We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Liked everything about it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hubba Hubba Smokehouse

Hubba Hubba Smokehouse
Ranked #1 of 24 Restaurants in Flat Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We honor the rich Carolina BBQ tradition of low & slow but unlike many pits you won't find any Bubbas here. Though there is often confusion with our name, our pitmaster Starr Teel and Lindsay Cromartie in the kitchen are both classically trained chefs. So remember, we're not Hubba Bubba. We're Hubba Hubba as in "Mmmm! Look at that brisket. HUBBA HUBBA!" Our menu features scratch made sauces and classic sides as well as unique seasonal sandwiches, soup, salad and even fish and shrimp on Fridays and Saturdays. And we're ready for anything you can dream up so remember us for catering. For catering, phone: 702-1301 Hubba Hubba Smokehouse is a great gathering place. It's an informal place to bring a client for lunch, take a break from a busy day and a choice location for entertaining friends old and new at a catered event or let us cater an event at your location. We are open mid-March to the Saturday before Christmas. Check our website for hours and open dates.
dekalb,il
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Liked everything about it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

The food was excellent! Pulled pork was delicious even without sauce and the baked beans were like home-made. The ribs and pickled eggs were very tasty. The setting is very cool, and we even had entertainment when a guinea fowl startled my companion wandering around. He had never seen one.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank reidsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    87
    15
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good pit-stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

If you're a BBQ fan, this place is great. They have indoor and outdoor seating, sidewalk chalk for the kiddos, and a wood-fired pit. I could definitely taste the difference between that and commercial smokers.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank plackstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Always a favorite!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

I look forward to the opening of Hubba Hubba every spring. And they have some new menu items that are delicious. One of my new favorites is this perfectly grilled pimento cheese sandwich, with a little kick. If you really want to be decadent, order it with smoked chicken. Amazing! Of course their barbecue and brisket is always wonderful, but if you like fish and you’re there on a weekend, ask for the fish tacos or salmon bowl. Yum!!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lynnhuffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, Washington
Level Contributor
89 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Tad hard to find but really worth the effort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

Look for Flat Rock, NC's "rainbow row" with the pastel colored shops, and then the signs to the parking area below them....follow your nose Hubba Hubba's ordering window. The menu board lists the many food options and they are all very very good. Portion size is very generous and the price is reasonable but they accept only cash or checks. An ATM machine in onsite if you are running a little low. The seating is outdoor with most under cover and some with quartz heaters for late fall and winter dinning. Don't let the order line scare you away because it's always worth the few extra minutes and you will likely strike up an interesting conversations with the locals. After your meal you can walk it of in the interesting "rainbow row" shops. Watch the interesting and beautiful chickens walking around while you enjoy your meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Real Food for Real People”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

We are fortunate to live near Flat Rock where we know we can always find good barbecue at Hubba Hubba. We love to cook, but we work. We can stop in a pick up dinner on the way back from a job. The menu is not just barbecue. There is enough variety to please even vegetarians who come to our table. Okra, hoppin' john and cole slaw with cornbread IS A MEAL. We like the food so much we hired them to do craft services for a television series we are shooting for PBS. Kristin brought us great food each day to remote locations and provided super service. I'm hungry now just writing about it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Will M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hubba Hubba Smokehouse also viewed

Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Flat Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 
Flat Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Flat Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Hubba Hubba Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing