We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What happened?” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mountain Lodge
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Flat Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What happened?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

We had stayed here so many times and wrote great reviews in the past, but they just lost one of their best fans! I'm not sure if the management changed, but the attitude sure has changed! We asked for a quiet room so they found us the noisiest room! We couldn't sleep day or night for the noise! We took our son there to see if they might want to consider having their wedding there, glad we didn't make that mistake! There is too much competition near you to forget how to treat your customers!!

Room Tip: The hotel next door would be better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank G K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    62
    15
    5
    10
See reviews for
111
93
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Erwin, Tennessee
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed here 3 nights in August and enjoyed it. We had our 2 small dogs with us and there were other dogs there as well. It was very comfortable and the staff very friendly. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detriot
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We were on our way to pigeon forge and I decided that I would stop for the night. I had stayed at the mountain inn and ha never stayed at the lodge right next to it. Spent about $109.00 for the suite. The room had a kitchen and all the other basic amenities. The key Jewell of the place was the water fall in the courtyard out back. Will
Denfinatley return on future trips.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We were in town for one night to visit my parents so my Mom booked this place for us. Had not had much time to review online but it was great!! So warm and welcoming when you step into lobby. Rooms were so nice and cozy. Continental breakfast is included. The breakfast burritos were awesome! Check in and check out were quick and pleasant. Scott is wonderful!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ConcordFamilyof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, North Carolina
Level Contributor
379 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We arrived early,as we had tickets to the Sunday afternoon performance of Les Mis at the FR Playhouse,and hoped to check-in early. When I explained why we hoped to arrive early, Cheryl took our cell # and called as soon as our room was available--and she did @ 12:15--plenty of time to unload and make the 2PM show. Cheryl and Scott were both friendly and helpful with suggestions, including Mona Lisa's for dinner, Jump-off rock for the view of 4 states, and the Carl Sandburg home and gardens. The room was large with a big chair, nice work desk(although no where to plug in electronics), full kitchen including micro zap and 2 burner cooktop. Bathroom was good size and clean, beds were comfortable, free wifi was a little slow,but useful,and breakfast,while not as expansive as some of the big hotel chain offerings,still had good variety and was well stocked and kept clean. My wife used the small pool,but didn't last long when some small children arrived. However,she moved to the lovely courtyard outback facing a small waterfall in one corner. It sits jut off I-26 but there was no traffic noise that i noticed. It's about 3 miles up the Interstate to Hendersonville, and Flat Rock commercial is about 1-2 miles away. Overall, nice peaceful facility,with a good staff to take care of you. Would definitely return when in the area.

Room Tip: To insure quiet,get a top floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kingfather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I was at this hotel for almost 2 weeks in July of this year, 2013. (8-19)
the pictures on their website were inviting, and the LODGE lived up and beyond.
the facility presents a sort of rustic, down home look, .....but don't be fooled.....it is a modern and well appointed hotel.

EVERYONE I dealt with, from SCOTT to Cheryl to Yuri to Bonnee to Fide (and any i forgot) was
helpful and pleasant, but not overbearing,
I really enjoyed my stay, and I could see a repeat visit if the circumstances presented themselves

Room Tip: I only stayed in the one room, but they looked good from what I was able to see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindarussak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
107 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We checked in yesterday evening with a groupon, a headache, and 700 miles behind us. I just wanted to have our hotel experience go smoothly. Unfortunately, it was filled with non working phones and wifi, a less than ideal bed situation, a musty smell and a front desk clerk who did not have an attitude for service.

When we got to our room we found we'd been checked into a room with 2 doubles. Had we known the groupon was for this room only, we would've paid to upgrade when we made our reservation. Since the phone in our room wasn't working, we walked down to talk with Bonnie (brown hair) at the front desk, who had politely checked us in but she appeared harried and very busy.

When she was able to speak with us, we explained that we'd prefer to be in a king and that we were surprised to have been checked into a double. We also mentioned the phone being out. She testily explained that the phone was out because it wasn't plugged in. Thanks, hadn't checked that. King rooms were sold out, and the groupons didn't cover that anyways. An apology and a smile, that could've been the end of the conversation. Instead, Bonnie said pedantically, "next time, read your groupon." No apologies seemed forthcoming.

Returning to our room, the groupon didn't expressly say double rooms only. You would've had to click through to the website to discover that. I'll take that complaint up with groupon.

We tried to get on the wifi. That didn't work either. At this point, I felt so unwelcome that I didn't feel I could ask Bonnie for her help with solving any of these issues. I was worried she might ask me if I'd reset the router and all of my devices as well. We gave up and called the nearest Hampton inn.

We then gathered our suitcases and headed back downstairs. I handed the key to Bonnie and said, "I'd like to check out please. I feel very unwelcome and would like to leave." At which point Bonnie proceeded to berate me. I was rude, I hadn't given her enough time to fix the phone, I was a horrible person.

I wasn't caught off guard, just wanted to leave, seemed like Bonnie and I had both had really long days.

But I did ask if my Amex would be charged for the taxes. She said she had to escalate the situation to her manager who wasn't present at the time. When I asked if the phone number she had on file was correct, because my name had been butchered by the guy who took our reservation four months ago, it was like I'd pushed some secret anger button. She said,"did I take your reservation? Then don't get mad at me." Well, I was mad at her for berating me, not for spelling my name wrong. Then, in a singsong insulting tone, she read back my phone number, which was also incorrect. I asked for a postit to write down the correct number. She threw a pen and post it across the front desk at me. I wrote my number down and high tailed it before she threw something more lethal across the desk.

In all my travels, I've never seen a situation Ike this, which would've been easily fixed with an apology, a smile, and an offer to check out the phone, escalate into post it throwing. Fellow tripadvisors, I'm so glad you didn't experience the wrath of Bonnie, and I'm jealous of your wonderful experiences here. Wish I could've said the same.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank wmk191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flat Rock
2.0 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
8.5 mi away
Mountain Inn & Suites Airport
Mountain Inn & Suites Airport
#2 of 11 in Hendersonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
#1 of 11 in Hendersonville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
3.4 mi away
Ramada Hendersonville
Ramada Hendersonville
#4 of 11 in Hendersonville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
18.8 mi away
Brookstone Lodge
Brookstone Lodge
#31 of 63 in Asheville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Lodge

Property: Mountain Lodge
Address: 42 McMurray Rd, Flat Rock, NC 28731-5810
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Flat Rock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Flat Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authentic ALL-SUITE Mountain Lodge nestled in the heart of the Blue Ridge Mountains and convenient to Asheville, Historic Hendersonville and I26. The perfect place for affordable vacations, weekend getaways, reunions, retreats and honeymoons. You and your family will enjoy quality time together and the montage of local activities and attractions including; Biltmore Estate, Blue Ridge Parkway, Chimney Rock State Park, Dupont & Pisgah National Forests, NC Arboretum, Flat Rock Playhouse, Apple Valley and the world famous downtowns of Hendersonville and Asheville! Western NC's only ALL-SUITE Lodge with luxurious "Suite Sleep" bedding. In addition, you will enjoy the sounds from our waterfall, relax in our indoor pool, or play a board game in our library. Award winning in house chef, nature trail, s'mores bonfire, waterfall courtyard, fitness & business center, basketball & more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Hotel Flat Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing