We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Flat Rock
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 2, 2010

We spent several days at the Highland Lake Inn at Flat Rock in May, as a part of a trip on motorcycle through the western NC mountains. It was the perfect place to stay. We had half of a cabin, but the place was fairly quiet during the week (prior to Memorial Day), so we didn't have any neighbors next door. The room was nothing fancy, but was cozy, and the price was good for the area. If you're looking for a 5 star hotel, this is not even close (at least in the cabin we stayed in - not sure about the lodge rooms). However, the ambience of the place was wonderful. We had rocking chairs on our front porch that I sat in each night and early morning, just listening to the birds sing, and there are also hammocks scattered about, as well as two tree swings (felt like a kid again on those!) We didn't have a chance to go out on the lake, but the canoes and paddle boats for guests looked inviting. The lake was also a lovely place to sit and relax. There's not really a mountain view, but the rustic feel of the resort made me feel like I was in the mountains, and they are just a short drive away. I liked how convenient the location was to all the mountain attractions. We went one day to the Biltmore Mansion in Asheville (front desk has discount tickets!) and spent two days riding the motorcycle on the mountain roads. My favorite was the waterfall route near Brevard - don't miss Dupont State Park or Pigsah National Forest - just gorgeous waterfalls and views.

There is an excellent restaurant on site, with everything prepared from scratch and from local gardens. Our room rate included a full buffet breakfast, which made it an even better value. We only ate dinner there one nght, because it was pretty pricey ($66 for two), but there were several good restaurants in nearby Hendersonville. The service was outstanding everyday. In fact, one morning the cook came out and asked us how we liked our eggs and cooked those especially for us, on top of what was served at the buffet. Both the front desk and restaurant staff took good care of us.

Overall, we had a great vacation in North Carolina, and the Highland Lake Inn helped us feel like we got away from it all for a few days, and we came home rested and relaxed.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank doctorjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (399)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 399 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2010

My family and I stayed here a few years ago, let me just start off by saying it exceeded our expectations but well with the bad economy and our budget we were a bit worried that it would be a bit of a gamble staying here. Thankfully the place was wonderful and worth every dime! It was gorgeous, and had a great location. We stayed in the blue iris cabin which was for certain a well kept,clean, cozy, charming, and rustic little cottage that made my family feel very welcome. It was warm and inviting so when it came time to leaving we wanted to stay longer. My Mom and Dad have high expectations when it comes to going on vacations ( Yes i am am a teenager writing about my family's lovely experience so that you can see how Highland lake is through a teenager/child's eyes and perspective) but they certainly loved this place. My siblings and I highly enjoyed the paddle boats that were set out for anyones use. It was a wonderful experience and extremely fun since we have never done it before and even if we had it would have been just as great. Now when it comes to the Seasons restaurant my parents did mention they thought it was a bit overpriced but the food was splendid. I have heard from other reviews that they had a bad experience there, but we for one loved the food and the mini gift shop at the front of the restaurant as well. The service was medium paced so i wouldn't come if i was in a hurry but the servers were friendly people who would greet us by name ( after a day or two of returning for breakfasts or lunch). Food quality was rather good, taste great and filled our tummies! After eating we would go off to enjoy the town and go sight-seeing and such. There's much to do in that area (town)- horseback riding, canoeing, boating, hiking, shopping, and even this gem mining shop where you could search/mine for gems ( which i thoroughly enjoyed because it was fun and i got to keep everything i had found)! Plus the town has great dinning, stores and fun for the whole family! The highland lake community is very charming. They have a petting zoo on campus, hiking trails, a pool, a lake, paddle boats, games, and more! My family and i loved waking up in the morning and would sit out on the porch watching the goats and breathing in the clean crisp mountain air. It was peaceful and relaxing. My mom, sister and I would take morning strolls and wander around the property looking at the beautiful gardens. The whole place was just so wonderful and a great place to stay for out large family of 6! It has activities for all ages of children ( even teenagers!) and adults. Personally North Carolina is my very FAVORITE state, i hope to move here some day. And Highland lakes was a great place to stay, my family and I just so much enjoyed our stay here. Great food, friendly people, lovely location, activities for all, comfy cabins and lodge, beautiful scenery and much more! We have made reservations to stay again this summer, and we know that is going to be just as great as last time. This was a five star experience for those who like simplicity and a rustic country place to stay instead of the luxury fancy expensive stuff ( the lodge here is more luxury than the cabins for those who prefer that, but i thought the cabins were amazing and was my type of place and to me, a luxury experience). If you want a fun, relaxing place to stay then this is the place for you. I HIGHLY recommend this place!!!!!!!!!! Loved it, and hope you do too :D

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Familyfriends0906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

We recently stayed at the Inn twice, once to drop our daugther off at camp and once to pick her up. Both times were great stays. The first stay we were in a cabin. The second stay we were in the Lodge. Although both are nice, I personally liked the cabin better. Seasons restaurant (located on the grounds) was great for breakfast (the price of which is included in the price of your stay), but a little expensive for dinner. There are better options for dinner in downtown Hendersonville.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allandrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2010

This was our second visit along with four other couples with whom we try to choose a good place to meet and spend a few days together. The Woodward House at Highland Lake Inn provided us with a perfect place to relax and visit. On both visits, we chose the Flat Rock Playhouse package which included 2 nights lodging,2 tickets to Flat Rock Playhouse, dinner for 2 on one evening at Seasons Restaurant, and 2 country breakfasts at Seasons Restaurant(package price was very reasonable and afforded discounts on our rooms and play tickets plus GREAT food at Seasons.Cherie,Rebecca,and Chris(our waiter)all made our arrangements and our stay exceptional. All the wives and husbands in our group truly appreciate good food,a good place to stay, and good friendly service. We were all well pleased and plan to return.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harrellch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2010

Spur of the moment trip up to Flat Rock, about 1 hour from home. Stayed at Highland Lake on a Friday. Surprised we could get a reservation at last minute on Mother's Day weekend. There are several types and locations of rooms to choose from since this used to be a Day Camp years ago. We avoid the cabins. Too 'rustic'. We chose the modern rooms in the Woodward House. Very large ground floor room #7. Very quiet, excellent bed, clean. Nobody above you. Non-smoking. All inclusive AAA price was $169 with tax and a full breakfast for 2. The grounds are lovely. Large, quiet with flowers, a lake, lots of room to roam. You can use the paddle boats or canoes for free. Can also fish. Very romantic. And less than 30 minutes from DuPont State Park with wonderful waterfalls. Seasons restaurant is a solid B+ on the premises. Staff of hotel and restaurant extremely friendly. Pool opens in June. And, then they also have daily free wine and cheese.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArthurMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackoIII, Owner at Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2010

Thank you so much for your very kind words! We take great pride in delighting our guests throughout their visit with us. We are glad you enjoyed our Woodward House accommodations.

We have a wide variety of accommodations from our value-priced cabin rooms, to the historic Lodge, our family-sized poolside cabins and the elegant Woodward House. We want you to know that we have recently updated our cabin rooms, and while they remain our value-priced option, most of our guests find them quite charming.

Finally, to clarify your comment, we will start our seasonal Social Hour in the Woodward House or the Lodge every Saturday afternoon in June. It is a great chance to meet the owner and share a glass of complimentary wine or lemonade and some scrumptious cheese, berries and fresh-baked cookies from our on-site restaurant Season's.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2009

I was here for a business retreat. I stayed in the lodge. It was a very relaxing and enjoyable time. The facilities are not luxurious, but they are very charming, clean, and comfortable. Wifi was available throughout the property. Check in was quick and friendly. I ate in the restaurant 4 times. The food was outstanding and the service was friendly and attentive. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gators93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2009

We stayed at the Highland Lake Inn over the 4th of July weekend and had a wonderful experience. The property is very reminiscent of the Inn from Dirty Dancing. There are several room/cabin/cottages choices – we opted for a room in the main inn. The room was pretty basic, but very clean. The great thing was that the inn also included a few common areas such as a family room area with a TV as well as couches and tables; plus there was also a community kitchen. We placed a few items marked with our name in the refrigerator and had no problems. There was also a game room in the inn that housed a ping pong table, foosball table, and pool table.
There is plenty to do on the grounds and all use of the equipment is included. There is a small barn with goats, chickens, and peacocks which is very entertaining for the kids. We also took advantage of the canoes and paddleboats on the lake. Other activities included a pool, swings, bikes, and hammocks.
We attended a guest reception on Saturday that was hosted by the owner. It was a very nice time with wine and snacks provided.
The breakfast which is also included in the room rate was great. It is served buffet style at Seasons restaurant with table service for the beverages. After our first meal, the restaurant staff greeted us by name each time we visited and were extremely friendly. We also ate dinner at Seasons. The wine list is actually rather extensive with some great options. Another nice touch was live music provided by Steve Becker. He was more than happy to take requests and chat with our family throughout the evening.
The Highland Lake Inn is a fantastic place for a family getaway (I could definitely see this as a great family reunion destination) and we can’t wait to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McTravelFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flat Rock
2.1 mi away
Mountain Lodge
Mountain Lodge
#3 of 6 in Flat Rock
335 reviews
4 mi away
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
#1 of 11 in Hendersonville
794 reviews
0.9 mi away
CedarWood Inn
CedarWood Inn
#2 of 11 in Hendersonville
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Cascades Mountain Resort
The Cascades Mountain Resort
#6 of 11 in Hendersonville
89 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hendersonville SE - Flat Rock
4.1 mi away
Best Western Hendersonville Inn
Best Western Hendersonville Inn
#3 of 11 in Hendersonville
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville

Address: 86 Lily Pad Ln, Flat Rock, NC 28731-9507
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Flat Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Flat Rock
Price Range: $108 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the early 1900s-when a group of visionary gentleman from the South Carolina low-country founded Highland Lake Club-the land that now comprises Highland Lake Inn & Resort has been attracting visitors looking for rest, relaxation and recreation. Set amid 26 scenic wooded lakeside acres in Western North Carolina, perhaps no other destination in Western North Carolina combines an authentic mountain experience with such an array of amenities and services. Each season offers guests something special, something unique, which beckons exploration. Our guests enjoy full access to our on-site amenities that will satisfy or exceed the expectations your family, group, or significant other. We pride ourselves on a unique brand of service-that's both anticipatory and responsive-to make sure you and your company enjoy everything we have to offer. Our amenities include dining at our award-winning Season's Restaurant; exploring our 26 wooded-acres either on foot or riding our complimentary bikes; discovering the 40-acre lake by fishing from the dock (catch-and-release) or boating using our complimentary canoes, kayaks and paddleboats; staying outdoors enjoying our swimming pool (Memorial Day - Labor Day), volleyball, tennis, horseshoes and badminton; heading inside to our family game room for pool, ping pong and foosball; or, relaxing with an in-room massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TravelClick, Agoda, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Lake Hotel Flat Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing