We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two room camping cabin”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Carlsbad KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carlsbad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carlsbad KOA
Certificate of Excellence
Iowa
Level Contributor
443 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 505 helpful votes
“Two room camping cabin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed here for three nights during our New Mexico trip. The campground is about fifteen minutes north of Carlsbad, so it's close to a forty minute drive to get to the caverns. We didn't mind the drive since we spent just one day at the caverns. Obviously, if you plan on making multiple trips to the caverns you might be better off staying closer.
The two room camping cabin was very clean. The camping cabins had plenty of space between them compared to a few other KOAs we've stayed at. There was a park-style grill, water spigot, and picnic table outside the cabin. No fire pits due to burning bans.
The bathroom next to the main building was very clean, and had a really cute Western theme. The bathrooms in the middle of the campground were great! Three big private bathrooms, each with a toilet, sink, and shower. I never saw many people using the private bathrooms; since they're in the RV section I guess most people just use their RV bathrooms.
The pool was nice, but kind of small. There's a little playground and dog park. The rec room in the main building had table tennis and board games to play, plus a TV. We had problems with the Wifi just once; when it rained one evening and everybody must've been trying to get on.
We ordered bbq sandwiches one night from the cafe, and they were good.
The campground had a gravel road alongside I enjoyed walking on. I spotted roadrunners, ravens, doves, and tons of little rabbits right in the campground.
The employees were all extremely helpful, and the grounds well kept. I loved all the cacti and other desert plants they have everywhere in the campground, plus the Western themed decor.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kren250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    49
    23
    9
    8
See reviews for
78
53
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

42 dollars/night with KOA discounts
Great food delivered!
Level sites!
well kept campground!
Clean sites and shower houses!
Quite campground!
TV cable very limited
Internet terrible every visit
The only reason to stay here is limited competition in the area.

Room Tip: All sites are pretty level every visit. When you ask for a good position for the internet they tell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamogordo, New Mexico
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stay at KOA's quiet often...we've stayed at probably over 20 different ones. We always stay in the cabins. This was one of the best KOA's we've ever stayed at. By far the bathroom/shower facilities are one of the cleanest of any KOA we've been to. This KOA offers BBQ dinners everynight delivered right to your campsite/tent/RV/cabin. The meats are smoked right on the property. The food was great...a little pricey, but worth it in the end. Our cabin had TV included...you don't see that offered much at KOA's. This KOA is conveniently located half way between Artesia and Carlsbad.

Room Tip: They had a pool but we didn't visit it, so I can't rate it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

This is a very nice KOA...except the internet speed!!! About half the park is filled with working folks that are renting spaces monthly...like me. If you're camping, I guess the internet problem wouldn't bother you, as you're trying to escape your normal life. If you're temporarily living here, and need your computer, there is a BIG problem. During "peak hours" (0700-2200) forget about doing ANYTHING on the internet...way too many people sucking from the same straw."Dial-up" would be faster...but no phone lines. I've talked to management and was told, "it is what it is!" What a crock of [--]. A few bucks and/or an "I.T." guy would solve the problem. My Verizon wireless modem won't work either because we're in a "dead zone" according to Verizon. So, if internet is important to you, don't stay here! If management reads this review, please fix the problem and I'll remove this post!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed here for one night in the tent village. It was a very windy day so the staff made sure we had the most protected tent spot.

Facilities are immaculately clean, and the staff are friendly and full of information about all the local attractions.

Room Tip: If you're tent camping, pay a few dollars extra to stay in the more sheltered tent village
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed here during our kids spring break, and we loved it. It was still a little cold but it was nice to see they had heaters in them. The pool was open and the kids went swimming everyday but it was way too cold for me... the wind stayed high the whole week we was there. It was hard to get a fire started much less keep it going. So we ate the BBQ almost every night and it was amazing. Everyone here was really nice, and answered any questions possible. The store was bigger than most I had been to... I love the coffee! Great place!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1234travel1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

The cabin we stayed in was clean and the beds were comfortable, but it was very bare-bones. The cabin included a twin bed, bunk beds, and a small desk and chair. There was also a bench swing on the tiny porch outside of the cabin, but that is about it. The price was a little high for such a simple room, but most of the accommodations around Carlsbad are pricey. The public bathroom and showers were roomy and clean. There is a lot of oil/natural gas activity in the area so the air can smell pretty bad depending on the winds. The campground is quite a distance from the cave, though, so plan ahead. (about 45 minutes)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlsbad
13.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 22 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
17.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad
18.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Carlsbad South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pecos Inn
BEST WESTERN Pecos Inn
#4 of 7 in Artesia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
18.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#2 of 22 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
18.3 mi away
Days Inn Carlsbad
Days Inn Carlsbad
#6 of 22 in Carlsbad
3.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlsbad KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlsbad KOA

Property: Carlsbad KOA
Address: 2 Manthei Rd, Carlsbad, NM 88220-9251
Location: United States > New Mexico > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Carlsbad
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kick back with family and friends at this beautiful desert oasis built in 2000. This award-winning KOA is big rig friendly: All sites are huge 30/50-amp pull thrus with free Wi-Fi and free cable TV. The staff will spoil you as you enjoy the 2,000-square-foot community room, meals delivered to your site, a beautiful commercial laundry, outstanding restrooms, a fenced dog park and a heated pool. From this KOA in the heart of SE New Mexico, visit Carlsbad Caverns, Living Desert Zoo and Gardens State Park, Sitting Bull Falls Recreation Area, Roswell's International UFO Museum and White Sands National Monument. Check out the Robert H. Goddard rocket collection at the Roswell Museum and Art Center and the "Billy the Kid" history at the campground. A horse hotel also is available. See how this KOA is going green with the help of a wind turbine. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing