We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Poor choice” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Stagecoach Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carlsbad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stagecoach Inn
Save
You added Stagecoach Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Carlsbad
Cannock. Staffs
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Poor choice”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were touring the USA on holiday, and we were visiting Calsbad caverns. We needed a room just for one night nearby. We booked into the Stagecoach Inn, and looked at the room, and should really have walked away, but it was late in the afternoon, and I think we panicked. It was expensive, $79, which was more than we had paid for any accomodation we had used, even suites. It was a very small room, one double bed, old tv, and did smell a little musty. The wallpaper had been ripped from the wall behind the one chair in there. There were no coffee making facilities, and the breakfast was practically non existant, just a VERY small danish pastry.I think the rooms were maybe ok for workmen to stay in, but not tourists. The management weren't particularly friendly either. Wouldn't recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank prycey64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    1
    7
    8
    5
See reviews for
5
4
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We decided to go to Carlsbad Caverns at the last minute, so we wanted to stay somewhere cheap but decent. Our niece and her husband recommended the Stagecoach Inn. They stayed there a year ago. The room was small, they charged two of us $68.99 for a single bed, non smoking room. It was Labor Day weekend so that might have had something to do with the price. The room was clean, the front desk lady was very nice, there is a playground out front, so its perfect for families with children. Continental breakfast consisted of a honey bun and coffee. I had no complaints. The room did only offer a bar of soap so make sure to bring all your own toiletries.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashleyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2010

out of season price was good. non-smoking room stunk of smoke, used air freshner so we could sleep. it was late and we were tired. bed linen had smoke odor, not a good nights rest on a bad mattress, good thing we had our own pillows. no coffee in the morning, place was a real disappointment. had excellent breakfast at the best western next door. this inns restaurant was closed.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank duhCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Carlsbad hotels

Houston
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2009

Friendly place, reasonably priced, extremely helpful. We asked to see the rooms before checking in. Recommended the drive-in movie (will need cash), and the Carlsbad Caverns. Both places were great. Quiet place, convenient parking, and pet friendly. They have a nice small park, pool and landscaping. It has recently been remodeled from the inside.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TexasRoadTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

I stayed here for two nights with my 4 and 6 year olds. We were drawn in by the playset. Checked in and the desk person gave us a discount because it was slow. The room was about what I had expected: smelly, dingy, stained, threadbare, and worn. I wonder if I stayed in the same room as a previous reviewer because my room also had the smoke detector ripped off the wall. Either the management hadn't fixed it in a few years or it's a problem in more than room, though I didn't notice until the second night. The door lack a latch or chain, so you have to take your chances with the door lock and the dead bolt. I positioned a chair in front of the door, directly under the knob to slow down any intruder. Although, I never felt unsafe. The housekeeping staff were very nice.

If you can stomach the appearance, the pool and play ground are very convenient. Otherwise, keep driving to the Holiday Inn Express at the north end of town.

I also took the kids to Beach Park, which is a great little beach on the Pecos River with lifeguards (more than 1). There is also a small paddle boat tour, pontoon boat ride, and peddle boats, all right there. That was a lot of fun.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travlmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Window Rock, AZ
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2008

Stayed here to go to the Caverns the next day. Check in was okay. Our room was located in the back - there were lots of oil and construction type folks at the motel and they had their equipment as well. It appears that there's some folks that live there too.

There was a small restaurant but it doesn't serve breakfast. The kids enjoyed the playground near the swimming pool and did the swing and teeter totter many times. The room was oddly big, the carpet needed some cleaning and the furniture was old. There's probably other motels of the same price with better accomodations.

  • Liked — The playground.
  • Disliked — The carpet needed cleaning.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Chizzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2008

The Stagecoach Inn is an old fashioned "Motel". As a tourist with a family, I normally like this kind of room so we can park close to the door and get in and out quickly. This was acheived as parking was good. We booked late in the day, and it was the last place in town with any rooms. The room wasn't awful, but the beds and pillows were broken down and the bathroom was run down and had been painted just one too many times. TV was good with a broad array of channels. Room was $73.80 for a family of four - a price of about $50 would have been more appropriate.
Pool, while not yet open for the season, looked great and the on site playground was very nice as well.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RockyRococco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
3.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 22 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 stars 149 reviews
0.6 mi away
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
#4 of 22 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 stars 56 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Carlsbad South Hotel
2.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Carlsbad
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stagecoach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stagecoach Inn

Property: Stagecoach Inn
Address: 1819 S Canal St, Carlsbad, NM 88220-6517
Location: United States > New Mexico > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 57
Also Known As:
Stagecoach Hotel Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing