We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be a hero”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Flat Rock
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Marietta, Georgia
2 reviews
“Be a hero”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Be a hero! Take someone you love to the Highland Lake Inn in Flat Rock, NC. Eat at the Season's Restaurant on the premises, attend a production at the Flat Rock Playhouse. This is the perfect get-away. True hospitality at its finest. There are activities for couples or families. You could spend all your time on the property and have a wonderful time, or you could explore this beautiful part of North Carolina. Ideal for group outings. Something for everybody.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Front Office Manager at Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
You are our hero -- that's for sure! Thanks for the awesome review. We love the place as much as you do, especially seeing the "smiling" faces of our guests who do not seem to want to go home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    84
    23
    13
    12
See reviews for
125
137
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wake Forest, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We were looking for a quiet getaway and found the perfect place at Highland Lake Inn. it's also close enough to drive to Asheville or see other sights in the area, but a quiet & beautiful place to wind down. We had a nice room and a lovely dinner at Seasons (on site) that has a world-class wine list. Everything was excellent. We had friends with us and we were in different locations on the property, and when we asked to be accommodated to be nearby each other, the request was fulfilled with a smile. It's the way customer service should be!

Room Tip: Free use of canoes, kayaks and paddle boats in their lake and walking the grounds is the fitness. N...
See more room tips
Green Features: They also grow the herbs & produce used at their restaurant. 4 stars!
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Front Office Manager at Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
It is so great to hear these fine things from a pleased customer. I am glad we were able to accommodate you with closer lodging to your friends. We really are delighted when you are.
Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boulder
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I was one of 85 guests from across the country to attend a wedding at the Inn this weekend. We took over the lodge Friday night and had a live bluegrass band play. The breakfast buffet IS very satisfying (but it's not clear if gratuity should be left for the staff pouring juice and coffee - everything's included in the room rate? Y or N? Mention at check-in). On Saturday everyone seemed to take advantage of the outdoors through hikes, canoeing, paddle boating or lounging in one of their 3 hammocks. The wedding at 5pm in The Pines area was a perfect setting, with the sun just behind the trees. The party in the Grand Ole Hall was so much fun - cocktail hour on the deck, dinner and dancing in the hall. Those bartenders knew how to pour a good drink (if not in HUGE quantities - a pint of wine anyone??). It happened to be a full moon Saturday night, so after the after party we were able to walk up to the lake's dam/waterfall and hang out there under the stars. Perfection. Good times, great memories at Highland Lake Inn.
I stayed in the Lodge, which was very comfortable and it was fun knowing everyone else there was with the wedding too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wrmBoulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Front Office Manager at Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
It has been awhile since you have been here, but your really sweet praises are still warming our hearts. Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing report. We are so happy when we can delight our guests. Please come back soon and soak up more of that ambience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2013

My husband and I love this place! Beautiful natural setting and charming, comfortable rooms -- plus fabulous food at the Season's restaurant. Close to many attractions and Asheville, Highland Lake Inn is a great place to relax and kick back. We stayed in the Lodge, which is very economical, but has every comfort and includes a great breakfast. Though there are lots of good restaurants in the area, we ate at the Season's every night of our stay and were very happy we did. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Front Office Manager at Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
I don't think anyone can ever get enough of the wonderful dishes served at the Seasons. The resort offers so much to so many and we really appreciate your awesome words. Thanks for taking the time to express how much you enjoyed the place! But please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Iberia, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We absolutely love Highland Lake. We stayed in The Trillium which is one of the garden hamlet cottages. It was absolutely adorable. The grounds at Highland Lake are just gorgeous. And you simply can not beat the prices. If you are looking for an inexpensive and relaxing getaway, this is your place. The food at Season's Inn on the property is fantastic. We drive all the way from Louisiana to stay here. We are going back in about 6 weeks. We can not wait. We went in October whenever the leaves were changing. It was stunning. There is a lot to do in the area and we took full advantage.

Room Tip: If you are going as a couple, The Trillium is an excellent and inexpensive choice.
See more room tips
Green Features: We love that they have an organic garden on the grounds that services Season's Restaurant on the property.
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LorealM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Front Office Manager at Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
The employees and staff at Highland Lake Inn love this property as much as you do. It is such a pleasure to serve such wonderful guests. Thanks so much for taking the time to right such a glowing review. We really appreciate it, and by the way, when's your next trip??? We are waiting...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This is a wonderful resort, so wonderful that my wife and I have been coming back at least four times a year for about 4 years. Highland Lake Inn is in Flat rock NC and very near the Flat rock Theater. The theater has great plays and music events. The food at HLI is served in the Seasons Resturant and is prepared by a top notch staff. The service at the property is the BEST, they treat every guest like they are old friends and will do anything to make your visit memorable.
I suggest the Woodward House but I have stayed in every type of room on the property and I can tell you that you will find the property to be clean and quite. I would also recommend this property for any business meetings or large groups. One of the trade groups that I am a member of had a large meeting at HLI and the only thing I can say is that everyone left talking about a return trip to this location. The group enjoyed great food at every meal, great service for 4 days, productive meeting rooms and wonderful activities for their families. For me, this is a must see for everyone. You will experience a different kind of resort and you leave ready to tell others about it.

Room Tip: Every type of room is great. They have small cabins, a lodge, the Woodward House which is very large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeneRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim S, Guest Relations Manager at Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for the review of your stay with us. We hope that you will tell your family and friends about our gem here in the mountains of Western North Carolina. We look forward to seeing you again soon and hope that you will consider a return trip this summer.
Sincerely,
Kim Smith
Guest Services Manager
Highland Lake Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendota Heights, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Our five night stay in the cottages with a large family group was quite pleasurable. We all came in from 4 states to stay in two cottages at different times during the week and were welcomed by charming, comfortable and extremely clean sleeping, cooking and living areas. Nearby grocery stores were great but the food at the Inn's Seasons Restaurant drew us in several times. Wonderful walks/runs on the grounds, nearby hiking trails and a lovely residential area are a real plus to a mixed age group. The staff at the Inn are topnotch and accommodated our extended family perfectly. We are already planning our next family holiday and know we have found a gem!

Room Tip: One person in our group stayed in a duplex cabin and found them to be a bit noisy - TV sound carried...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOtto62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim S, Guest Relations Manager at Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review of our property. We are so happy that you and your family were able to connect here. We are host to many family reunions through out the year and hope that your family will make this a regular event. We wish you the best and hope to see you again in 2013.
Sincerely,
Kim Smith
Guest Services Manager
Highland Lake Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flat Rock
2.1 mi away
Mountain Lodge
Mountain Lodge
#3 of 5 in Flat Rock
321 reviews
0.9 mi away
CedarWood Inn
CedarWood Inn
#5 of 11 in Hendersonville
86 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
#1 of 11 in Hendersonville
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
3.9 mi away
The Cascades Mountain Resort
The Cascades Mountain Resort
#6 of 11 in Hendersonville
66 reviews
24.1 mi away
The Omni Grove Park Inn
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#11 of 65 in Asheville
5,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville

Property: Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
Address: 86 Lily Pad Ln, Flat Rock, NC 28731-9507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Flat Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Flat Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the early 1900s-when a group of visionary gentleman from the South Carolina low-country founded Highland Lake Club-the land that now comprises Highland Lake Inn & Resort has been attracting visitors looking for rest, relaxation and recreation. Set amid 26 scenic wooded lakeside acres in Western North Carolina, perhaps no other destination in Western North Carolina combines an authentic mountain experience with such an array of amenities and services. Each season offers guests something special, something unique, which beckons exploration. Our guests enjoy full access to our on-site amenities that will satisfy or exceed the expectations your family, group, or significant other. We pride ourselves on a unique brand of service-that's both anticipatory and responsive-to make sure you and your company enjoy everything we have to offer. Our amenities include dining at our award-winning Season's Restaurant; exploring our 26 wooded-acres either on foot or riding our complimentary bikes; discovering the 40-acre lake by fishing from the dock (catch-and-release) or boating using our complimentary canoes, kayaks and paddleboats; staying outdoors enjoying our swimming pool (Memorial Day - Labor Day), volleyball, tennis, horseshoes and badminton; heading inside to our family game room for pool, ping pong and foosball; or, relaxing with an in-room massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Lake Hotel Flat Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing