We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, almost rustic”
Review of Mill House Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mill House Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We spent two nights in room 101. I chose this "apartment" because of the description of the water falling over the dam at night. I love the beach, but it was too far for us to travel for just two nights. We did, indeed listen to the water all night long. It wasn't the same as the flowing of the ocean, but calming, nonetheless. The apartment isn't modern, but that wasn't what we were looking for. It was clean and comfortable. It was just far enough away that we were out of town, but close enough that we can go back to the local restaurants we tried. Incidentally, we were able to try several restaurants that offered discounts for just showing our room key. Nice. The little lake at the lodge was just right to canoe around and we spent some time doing just that. The price at the lodge is reasonable considering what a lot of places charge for just a room. We had a full kitchen with all of the cookware and dishes supplied to us. (Just like what we look for at the beach) I'd gladly stay here again for a night or two away from the norm of our hectic life.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carpetmanswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MyMHL, Owner at Mill House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for spending some time with us. Suite 101 is our most popular because of the waterfall. Since, we don't have a restaurant onsite, we're glad that we could team up with some local restaurants for discounted meals. We do look forward to your visit in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
There are newer reviews for Mill House Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 117 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2013

Price is hard to beat. On a small, charming lake with a dam/waterfall with well kept grounds. Small wooden pier was home to a solitary guitar and harmonica player on the weekend. Our room was a little worn and bruised but clean. Only dissapointment was the mattress was not very comfortable. Service desk available during regular business hours.
Almost within walking distance is the Wrinkled Egg, Hubba Hubba and Dean's Deli as well as a great wine shop called Just Vino. Donwtown Hendersonville is less than 10 minutes away.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank straightboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MyMHL, Owner at Mill House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you for staying with us recently. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Lodge and had time to sit by the lake and relax. The local shops are definitely a treat for visitors as well as locals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Nothing what we were expecting! We stayed in the Jordan Lodge.The place is very clean and very quiet! Yes the decor is old but it gives it a very lodge feel. We loved the porch and the view of the lake! The place also had a full kitchen, big king size bed,and a pull out bed in the couch.It is literally a 5-7 minute drive to downtown Hendersonville, where there all sorts of wonderful shops and great dining! It is also walking distance to the Flat Rock Village Bakery, great breakfast place! Coffees,hot tea, hot chocolate, fresh baked pastries! SO GOOD! This is wonderful place to stay for a great getaway and for a great price!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrscdailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MyMHL, Owner at Mill House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

We're glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and partook of the restaurants and shopping in the area. There is quite a bit to do in the area. The Bakery is a great place to start the day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed a nice night at the charming rustic room overlooking the beautiful pond. A great place to stay. We had fun canoeing and relaxing. Nice front porches and clean rooms. Room for four + in each suite. Had breakfast at Mikes downtown Hendersonville.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlottecouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MyMHL, Owner at Mill House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you for visiting the Lodge. Many guests enjoy their time canoeing on the pond, a few even try their hand at fishing. The porches are a great spot to review the day's activities and make plans for the next. Many just enjoy watching the sun disappear in the evening.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

About a year later I've again stayed at the Mill House Inn, this time with another daughter (sharing room 103, which offers two bedrooms, a living room, and a kitchen area for around $125). The rooms were clean, comfy, and quiet except for the very welcome sound of water flowing from the mill pond through th race outside the bedroom windows. We really like the place--it has a good feel about it--and find the people who operate (own?) the place very pleasant and easy to deal with.

For dinner I recommend Mona Lisa of Hendersonville (785 N Church St--828-696-7858) for very tasty yet unpretentious Italian food...and wine!...at a very reasonable price. Another place that just has a good feeling about it...welcoming, personal, authentic.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ejhArlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MyMHL, Owner at Mill House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you for your recent visit and indeed the sound of the water cascading over the dam helps many drift off to sleep in the evening. Great selections on your choice of restaurants!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The staff was great, but the place was nothing like the picture on their website. I would recommend you stay here, but I think the place needs some updating. Our room smelt like a nursing home, but that was something that could be fixed with air freshener. Overall the experience was great.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tasha291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MyMHL, Owner at Mill House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Thank you for your recent stay with us. I do hope that while you visited that you were able to enjoy the pool and canoe or paddle boat on the lake.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I wouldn't even rate this place as a 1 but I had to to be able to tell everyone the truth here. This place is FUNKY! Yes, the place is way out dated, dirty! stinky! We were lied to about the room beside us, it smelled like someone had died in there and the smell leaked over to the already very bad dog and cat urine smells, in the no curtain, dirty blinds, worn stained carpet, wore out dirty bed, room we paid to stay in. Brought this to the owner's attention and was asked if we wanted to stay in a bigger stinky worn out very badly setting room up the weak worn stairs. We paid for 4 nights, by the 3rd morning we packed up and left without even asking for a refund! It was that bad! Do your self a favor and save your misery, stay else where. Also had the "Do not disturb" sign on the door when we went away and seen that someone had came into the room anyway just to change towels, no sheet change, no soap in the room, I could go on forever about this dump! This place isn't clean enough for an animal! So disappointed in the Mill House Lodge! Never will return...it ruined our whole vacation! I slept with a t-shirt over my face to cover some of the smells AND bought some carpet fresh trying to cover the smell in BOTH rooms! Thanks a lot Mill House Lodge!!!!

Room Tip: Personally I wouldn't stay there.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WayneMercier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MyMHL, Owner at Mill House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

We are sorry to see that your stay with us did not rate as well as last year's. After you moved and said that the room was fine, we really didn't see you or your wife nor did we hear from you. I have enjoyed the photos on Facebook of the many activities that you and your wife did while visiting the Flat Rock/Hendersonville area. I hope that others who read this will read some reviews by our other guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flat Rock
0.8 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
1.5 mi away
CedarWood Inn
CedarWood Inn
#3 of 11 in Hendersonville
95 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mountain Lodge
Mountain Lodge
#3 of 5 in Flat Rock
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Ramada Hendersonville
Ramada Hendersonville
#5 of 11 in Hendersonville
647 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Cascades Mountain Resort
The Cascades Mountain Resort
#6 of 11 in Hendersonville
75 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
#1 of 11 in Hendersonville
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill House Lodge

Address: 1150 W Blue Ridge Rd, Flat Rock, NC 28731-9707
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Flat Rock
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Flat Rock
Price Range: $95 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill House Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our tranquil lake setting is a haven for those seeking lodging in a casual, family resort atmosphere with the unhurried pace of a mountain retreat. A perfect place for honeymoons, anniversaries, family reunions, small group meetings or a quiet restorative getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mill House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing