We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit noisy”
Review of The Trinity Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Trinity Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Carlsbad B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A little bit noisy”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

The trinity was a great place to stay. My only regret is staying in a room looking over the main street which is Hwy. 285. Big trucks and hot rod pickup trucks most of the night. As nice as this hotel is, they should get rid of the vintage windows and lessen the street noise.
The rooms, amenities, staff, and dining were otherwise flawless. A real gem. Don't forget to get dinner reservations if you want to eat there!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    77
    14
    3
    4
See reviews for
68
208
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We really enjoyed our overnight stay in the Safe Room. I had used the "Contact" form on their main website twice in the week leading up to our visit, with no response. I called and they were more than helpful on the phone. Since the online reservation page asked if I had any special requests or allergies, I told them I was vegan, and while not necessary, I would take their chef up on any vegan specialties he/she could create (that we would definitely be having dinner in the restaurant Saturday night.) The response was polite, but cursory, in referencing me to their several wonderful vegetarian options on the menu. Check-in was quick and easy. The free wine tasting was nice, it is not a separate area - it is just in the main bar in the main dining room of the restaurant. The bartender (a recent transplant from LA) was very knowledgeable on the wines, and was timely without being annoying. (There was no snack/appetizer as the website said there would be.) We had made a reservation (recommended) for dinner and went to our table with our wine. The service was good and the food was good. The food was not as good as our first visit to the restaurant 2 years ago, though. The salads were very fresh and assembled from a good selection of veggies. My husband ordered the surf-n-turf, and he reported the steak as excellent and the lobster as out-of-season and overcooked (we laughed since we didn't know when lobster season was.) I had the angel hair pasta with seared broccoli, tomatoes, and garlic. It was yummy...but a cop-out (as a vegan I don't eat out much, and when I do, I hope for something grand - it was just good.) The server brought a basket of bread and butter. The bread was cold and slightly hard - it tasted fine and we ate it, but for true bread connoisseurs it would probably be lacking. We did see a plate of desserts go by our table, and they really looked amazing. We had other plans (movies) and so we did not go for dessert. The room was great and made our stay totally worth the drive and expense. The only negative comment I have is that the shower leaked onto the bathroom floor quite a bit, despite all of our efforts to stop the leaking. The linens are luxurious - even the toilet paper is better than your average TP. The bed was great for me, but my husband said "a little too soft." I ran the outdoor stairs as a workout and they are solid and quiet enough to handle a decent workout. The breakfast on Sunday was a collection of about 3 or 4 pastries and a quiche. The server was pleasant and made us coffee to order and a cup of chocolate milk. Overall, this night rates as one of our better adventures, and it is a direct result of the Trinity Hotel. We wish the Trinity staff and owners success in their business and appreciate their community-mindset. We highly recommend this hotel and restaurant as a welcome oasis in the New Mexico desert.

Room Tip: We stayed in Rm 206 - the Safe Room. It is more expensive, but if you can afford to splurge then it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PlantPowered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janie B, Owner at The Trinity Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and we are sorry you did not get a more detailed response concerning our menu. We do try to appease each end every customer that enters our establishment. We are glad you liked our friendly and outgoing staff we will make sure to let them know. We have taken your comments to heart and our making the appropriate change. Thank you and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the future many blessings,
janie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

A last minute stopover before going to Carlsbad Caverns the next morning. The Trinity hotel is nice enough with friendly hosts and good rooms in a historic building. Carlsbad is rather bland though, it's quite large but you really have to drive to get to most places. This hotel is in the centre, but there is not much there that's open on an evening and probably even quieter because it was a Sunday. A couple of blocks away there is a decent restaurant (Yellow Brix) with an outdoor area where you can grab a drink. You get coffee and pastry for breakfast or you can opt for a more substantial breakfast for extra. The substantial option was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonFromUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janie B, Owner at The Trinity Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us and glad you enjoyed the breakfast. Thank you and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The bathroom in our room was flipping enormous. I could have played street hockey inside of it. Also the shower was enormous, and luxurious. Take advantage of the free wine tasting. My only complaint is that they do not allow dogs. Danny's, the restaurant down the street, is pretty good, though they do not serve any alcohol. The Stock Exchange, across the street, was a nice alternative on our second night.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rezpups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janie B, Owner at The Trinity Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We worked really hard on it and are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We invite you to come and visit us again in the future and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night. The room was beautiful and simple. The bed was amazing! Bathroom gorgeous. We dined at the Trinity and the food was so delicious! I've dined at The Trinity several times and the food never disappoints. Sunday morning there were homemade pastries and coffee at no charge. This service was such a nice, thoughtful touch. Not to mention, totally yummy cappuccinos! The owner of this hotel has really put thought and love into The Trinity.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janie B, Owner at The Trinity Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for your positive review on our hotel. We have worked really hard to create a comfortable environment for all to enjoy. We would like to take this chance to thank you again for your visit with us and hope that you will come and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed at the Trinity when we visited the Carlsbad Caverns.
It's a very nice hotel with great rooms. The room and the bathroom were big and very clean. The Bed was comfortable, the breakfast was tasty and the staff was helpfull and friendly.
Maybe the traffic can be loud in the evening, but there are earplugs in the room. There is no elevator but the Staff was friendly and asked me if i need help with the baggage.
If we visit this area again, we willstay in the Trinity again because it's much better than a hotel of a big chain.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andypost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janie B, Owner at The Trinity Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for your stay with us and we are glad you enjoyed yourself. We at The Trinity strive to be friendly and provide the best costumer care we can. Thank you for your positive review and we hope you will visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

What a luxurious, relaxing, gorgeous place! The lattes in the morning were delicious. I had a huge room with a huge, beautiful bathroom done in really pretty tile. It was fun to take a whirlpool bath every morning while watching the huge tv over the fireplace. I could have stayed forever as well as I slept. I highly, highly recommend The Trinity.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Appalachianmtngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janie B, Owner at The Trinity Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for your high recommendation, and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope that you will come and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
2.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 22 in Carlsbad
211 reviews
0.6 mi away
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
#4 of 22 in Carlsbad
94 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Carlsbad
1.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trinity Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trinity Hotel

Property: The Trinity Hotel
Address: 201 S Canal St, Carlsbad, NM 88220-5715
Location: United States > New Mexico > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Trinity Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your stay in Carlsbad New Mexico in the newly renovated and redesigned Trinity Hotel Suites. Built 1892 as the First National Bank, this historic property once served as home to the first newspaper and headquarters of the Carlsbad Irrigation District. Today the old bank building is home to luxurious over-sized suites appointed with the finest amenities to meet your every need. It also now boasts a fine dining restaurant, wine gift shop, and coffee. Come, stay and lose yourself in the history and the beauty that is the Trinity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Trinity Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing