We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great exploration” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sitting Bull Falls

Sitting Bull Falls
Ranked #3 of 22 things to do in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Idalou, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great exploration”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Our 6 kids, 3yrs - 10 yrs had a great time exploring the waterfall and swimming in the springs. The park staff was friendly and it was a great day excursion while traveling from Carlsbad back to Hobbs.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank HKParr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    38
    11
    4
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“wow, a desert gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

only opened on the weekends. It is a bit of drive, but worth it. It is a small fall with true swimming holes.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank B R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
110 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A Long Way Out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We drove here across Dark Canyon Rd and believe me when I tell you it is a long way. Bring a picnic lunch, plenty of water, sunscreen. The park is nice with covered picnic tables all built by the CCC. You can swim under the falls and there are steps down to the stream. There are restrooms in the park and the day we were there, three park rangers were on duty, keeping the rowdy kids in line.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonnie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Too dry”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

It's was cool but there was just one waterfall we expected for the more water but we were planning to stay for vacation but after we saw the just one waterfall we decided to leave back home

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kassandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Spring Break 2011 nice day trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Folks at the KOA said we should go explore out there. It was really neat. Son was 10 and we both enjoyed it. Go early in the day as there is little shade once the sun comes overhead. The rock blocks most of the heat until noon.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Campermom68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sitting Bull Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing