We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family trip”
Review of Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mountain Lodge
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Flat Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
“family trip”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We enjoyed our trip to the mountains and stay at Mountain Lodge. The room was clean and spacious. There was a refridgerator, so we could store food, etc in there. The kids enjoyed their pool and we took a walk along the trails in the back. The back scenery with the waterfall and trees was beautiful. The location was within easy driving distance to many area attractions, but there wasn't much of a view of the mountains.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    63
    15
    5
    12
See reviews for
116
93
14
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 15, 2013

My wife and I have been guests at the Mountain Lodge for several nights recently because of the declining health of my mother-in-law and we can't express the genuine concern and care that all of the staff have provided to us all. We are especially grateful to Scott and Cheryl for the compassion and friendliness that they have provided. The accommodations have been more than acceptable and we consider this an excellent value. The proximity to the Four Seasons - Elizabeth House Hospice also made this a great choice for us to stay.

Room Tip: They have a broad selection of room types and sizes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Traveled on business to the area and stayed at the Mountain Lodge. Upon check in I met Scott who was very friendly and asked that he be called upon if anything was needed. At breakfast the next morning Scott went to each table and asked about each person's stay at the hotel and thanked me for choosing the Mountain Lodge for my stay. Rooms were very clean and well decorated and I found the hotel to be very inviting. I plan on making this my choice of hotel when I am in the area.

Room Tip: Stay in the rooms overlooking the waterfall/ common area. Very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nc
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Everything I could ever expect from an inn and lodge was excellent at this facility. In addition however I wish to compliment the staff especially Scott who showed friendliness hospitality and making my stay as comfortable as possible. As a psychologist who does workshops on customer satisfaction and customer service the staff here had a uplifting attitude at all times, was very courteous, indicated to my every need. I would recommend them highly when it comes to customer service. In addition after leaving the hotel and finding that I was missing one small item which I left in the bathroom Scott retrieve it and told me not to worry and that he would have it mailed to me . Two days later I received it at my home. That's what I call customer satisfaction at its highest level in addition to all of the excellent customer service I received during my weekend stay. I recommend this place with the utmost confidence and highest rating.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Botche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed here this past weekend. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, accommodating, or pleasant. We were part of a large group and they all went out of their way to make us comfortable and to be able to spend time together as a group. The room and common areas were very clean and breakfast was quite good. We'd recommend Mountain Lodge to anyone and would stay again next time in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbeville, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on 10/25 and 10/26. I gave this hotel a two star rating as the look and overall cleanliness is pretty good as well as some of the staff was friendly. That is where it stops! Upon check-in into our King Suite we noticed the light by the bed did not work. When we left for the evening we notified the front desk and it was fixed upon our return. As we settled in we found the security bar was missing from the door so we only had the deadbolt on the door for security. (an uneasy feeling) Next we noticed the fire alarm was missing from the ceiling in the bedroom and the bare wires were hanging there. (not only a security issue but I think this is also a code issue) When we advised the front desk we were unable to move as they were full. The next day we asked for a roll-away bed for our son and the younger front desk woman was very rude and just laughed at us and told us ' we don't have roll-away beds and we never have' and she walked away from me. Didn't try to offer a solution or suggestion. We were out all day when housekeeping came in but they did not to give us cups nor new soaps or lotions.The following day we were running late for check out and we received a call from this same very rude front desk woman telling us we needed to leave or stay. We checked out 30 minutes late and when I confronted the front desk clerk (different one) I was told check out was at 11 and we needed to get out. I mentioned that we just spent over $300 at this hotel and I hoped they would would a little nicer. She didn't have a reply other than ' we hope you come back to us again'. I only could laugh at that. As mentioned in other reviews the walls are thin and you can her people in the hall and walking above. What bothers me the most is the lack of concern for the safety of their guests with missing locks and no fire alarms. We would not stay here again nor recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djlaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed there 10/25/2013 and we were on the 2nd floor next to the stairs-DO NOT DO THAT-You can hear everything in the lobby and dining area, also the walls are paper thin so you can hear people walking and moving things around. I was so exhausted the next day I did not enjoy myself. My husband is pretty good sleeper but the activities disturbed his sleep. No recommendation to others from us nor will we stay there.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 3rd floor so you do not have anyone on top of you because you can here everythi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LowboyCub F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flat Rock
0.1 mi away
Mountain Inn & Suites
Mountain Inn & Suites
#2 of 5 in Flat Rock
285 reviews
2.1 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
2.5 mi away
CedarWood Inn
CedarWood Inn
#3 of 11 in Hendersonville
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
#1 of 11 in Hendersonville
749 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Cascades Mountain Resort
The Cascades Mountain Resort
#6 of 11 in Hendersonville
71 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Hendersonville Inn
Best Western Hendersonville Inn
#2 of 11 in Hendersonville
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Lodge

Property: Mountain Lodge
Address: 42 McMurray Rd, Flat Rock, NC 28731-5810
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Flat Rock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Flat Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authentic ALL-SUITE Mountain Lodge nestled in the heart of the Blue Ridge Mountains and convenient to Asheville, Historic Hendersonville and I26. The perfect place for affordable vacations, weekend getaways, reunions, retreats and honeymoons. You and your family will enjoy quality time together and the montage of local activities and attractions including; Biltmore Estate, Blue Ridge Parkway, Chimney Rock State Park, Dupont & Pisgah National Forests, NC Arboretum, Flat Rock Playhouse, Apple Valley and the world famous downtowns of Hendersonville and Asheville! Western NC's only ALL-SUITE Lodge with luxurious "Suite Sleep" bedding. In addition, you will enjoy the sounds from our waterfall, relax in our indoor pool, or play a board game in our library. Award winning in house chef, nature trail, s'mores bonfire, waterfall courtyard, fitness & business center, basketball & more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Hotel Flat Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing