We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”

Season's at Highland Lake
Ranked #1 of 27 Restaurants in Flat Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Highland Lake Road
Description: WELCOME TO SEASON'S Fresh Local Ingredients. Inspired World Cuisine.Though easily accessible-just past the city limits of downtown Hendersonville-Season's at Highland Lake gives diners a premier culinary experience that is worlds away from the hustle and bustle of city life. Entertaining guests year-round for breakfast, lunch and dinner, our restaurant is indeed, as varied, rich and enticing as the four distinct seasons from which its name is derived. Diners will experience a fresh cornucopia of seasonal herbs, vegetables, and edible flowers hand-picked in our onsite organic garden. All served to you in a presentation that is vibrant, eclectic and imaginative-not to mention savory. Once you dine with us, you'll see why we have become one of the most sought-after, and celebrated dining experiences in all of Western North Carolina.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Couldn't find anything on the negative side. Great atmosphere, pleasant surroundings, unobtrusive service, excellent food, fabulous wine selection. An hour and a half ride from our home and we will be back again and again. A great special occasion restaurant. Our waiter, Patrick, was a delight. If you are anywhere close, don't miss this one.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Charlotte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfassbender, General Manager at Season's at Highland Lake, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

We are so pleased that your long drive was worthwhile! Service, food and ambiance are the cornerstone of what we do...and we are so delighted that your experience makes you look forward to returning!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (435)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

260 - 264 of 435 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were 11 people, our waitress was very friendly and helpful
food was very good, desserts excellent
the setting is very pretty and relaxing

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank julieccr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfassbender, General Manager at Season's at Highland Lake, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

We are so pleased that your group enjoyed their visit to Season's at Highland Lake! Food, service and ambiance all combine to make a dining experience extra special and we are happy that you enjoyed all three! Please come visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Seasons is a fine restaurant that is part of the century-old Highland Inn - though in its current reincarnation it is about 30 yrs old as a lodge with cottages open to the public. We stopped there for an early dinner after a matinee at the Flat Rock Playhouse. A little pricey but I highly recommend it if you are in the area. Seasons is lovely-rustic, the grounds are mountain-beautiful. Service was perfect. We started with artichoke bisque. For an entree I had halibut over farotto and wilted spinach, with drizzled pea puree and carrot sauce. Presentation was excellent - a beautiful flavorful dish though the halibut was a little dry. She had ricotta and spinach ravioli with cauliflower turmeric sauce, also beautiful, though she thought a bit bitter for her taste. Still, definitely worth a return visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FrankinSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfassbender, General Manager at Season's at Highland Lake, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2014

We are delighted that you combined a visit to the Flat Rock Playhouse with an early dinner at Season's at Highland Lake. Only about five minutes from the Mainstage Playhouse, we are a perfect choice when making plans for lunch, dinner or dessert around your play visit. We are pleased that you enjoyed the service and food...our goal is to provide an exceptional value for the dollar. Come back to see us very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Recently dined at Season's during a mother/daughters' getaway!!! The fresh herbs, vegetables and perfectly cooked tenderloin were better than I have had anywhere! Our server was very professional, knowledgeable and efficient! The ambience of the restaurant complimented our meal and we wanted stay forever! Don't miss the opportunity to dine here - a marvelous experience!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank doemoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfassbender, General Manager at Season's at Highland Lake, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

A Mother/Daughter getaway is a very special occasion...and the fact that dining here was such a pleasant experience for you makes us very happy! We hope that you will visit again soon...our menus change with the seasons, making any time a perfect time to visit and try new things!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here on a friend's recommendation. We weren't disappointed. The menu was creative and not overwhelming. I had the lunch special - a roasted pork loin on a whole grain ciabatta with a mango ginger salsa and alfalfa sprouts and I think a garlic mustard aoli. The pork was tender and tasty as was the ciabatta. Maybe there was a little too much with salsa, sprouts and aoli. Also I don't care for "seasoned" fries. And these fries could have been served on their own merit with a sprinkle of salt. My partner was very happy with her Cobb salad. The deviled egg appetizer was tasty with a hint of curry. I prefer my deviled mixture a little creamier. Service was friendly, helpful and timely. The setting was very nice but a little worn.

Thank Mountaineer4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfassbender, General Manager at Season's at Highland Lake, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

We are so pleased that you came to Season's on a friend's recommendation and that you enjoyed your lunch with us. We hope that you will return to us again and again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Season's at Highland Lake also viewed

Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Flat Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 
Flat Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Season's at Highland Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing