We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some of the best barbecue ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hubba Hubba Smokehouse

Hubba Hubba Smokehouse
Ranked #1 of 24 Restaurants in Flat Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We honor the rich Carolina BBQ tradition of low & slow but unlike many pits you won't find any Bubbas here. Though there is often confusion with our name, our pitmaster Starr Teel and Lindsay Cromartie in the kitchen are both classically trained chefs. So remember, we're not Hubba Bubba. We're Hubba Hubba as in "Mmmm! Look at that brisket. HUBBA HUBBA!" Our menu features scratch made sauces and classic sides as well as unique seasonal sandwiches, soup, salad and even fish and shrimp on Fridays and Saturdays. And we're ready for anything you can dream up so remember us for catering. For catering, phone: 702-1301 Hubba Hubba Smokehouse is a great gathering place. It's an informal place to bring a client for lunch, take a break from a busy day and a choice location for entertaining friends old and new at a catered event or let us cater an event at your location. We are open mid-March to the Saturday before Christmas. Check our website for hours and open dates.
Canton, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Some of the best barbecue ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2014

If you are a barbecue lover, or even if you've never tried southern barbecue, try Hubba Hubba! We are from Geaorgia and this was some of the best we've ever had. Fun,rustic, outdoorsy atmosphere. Full varied menu. everything was fresh and delicious. Great place for families of all ages. If you are staying in Flat Rock or nearby Hendersonville, don't miss it!

  • Visited September 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    87
    15
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eatonton, Georgia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Unexpected Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

A little hard to find, but once we found it, so pleased that we did. Great barbecue in the mountains of North Carolina. It will become one of "Must Stops" when visiting in the area. How good was it? We ordered takeout of ribs and chicken to take back for dinner that evening.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Georgiadawg70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flat Rock, North Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very popular - Food is delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Nice local flavor here with great BBQ and other inspired creations (fish tacos and grilled cheese are particular favorites). You do site outside with some covered tables. Make sure to bring cash, they don't take cards of any kind. There is an ATM there if you forget cash. Dog friendly. Be aware they close at 7p.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Notall_Business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dacula
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun, casual and delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

Hubba Hubba BBQ is the kind of place that you must look for carefully or you'll miss it. We went on a Saturday evening. You can eat inside or outside and the food is wonderful. We had a pulled pork plate - the meat was tender and not at all dry. We chose the South Carolina Sweet BBQ sauce and the Mustard Sauce - both were excellent. Since it was not too warm, we ate outside and enjoyed watching the chickens pecking at bits of crumbs and helping to clean up the dining area - a unique experience. We felt the prices were extremely reasonable for the quality of the food. Obviously it's not a "find dining" experience, but if you like great BBQ and a unique setting, this is for you.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mr S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
72 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Perfect Title for this barbecue Hubba Hubba!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

This is a yummy barbecue place because they really smoke their meat. It's also a very cute place to eat with flowers and metal sculptures of chickens. Huge one on the roof where the smoke comes out.

A few chickens wandering among the tables. Have an outdoor fireplace at one end. Eating is outside under umbrellas or big overhang. They have a box of chalk and children can draw all over the pavement.

Don't miss it. They make all their own barbecue sauces.

Helpful?
Thank AlwaysShopping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hubba Hubba Smokehouse also viewed

Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Flat Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 
Flat Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Hubba Hubba Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing