, and helpful. Breakfast was decent. The room was mostly clean. The bath tub was kind of gross with soap scum. They obviously don't scrub it very well as you can still see measurement numbers written on the bathtubs wall shower. The hot tub was very nice, and the pool would have been, but wow!! Get that water in your eyes and it burns like nothing else! We were there 3 days, 2 nights. We went to the pool the first night, and didn't go back because of the burning eyes. My husband and I, plus 3 kiddos all looked like stoners until Monday! The bathroom had dusty towel racks. But the biggest complaint was this: Thank god I didn't have a small child crawling around on that floor! We found 2 Mikes Hard Lemonade bottle tops on the floor! If a baby stuck that in their mouths, oh my gosh! And the bed killed my husband and I. So hard! I guess we will just have to try another hotel in another town next time. As far as I'm concerned, it will be worth the drive. We wont be back to this hotel. Also, the walls must be thin! Doors slamming in the hall till 2am. feet running, doors slamming, ect made my kids wake up a little before 6am both mornings!!! Needless to say, We got no sleep!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gracefrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptoncnmnm, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this review, May 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We apologize to hear that your time in Carlsbad, NM was an unpleasant one. We have notified our departments and management staff to ensure guest issues like these are taken care of immediately when notified and a closer attention to detail is made in guest rooms. These are not the standards we expect for our hotel and we sincerely apologize for your past stay. Please contact me if you have any other questions, comments or concerns regarding your stay at 575.725.5700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
116 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Good Hampton Inn and Suites. Clean, modern,... a little pricey for "Carlsbad".

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank savvytravelers40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptoncnmnm, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased to hear your stay with our hotel was an enjoyable one and we thank you for your business. Please contact me if you have any other questions, comments or concerns regarding your stay at 575.725.5700.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
133 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

The front desk greeted us with a warm and friendly welcome. Our check in was fast, and our assistant was very thorough. She offered us a map of Carlsbad, which was helpful in planning our visit, and reviewed all amenities. WalMart next door was great for purchasing unexpected cold weather items. Room was unbelievable! Huge, clean, and quiet. Beautiful desk and sitting area, also with a wet bar (sink, fridge, microwave). Generous breakfast spread with very friendly attendant. Clean coin laundry area was handy. I will recommend to all my National Park afficianados!

Room Tip: We had a clean quiet room on 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cleichhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptoncnmnm, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate all the kind words regarding our staff and amenities. We are pleased to hear your stay with us, was an enjoyable one. We appreciate your business and look forward to being your host on future trips to our area. Please contact me if you have any other questions, comments or concerns regarding your stay at 575.725.5700.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danvers,IL
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at the Carlsbad Hampton while visiting Guadalupe Mountains and Carlsbad Caverns. The front desk staff was very friendly at check in. The breakfast had many hot and cold selections and was kept well stocked. My kids really enjoyed the breakfast. They also enjoyed being able to have hot chocolate each night from the lobby. The first two nights we were there they also had fresh chocolate chip cookies in the lobby. The rooms were comfortable and had a big bathroom. My only complaint was the quality of the exercise equipment. They had 3 treadmills and an exercise bike. The treadmills were not strong enough to run on. They did have free weights and a weight bench.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IULynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptoncnmnm, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate all the kind words regarding our hotel and are pleased to hear your stay with us was an enjoyable one. We appreciate your business and look forward to being your host on future trips to our area. We appreciate your feedback on the exercise equipment, our product support team has been notified regarding the equipment. Please contact me if you have any other questions, comments or concerns regarding your stay at 575.725.5700.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
4.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 22 in Carlsbad
198 reviews
1.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
#4 of 22 in Carlsbad
88 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Carlsbad
1.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Carlsbad South Hotel
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Address: 120 Esperanza, Carlsbad, NM 88220-6536
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Hotel Carlsbad
Hampton Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing