We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Gem”
Review of The Trinity Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Trinity Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Carlsbad B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We just returned from a trip to the Carlsbad Caverns and stayed at the Trinity Hotel. Both were beyond our expectations. The hotel offered every amenity you could wish for in a room - high quality bedding on the most comfortable bed, large modern bathroom with walk-in shower, robes, and a wine cooler with wine glasses to bring back a bottle of the local wines that were offered in the restaurant. The restaurant at the hotel was excellent as well. Thank you to those who reviewed this hotel on tripadvisor before us and led us to this historic gem.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baa296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (357)
There are newer reviews for The Trinity Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 357 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2012

A charming hotel with an excellent restaurant. The bed was very comfortable with high quality linens. We had the room with the claw foot tub for two and we appreciated it after a day in the caves. The staff was very friendly. A couple of downsides.... the upstairs rooms are actually on the third floor and our room was quite light at night. Not a problem for us but if you need a dark room to sleep you may want to bring a sleepshade. If you like green chili don't miss the green chile lasagna. The rib eyes were terrific too. By far the best option in Carlsbad for both room and food.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Candace M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We spent two days in Carlsbad checking out the caves and other scenery. This hotel made our visit really memorable. The rest of this town is pretty unremarkable but the Trinity is quite special.
The staff was friendly and helpful, and the room was fantastic. We have stayed in hotels with smaller rooms than the bathroom we had at the Trinity. The owners have done a wonderful job of creating a historic hotel with every modern convenience. There was a nice breakfast of juice, coffee and muffin/pastry which was fine for us. In addition, we ate at the restaurant both nights and enjoyed excellent service and terrific food. What more could you want?

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NHtraveler60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

The Trinity Hotel came up on my Tripadvisor search - an historic building renovated as a top notch hotel with a top rated restaurant on the property. The rates were lower than many of the mid-priced hotel/motel chains in the area. It was a no-brainer.

6 hrs in transit on a plane & 2 hrs driving from El Peso put our arrival at about 5:30PM for check-in. We were not disappointed. Our room was delightful. Fifteen foot ceiling added to the ambience of the king poster bed & our master suite bath. The mattress was unbelievably comfortable. The linens rivaled any high thread-count Egyptian cotton that I have ever bought.

We had 2 breakfasts & 2 dinners at Trinity. Both breakfasts were wonderful & more food than we could eat. On the 2nd day, we even tried to downsize on portions- still more than we wanted. Dinners were fantastic - a fresh medely of vegetables & a strarch complimented each entree. The habibut preparation was delectable. The pork chops arrived in a wonderful mushroom sauce. Don't order the tenderloin - tough, gristley, 2/3 uneatable.

Trinity Hotel offers wine tasting each afternoon from 3-5 in the bar. We did this on our second day after returning from the Caverns. Take advantage of this fantastic opportunity to sample NM wines. We tried Luna Rossa & Balzano vineyard selections. We did not taste a wine that we didn't find palatable.

Room Tip: Book ahead. The Trinity is very poular, even in the shoulder season. We were there for 2 nights in...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

The Trinity is a restored historic building in downtown Carlsbad. It was an incredibly pleasant surprise. There are only about 10 rooms, and we were in a 1st floor room which opens to the outside. Sounds undesirable at first, but you can park five feet from your door, and there's no feeling of security concern. Huge room, huge bathroom, great bed, beautiful new bath/shower, 2 TV's. The interior of the hotel is a combo of original and contemporary. The bathroom was very contemporary, totally new but also included an original fireplace (not functional). Very charming.

They have an excellent restaurant, also very contemporary. We had breakfasts and dinner, and the food was excellent. We don't know Carlsbad well, but judging from the local crowd, this is likely to be the best or one of the best place in town. It could compete anywhere, though. They are across the street from a bunch of government offices and seem to draw a lot of business from them. The restaurant is certainly not just for the hotel guests.

It is a small hotel and has a few quirks. For example, if you check in on a Sunday, you may have to call a number and wait about 5 min. for someone to come let you in. Also, because it's a historic building, they were limited in changes, and some of the rooms are dependent on a thermostat located elsewhere. This is common in some old hotels, but it can be a bit of a problem. Other than this, we loved the!place. It's a little more expensive than one of the chain motels, but so worth it.

Room Tip: We were in Room 2 on the first floor, very nice, outside entrance. They have one room on the second...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tomtx45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

I always wanted to visit Carlsbad and see the caves, but the town didn't offer any kind of respectable lodging. After finally finding The Trinity online, my husband and I made the trip to Carlsbad. This place truly is a diamond in the rough. The beds were comfortable, the food was amazing and the ambiance was perfect. They had a nice wine selection with many local wines. I definitely recommend this hotel to any one who wishes to visit Carlsbad in style.
I do not recommend this hotel to guests traveling with children.

Room Tip: Room 202 was amazing!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

The cleanest hotel room. . . ever!
Friendly staff. Gorgeous room.
Loud from all the man-trucks but it added to the ambiance of the small NM town.
Lovely.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ila_conoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlsbad
2.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 22 in Carlsbad
218 reviews
0.6 mi away
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
#4 of 22 in Carlsbad
97 reviews
3.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad
1.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad
18.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#1 of 3 in Whites City
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trinity Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trinity Hotel

Address: 201 S Canal St, Carlsbad, NM 88220-5715
Location: United States > New Mexico > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Carlsbad
Price Range: $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Trinity Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your stay in Carlsbad New Mexico in the newly renovated and redesigned Trinity Hotel Suites. Built 1892 as the First National Bank, this historic property once served as home to the first newspaper and headquarters of the Carlsbad Irrigation District. Today the old bank building is home to luxurious over-sized suites appointed with the finest amenities to meet your every need. It also now boasts a fine dining restaurant, wine gift shop, and coffee. Come, stay and lose yourself in the history and the beauty that is the Trinity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Trinity Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing