We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice surprise”
Review of Mill House Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mill House Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2013

had a very nice stay there. I would like to go back again. overlooking the lake and listening to the water go over the dam was so very peaceful. the lodge is very convenient to town, attractions and shopping.

Room Tip: overlooking the lake and the dam was wonderful. so peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank freckles0509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MyMHL, Owner at Mill House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you for your recent stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and the sites and activities around the area. Relaxing by the lake, listening to the water cascading over the water fall is an enjoyable way to spend a few hours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 120 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

Mill House Lodge was the perfect place for a family reunion! While activities actually on site (there was swimming, boating, etc) were not in great abundance, the surrounding area had a wide variety of things to do. Members of our group ranged in age from 7 to 87 and we all found plenty to do during the day. Bob (one of the owners) gave us the name(s) of caterers and we had two evening dinners brought in to the community room. After dinner we played cards, visited, played other board games and worked on jigsaw puzzles which were available to use in the community room. Each family had their own "cabin" which allowed for the different sleeping patterns of the various aged groups. The only downside to the whole experience was the wireless internet connection was VERY slow but then very few of us had a NEED to be on the internet.

There is a great grocery store (Ingles) not far away which had anything from sundries to regular grocery items to prepared food and a terrific salad bar as well as a good wine selection and video store.

I would recommend Mill House Lodge!!! Most of the family want a repeat vacation there! :-)

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank KatyD41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MyMHL, Owner at Mill House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you for your recent visit. We are fortunate to host approximately 30 to 35 family reunions/group outings each year. Many like the fact that the buildings are within walking distance from one another and that each family has its own sleeping accommodations. The meeting room does serve as a nice gathering spot to catch up on each other's life events.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at this property several times over the years and find things to be fairly predictable. I think that most of the reviews are indeed accurate depending on what one's expectations are. All in all, the good outweighs the bad thus our multiple stays.

The good: The grounds are remarkable for this price point. The owners have invested heavily into the dam and lake and it certainly shows. This makes one feel that they are deep into the mountains rather than a 2 minute trip to very nice dining and shopping. The views from most of the rooms are truly special. A little fishing, canoeing, etc. on the lake is not what you will find everywhere.Do not forget about spacious pool and grills located throughout the property. I give them an A+ for their efforts to provide things of interest to anyone who enjoys the outside.

The lodge is located just minutes from great grocery stores (Fresh Market), shopping (Downtown), restaurants, golfing (ask Bob), and attractions ( Flat Rock Playhouse, Carl Sanburg's house,Jump off rock, Pisgah National Forest, Biltmore).

I would be remiss for not mentioning the staff. Will (the caretaker) is a very warm and helpful gentleman. We have seen him for years and he has never failed to make us feel like family. The ladies at the desk have always been very polite and generous with their time.

The bad: The interior can look dated and worn as others have described. Personally, I do not see the big deal as everything is functional and comfortable. The dated decor sort of adds to the charm of an old "lodge". I do think that they could do a better job with their standards of cleanliness. It appears that the cleaning is superficial and that Spring cleaning could be done a bit more often.

Overall we have enjoyed our stays and will return.

Room Tip: Ask to make sure a view of the lake is possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sctravelers38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MyMHL, Owner at Mill House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

We do thank you for your many visits to the Mill House Lodge. There are many activities for visitors to enjoy will visiting or they can just relax by the lake.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is an updated hotel from years ago. I have my misgivings from reading some of the reviews;but, everything was ok. The room was a little musty, but the bed was very comfortable. I would definitely stay here again. The weather was horrible , so we didn't get to enjoy the lake. There is a larger lake across the street with walking trail and the lodge is within easy walking to the Flat Rock bakery and Hubba Bubba BBQ. Flat Rock play house could also be walked to as well

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Wythe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MyMHL, Owner at Mill House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

We do thank you for your recent stay with us. It would have been nice to have better weather as the weekends have been rainy for most of the summer. We are glad that you did enjoy some of the local sites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I would rate in negative numbers if possible!!!
I called the lodge the day after making the reservation online through booking.com, to make sure we had a King bed (booked for 2 nights Fri & Sat July 5th & 6th). I was told we would be in unit 502. I was able to go online and view pics of that unit & was impressed. Actually all of the photos on all sites showed very nice rooms. BUT, when we checked in we were given unit 221, I asked why we were not in the room I was told we would be in & the response was "I don't know why they moved you, maybe there was a plumbing problem or something". I asked if we still had a 1 bedroom suite with a King bed & was told yes so we figured it would be comparable.Well, we could not believe the room we were put in, it smelled of urine & mildew, we went to the store & bought Febreeze with 2x power & it barely made a difference. The 2 chairs in the "suite"were so gross we wouldn't
sit on them, the loveseat was OK but not all that clean, the kitchen towels, pot holders & utensils were not clean, the shower head was coming out of a hole in the wall & had a lot of mineral deposit buildup on it, the tub had old strips on the floor with black stains which I would think are probably mold/mildew.
We stayed that 1st night & left the next day. The only positive thing I can say is that the bed was very firm, it seemed to be clean & was not uncomfortable, BUT for $109 per night plus tax the entire weekend was a rip off. It was a rainy weekend & it would have been great to be able to cook in, lounge comfortably etc. but it was impossible to do so in that nastiness.
It also appeared that there were guests staying in the room we were originally supposed to be in.
We would never recommend this dump.
The website makes it seem quaint & out of town, it may be a private lake but it is not a real "getaway" location, it is in town.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank nua6305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MyMHL, Owner at Mill House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

We do thank you for your past visit. Our records do show that you booked a 1 bedroom suite through Booking.com, they don't show that we received a phone call discussing the accommodations prior to your arrival. Suite 502 was booked prior to your reservation through our website thus it was not available for your use.
The black strips that you mentioned were anti-skid strips to prevent guests from slipping in the wet tub, they were not mold/mildew.
Our lodge is located in a neighborhood in the Village of Flat Rock, 3 miles from the town of Hendersonville. We do have 7 buildings that surround our private lake.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Room was ok, nothing to boost about. Clean and served its purpose 4 a weekend stay. The lake was nice treat to canoe and paddleboat. The pool was great to cool off and relax. Staff was friendly and helpful. The room had a/c unit but when I cut it off there was still some other unknown unit going on and off (cool air coming from vents in the ceiling) that kept the room cold. I am cold natured so being cold is not fun. We dealt with it and wrapped up at night. Not a big deal as we were in and out mostly enjoying the area and sights.

Room Tip: Call to confirm the room details that you see online for the room you want to book. I booked a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Demone00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MyMHL, Owner at Mill House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

We're glad that you enjoyed your weekend getaway. The pool and lake do help relax after a busy day sight seeing and hiking. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We just returned to Orlando from a 3-night stay at the Mill House Lodge and will return again in the fall. We stayed in the executive suite in the Jordan Lodge and were extremely impressed with the cleanliness of the suite and the attention to detail given by the owner (Bob) and his staff. The location is absolutely gorgeous and immaculately maintained. The property surrounds a beautiful lake (paddleboats and canoes on the beach) with a waterfall that at one time powered a stone mill. The experience was quiet, relaxing and peaceful. Take it from a couple of Orlando natives—if you seek a calming getaway in the mountains of North Carolina, and you are willing to put up with birds chirping every morning and every evening, and you can handle the soothing sound of a nearby waterfall—and you don’t mind watching fire flies at dusk—this is the place for you!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rwotherspoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MyMHL, Owner at Mill House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you for your recent visit to the Mill House Lodge and Flat Rock/Hendersonville area. Many guests arrive planning to do a number of different activities and find themselves just relaxing by the lake; either reading a book, fishing or paddling the canoe slowly around the lake. The birds and fire flies to add a nice touch to anyone's visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flat Rock
0.8 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
1.5 mi away
CedarWood Inn
CedarWood Inn
#2 of 11 in Hendersonville
107 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mountain Lodge
Mountain Lodge
#3 of 6 in Flat Rock
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Ramada Hendersonville
Ramada Hendersonville
#5 of 11 in Hendersonville
678 reviews
4.6 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 11 in Hendersonville
76 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
#1 of 11 in Hendersonville
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill House Lodge

Address: 1150 W Blue Ridge Rd, Flat Rock, NC 28731-9707
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Flat Rock
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Flat Rock
Price Range: $95 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill House Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our tranquil lake setting is a haven for those seeking lodging in a casual, family resort atmosphere with the unhurried pace of a mountain retreat. A perfect place for honeymoons, anniversaries, family reunions, small group meetings or a quiet restorative getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Mill House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing