We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another GREAT Weekend at Highland Lake Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Flat Rock
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Madison, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Another GREAT Weekend at Highland Lake Inn”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Highland Lake Inn this past weekend to attend palys at Flat Rock Play House. This is not our first time at Highland Lake Inn but I can tell you that every trip to HLI is wonderful. GREAT food at Season's and always a wonderful service. We stayed in the Woodward House this time, the rooms are quite and spotless. The way to describe Highland Lake Inn is, it is a wonderful place to get away and experience, in my opinion, the best North Carolina has to offer for lodgeing, food and service.

Room Tip: Woodward House or the Lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeneRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Front Office Manager at Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We appreciate your review so much. It makes all of us who work at the resort so happy to hear this kind of response from the guests we care about so much. We look forward to many happy returns......thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    82
    21
    13
    11
See reviews for
122
134
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seneca, South Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is a lovely place hidden in the beautiful North Carolina mountains. You can stay at the main lodge, cabins or a more isolated section, which we enjoy the most. This is a great place for a romantic get away. They have a wonderful honeymoon suite!
The food is fabulist! Gourmet chefs. Rustic dining room.
It is situated on a farm with many acres to walk. The big draw is the lake and spill way. Beautiful setting. I highly recommend!

Room Tip: The Woodward rooms are the best.
See more room tips
Green Features: They farm many of the food they use in the restaurant.
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Guest Relations Manager at Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
This really is a wonderful place in Western North Carolina. We are so happy to be able to offer such a unique mixture of accommodations and glorious food to such fabulous guests such as yourself. Thanks for all the greats comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I have been coming to this property since the 70's when I attended Our Lady of the Hills Camp for 14 summers! I have returned every summer since, except when it was closed in the 80's, and I am in my 60's. Need I say more about how special this place is! I always walk the property and can still see the faces and hear the voices of the campers and staff that were here for many years. From the clear air and cool breezes, to the layed back style, great food, mountain scenery, and charm of Flat Rock and Hendersonville, it is a neat place to get away and unplug! I am always delighted when I see that the owners love the place also and have taken such great care of it. The food in Seasons is deelicious, the accomodations are not luxurious but comfortable and reasonable, the property offers something for everyone. It is a great place for couples, families, weddings, and reunions. If you are lucky enough to discover this place you will not be disappointed. Don't miss the white peacock!

Room Tip: We stayed in a cabin and it was quaint and comfortable.
See more room tips
Green Features: This is a "green" resort and they do a great job of practicing environmentally-friendly practices from what we could see. We especially like the fact that they source everything in Seasons either from the organic gardens or locally. Don't miss the gardens and animals!
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viscaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Front Office Manager at Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We live in a very busy society, but it really warms our hearts to read such a precious review from our guests. It is a wonderful place and we all work hard to make sure that our guests are simply delighted by the natural beauty and the fun offered by the lake, pool and many amenities. We really appreciate your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We have stayed at the Highland lake Inn a number of times and enjoyed each trip. Very historic and well kept. Seasons Restaurant is outstanding. Lodge and Up=scale rooms are good. Some cabins are rustic. and the Flat Rock Theater is near with excellent shows. Lake is beautiful Recommend.

Room Tip: Lodge is historic, but rooms are very nice. Up-scale rooms in newer building are also very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rphrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Front Office Manager at Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We hope that you will always feel as happy as this great review indicates. We enjoy providing everything we can to ensure that your stay is always wondeful!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Be a hero! Take someone you love to the Highland Lake Inn in Flat Rock, NC. Eat at the Season's Restaurant on the premises, attend a production at the Flat Rock Playhouse. This is the perfect get-away. True hospitality at its finest. There are activities for couples or families. You could spend all your time on the property and have a wonderful time, or you could explore this beautiful part of North Carolina. Ideal for group outings. Something for everybody.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Front Office Manager at Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
You are our hero -- that's for sure! Thanks for the awesome review. We love the place as much as you do, especially seeing the "smiling" faces of our guests who do not seem to want to go home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We were looking for a quiet getaway and found the perfect place at Highland Lake Inn. it's also close enough to drive to Asheville or see other sights in the area, but a quiet & beautiful place to wind down. We had a nice room and a lovely dinner at Seasons (on site) that has a world-class wine list. Everything was excellent. We had friends with us and we were in different locations on the property, and when we asked to be accommodated to be nearby each other, the request was fulfilled with a smile. It's the way customer service should be!

Room Tip: Free use of canoes, kayaks and paddle boats in their lake and walking the grounds is the fitness. N...
See more room tips
Green Features: They also grow the herbs & produce used at their restaurant. 4 stars!
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Front Office Manager at Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
It is so great to hear these fine things from a pleased customer. I am glad we were able to accommodate you with closer lodging to your friends. We really are delighted when you are.
Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boulder
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I was one of 85 guests from across the country to attend a wedding at the Inn this weekend. We took over the lodge Friday night and had a live bluegrass band play. The breakfast buffet IS very satisfying (but it's not clear if gratuity should be left for the staff pouring juice and coffee - everything's included in the room rate? Y or N? Mention at check-in). On Saturday everyone seemed to take advantage of the outdoors through hikes, canoeing, paddle boating or lounging in one of their 3 hammocks. The wedding at 5pm in The Pines area was a perfect setting, with the sun just behind the trees. The party in the Grand Ole Hall was so much fun - cocktail hour on the deck, dinner and dancing in the hall. Those bartenders knew how to pour a good drink (if not in HUGE quantities - a pint of wine anyone??). It happened to be a full moon Saturday night, so after the after party we were able to walk up to the lake's dam/waterfall and hang out there under the stars. Perfection. Good times, great memories at Highland Lake Inn.
I stayed in the Lodge, which was very comfortable and it was fun knowing everyone else there was with the wedding too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wrmBoulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Front Office Manager at Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
It has been awhile since you have been here, but your really sweet praises are still warming our hearts. Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing report. We are so happy when we can delight our guests. Please come back soon and soak up more of that ambience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flat Rock
2.1 mi away
Mountain Lodge
Mountain Lodge
#2 of 5 in Flat Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.9 mi away
CedarWood Inn
CedarWood Inn
#4 of 11 in Hendersonville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
#1 of 11 in Hendersonville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
3.9 mi away
The Cascades Mountain Resort
The Cascades Mountain Resort
#6 of 11 in Hendersonville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
20.6 mi away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville

Property: Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
Address: 86 Lily Pad Ln, Flat Rock, NC 28731-9507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Flat Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Flat Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the early 1900s-when a group of visionary gentleman from the South Carolina low-country founded Highland Lake Club-the land that now comprises Highland Lake Inn & Resort has been attracting visitors looking for rest, relaxation and recreation. Set amid 26 scenic wooded lakeside acres in Western North Carolina, perhaps no other destination in Western North Carolina combines an authentic mountain experience with such an array of amenities and services. Each season offers guests something special, something unique, which beckons exploration. Our guests enjoy full access to our on-site amenities that will satisfy or exceed the expectations your family, group, or significant other. We pride ourselves on a unique brand of service-that's both anticipatory and responsive-to make sure you and your company enjoy everything we have to offer. Our amenities include dining at our award-winning Season's Restaurant; exploring our 26 wooded-acres either on foot or riding our complimentary bikes; discovering the 40-acre lake by fishing from the dock (catch-and-release) or boating using our complimentary canoes, kayaks and paddleboats; staying outdoors enjoying our swimming pool (Memorial Day - Labor Day), volleyball, tennis, horseshoes and badminton; heading inside to our family game room for pool, ping pong and foosball; or, relaxing with an in-room massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Lake Hotel Flat Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing