We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Update of KOA Carlsbad”
Review of Carlsbad KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carlsbad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carlsbad KOA
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Sites are very level
Park is clean
Showers were clean
Washroom and bathhouse open 24/7
TV cable not worth turning on
While internet speed clocked in at almost 1 Mbps they limit it to a few people and kick you off. They also limit your speed if you are downloading a lot
For 50 dollars a night they cheap it out on odd things

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 201 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2014

Arrived after a long drive with the trailer in New Mexico winds all day long. We were greeted by friendly staff and grounds helpers. Site was level and clean. Dog park is grassy and goat head free. Used the pool one day and it also was a joy. Bathrooms were clean every use. Showers could use some work but they were clean. There are some oilfield workers who are here long term but they keep to themselves and I never heard the coming and goings others heard. Also never smelled anything out of the ordinary. It is about a 10 min. drive from town if you forget something but we really had no need as we are prepared when we hit a site. Took the truck bypass to get to the Caverns and it was maybe a 45 min drive. Not bad as we spent the whole day there. Didn't try the BBQ they offered again we brought our own supplies and cooked at camp. Wifi was decent definitely not like you'd find in a city but fast enough to catchup on emails and be done. We spent a lot of the time outside so can't comment on TV service. Playground was great for the kids. The one con I would say was the price. Pretty expensive for a KOA at this level and having so many monthly payers I would think they'd be able to offer lower rates.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
Thank gartj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

Very clean, quiet, sites spaced out, great dog parks, lots of on site amenities. Cons: 15 minutes from town, an hour from the Caverns. You can also smell all the fracking going on in Carlsbad and it will literally wake you up. The camp itself is nice and well maintained.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank wmcbryde21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We had a Kabin, but the RV sites are large, not cramped like some older KOAs. The smallest sized kabin was spacious for 2 people. It sleeps 4, but that would be tight quarters. We were warned to bring our own linens, etc, so we brought sleeping bags. The kabin has AC, which we used the first day, and a heater, which we used the next 2 days. It also has a ceiling fan with a light. There was one electric outlet, so if you need to plug a few things in bring an extension cord. Outside the kabin there is a porch and swing, picnic table, fire ring and free-standing grill. BYO charcoal! KOA was 17 miles north of Carlsbad. WI-FI was very slow. There was also an automatic air freshener that 'spritzed' every once in a while which caused a fragrance that I did not care for. Some petroleum odors came and went, but we didn't have windows open. All the oil/petroleum workers leave around 6 AM in noisy pickup trucks. Since Carlsbad is an oil town, clean, affordable lodging is at a premium. Most hotels are overpriced, so this was an acceptable alternative. Even the KOA prices here are higher than other areas in the USA. Pool was closed since this was in February. Bathrooms were the best feature! They offered Barbeque meals at reasonable prices every night, you could even get it delivered to your site.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmhb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Fracking has brought a whole new meaning to "The Great Outdoors." Driving here from town smelled like an open cesspool.

Most tent sites are barren. We paid extra to be semi-sheltered with a pavilion... otherwise the wind would have sailed our canvas to Kansas. We got lucky and the wind quit just after we arrived.

Nice office/public indoor area. $35.00 for a tent site in this location. Incl elect, water, table, grill (but no fire allowed on windy days).

Wouldn't chance it again.

Room Tip: If tenting ask for sites - 1 or 6 to be out of the wind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KURTZINPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Staff fabulous, grounds clean and spacious. But at a 5 star price felt cheated with 1.extremely poor slow wifi, 2.cable with only 10 channels, 3. $2 cup of coffee (most KOAs have free morning coffee), 4. 8 pieces of wood $8 (in town same bundle $3.99), 5. $17 rib dinner short on meat. At $45 a night I expected first class amenities.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 100lindad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed in Area 51 lodge and had a great stay. Sue, Scott and all their crew members were very helpful and hospitable. The showers/bathrooms were immaculate. A very good selection in the convenience store and we had two meals that were very tasty. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: KOA cabins/lodges are generally not equipped with linens (including towels). The upside is you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
17.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad
13.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 22 in Carlsbad
223 reviews
18.4 mi away
Days Inn Carlsbad
Days Inn Carlsbad
#7 of 22 in Carlsbad
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#2 of 22 in Carlsbad
199 reviews
16.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
18.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlsbad KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlsbad KOA

Address: 2 Manthei Rd, Carlsbad, NM 88220-9251
Location: United States > New Mexico > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Carlsbad
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kick back with family and friends at this beautiful desert oasis built in 2000. This award-winning KOA is big rig friendly: All sites are huge 30/50-amp pull thrus with free Wi-Fi and free cable TV. The staff will spoil you as you enjoy the 2,000-square-foot community room, meals delivered to your site, a beautiful commercial laundry, outstanding restrooms, a fenced dog park and a heated pool. From this KOA in the heart of SE New Mexico, visit Carlsbad Caverns, Living Desert Zoo and Gardens State Park, Sitting Bull Falls Recreation Area, Roswell's International UFO Museum and White Sands National Monument. Check out the Robert H. Goddard rocket collection at the Roswell Museum and Art Center and the "Billy the Kid" history at the campground. A horse hotel also is available. See how this KOA is going green with the help of a wind turbine. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing