We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed opinion. Weak potential for tenting. Some odors.”
Review of Carlsbad KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carlsbad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carlsbad KOA
Certificate of Excellence
Ringtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mixed opinion. Weak potential for tenting. Some odors.”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Fracking has brought a whole new meaning to "The Great Outdoors." Driving here from town smelled like an open cesspool.

Most tent sites are barren. We paid extra to be semi-sheltered with a pavilion... otherwise the wind would have sailed our canvas to Kansas. We got lucky and the wind quit just after we arrived.

Nice office/public indoor area. $35.00 for a tent site in this location. Incl elect, water, table, grill (but no fire allowed on windy days).

Wouldn't chance it again.

Room Tip: If tenting ask for sites - 1 or 6 to be out of the wind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KURTZINPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    49
    23
    9
    8
See reviews for
78
54
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Anderson, Indiana
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Staff fabulous, grounds clean and spacious. But at a 5 star price felt cheated with 1.extremely poor slow wifi, 2.cable with only 10 channels, 3. $2 cup of coffee (most KOAs have free morning coffee), 4. 8 pieces of wood $8 (in town same bundle $3.99), 5. $17 rib dinner short on meat. At $45 a night I expected first class amenities.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 100lindad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka Springs, Arkansas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed in Area 51 lodge and had a great stay. Sue, Scott and all their crew members were very helpful and hospitable. The showers/bathrooms were immaculate. A very good selection in the convenience store and we had two meals that were very tasty. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: KOA cabins/lodges are generally not equipped with linens (including towels). The upside is you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had a late Check in, but it went well. We rented a cabin and it was great!!!!!!! They told us to bring linen but they never said anything about towels, soap, etc. (the usual things you find in a room). So if you get a cabin bring ALL your own toiletries TG they did furnish tp or that would've been a problem.........nothing complimentary here. The food was really good. Not the best bbq I've ever had but in the top 3. Staff was friendly and accommodating tho. The bummer was the pool was totally shut down by 6 which sucked because we wanted to go after go after dinner went down and couldn't :-( over all it was pretty good. I'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smokinhotbabe1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Nice lg rv sites. Beautiful pool, clean restrooms and showers. But... every night around sundown untill sunrise there is the most awful stink. The first night I thought our holding tank had broke or we had some kind of sewer leak. I checked our rv over and couldn't find anything wrong. I then asked one of the work campers what the smell was & was told it was the near by oil fields. Long term campers informed us it's the parks sewer lagoon. It's so bad that even with all our doors and windows closed we were still awakened every night by the stink of poo. Our site wasn't even near the lagoon. The whole darn place smelled awful. The weather was beautiful and we were looking forward to being able to sleep with the windows open but couldn't do so because the smell was SO BAD! Wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank defaziorv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalou, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here with our 6 kids (3yrs - 10yrs old) in two of their cabins. The staff was helpful and accommodating. The property was great fun for the kids. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HKParr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baytown, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Very nice staff. Very nice and clean facilities, cabin, pool, laundry, and store. Very nice cabin with many amenities. Only downside: the beds and futon that made into a bed were hard. So bring egg crates or extra mats to soften them

Room Tip: If you will sleep more than 2 people, get the cabin that sleeps 6 so you will have more room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Royce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlsbad
13.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 22 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
17.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad
18.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Carlsbad South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Best Western Pecos Inn
Best Western Pecos Inn
#4 of 7 in Artesia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
18.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#2 of 22 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
18.3 mi away
Days Inn Carlsbad
Days Inn Carlsbad
#6 of 22 in Carlsbad
3.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlsbad KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlsbad KOA

Property: Carlsbad KOA
Address: 2 Manthei Rd, Carlsbad, NM 88220-9251
Location: United States > New Mexico > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Carlsbad
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kick back with family and friends at this beautiful desert oasis built in 2000. This award-winning KOA is big rig friendly: All sites are huge 30/50-amp pull thrus with free Wi-Fi and free cable TV. The staff will spoil you as you enjoy the 2,000-square-foot community room, meals delivered to your site, a beautiful commercial laundry, outstanding restrooms, a fenced dog park and a heated pool. From this KOA in the heart of SE New Mexico, visit Carlsbad Caverns, Living Desert Zoo and Gardens State Park, Sitting Bull Falls Recreation Area, Roswell's International UFO Museum and White Sands National Monument. Check out the Robert H. Goddard rocket collection at the Roswell Museum and Art Center and the "Billy the Kid" history at the campground. A horse hotel also is available. See how this KOA is going green with the help of a wind turbine. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing