We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly place to stay.”
Review of Carlsbad KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carlsbad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carlsbad KOA
Certificate of Excellence
Street, Somerset
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A friendly place to stay.”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

After a long drive from Albuquerque, it was refreshing to see our name on the welcome board as we pulled in. A clean and tidy park with a good sized pull through stand for our RV. We also had a fire pit with bbq grille. Great park far enough from the highway so the road noise is minimal. My only slight moan was that they had good security with a regular patrol. I just wish he had used an electric golf buggy rather than the rumbling V8 pickup passing by every hour. A little way from Carlsbad Caverns but a nice location. We will use it again when we pass that way.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rustcollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    53
    23
    9
    8
See reviews for
85
57
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

After checking in Carlsbad town for a nice hotel with a decent rate...and not finding one...I found this little jewel of a campground...ONLY drawback is distance to carlsbad caverns which was the reason for my son and I staying in that area in the first palce. We stayed in the smallest type cabin and used the public wash rooms (which were very very clean and nice). Great deal compared to town and much more of the experience we were looking for. Even had their BBQ dinner when we arrived just in time to eat and make the bat flight. That night we had a fire with wood I purchased from the store and looked at the milky way while watching bats eat bugs flying around a street light...neat experience with my son that I'll never forget.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eric p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

By far the best campground in the area. We stayed for three days while exploring everything from the Caves to the National Forest areas not far off. While the drive to the Carlsbad Caverns from the KOA is about 30/40 minutes, that distance was absolutely made up for by the friendly staff, the ice cream socials, very clean facilities, a pretty cute dog park for our puppy and general good condition we found things in.

Room Tip: If available, request a space closer to the front of the park. That keeps you closer to the pool,la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mirada, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed at this campground as part of our trip from California to New Mexico and back. The people at the front desk were not as friendly as we have experienced in other KOA parks. They were rude and at first moment the manager or staff member complained that we have parked our car in the wrong place and we should move it to the front., then as we were about to choose the spot for our tent she did not want to give us the spot near the trees telling us that they are reserved for tonight stay for other guests.
We later found out that any was taken and we were only tent guest that night anyway. The other issue was that almost every hour starting very early in the morning a noisy truck was passing nearby disturbing our sleep. We were awoken almost every hour there, and I am not sure what was that traffic about as it was part of camp internal road issue. To give it some points I would say it was clean, well equipped, not crowded with plenty of options and not far from Caverns Park., but I would not stay there again myself.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsburg, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

When are campground owners going to finally understand that they are in the hospitality industry? I am tired of pulling into a campground for a night and being treated like I'm invading someones private property and they are begrudgingly letting me spend the night. Any more than 2 or 3 signs telling me what NOT to do upon immediate arrival is a red flag. This campground is a prime example.The sites are average, with a couple of nice ones; the laundry was average, however more than half the washers and dryers were out of order, making for a long wait. The pool is woefully undersized. Employees on golf carts riding around endlessly peering into your space while you are trying to sit and rest. The owner checked us in and was very condescending. When asked how far it is to the caverns, we didn't get a straight answer; probably because it is an hour away, unlike how the website makes it seem they are close by. As for those reviewers who loved the bbq, if you don't mind spending $16.95 for a pulled pork plate, go for it. We have an expensive fifth wheel, and have been camping all over the country. I would choose a closer campground if in this area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheLongLongTrailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

If like camping without completely roughing it, then I would recommend this KOA. Clean, safe, and a friendly staff. Nice touches were the adult only hot tub, BBQ delievered to your campsite, and free s'more party during the evening. Drive to the caverns was not bad. Definately stay here if you are looking for the camping experience without all the hassle of camping.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rdd02b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

On a month long road trip, we stayed at several KOA locations. The staff here are very friendly, the bathrooms are in excellent condition and the entire site is extremely clean. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank AmyFlossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlsbad
13.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 22 in Carlsbad
211 reviews
16.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
#4 of 22 in Carlsbad
94 reviews
18.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carlsbad
17.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Artesia
17.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlsbad KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlsbad KOA

Property: Carlsbad KOA
Address: 2 Manthei Rd, Carlsbad, NM 88220-9251
Location: United States > New Mexico > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Carlsbad
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kick back with family and friends at this beautiful desert oasis built in 2000. This award-winning KOA is big rig friendly: All sites are huge 30/50-amp pull thrus with free Wi-Fi and free cable TV. The staff will spoil you as you enjoy the 2,000-square-foot community room, meals delivered to your site, a beautiful commercial laundry, outstanding restrooms, a fenced dog park and a heated pool. From this KOA in the heart of SE New Mexico, visit Carlsbad Caverns, Living Desert Zoo and Gardens State Park, Sitting Bull Falls Recreation Area, Roswell's International UFO Museum and White Sands National Monument. Check out the Robert H. Goddard rocket collection at the Roswell Museum and Art Center and the "Billy the Kid" history at the campground. A horse hotel also is available. See how this KOA is going green with the help of a wind turbine. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing