We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Rim Rock Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Rim Rock Inn
Ranked #5 of 7 Torrey B&B and Inns
Valley Center, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

I went through Torrey on a motorcycle trip. The place is a little old but clean. The staff seemed afraid of me. I'm a little old but clean. The continental breakfast was minimal. The restaurant attached to the motel is excellent but pricey.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    129
    47
    22
    6
See reviews for
47
153
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2011

We chose to stay here because we had been camping for a week, and wanted to stay in a hotel the night before our flight home so we could organize our bags and shower. The room was inexpensive and clean, and had everything we needed. The staff that we met were all very friendly, and even the other guests were friendly (one of them advised us where to get breakfast in the morning). The view is incredible.

We ate dinner at the attached restaurant, and our food was delicious. We ordered a smoked trout appetizer and it turned out that they hot smoke it to order! It was excellent. I had an entree of BBQ ribs and it was so good, I ate until I was way past full. They had more meat on them than I have ever seen on a rib before. You can smell the BBQ from the parking lot and I think it had been working on my mind all afternoon, and once it was time for dinner I don't think I even noticed the rest of the menu. Even if you stay elsewhere, it's worth coming to the restaurant for a meal.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bindicated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinjarra, Australia
Level Contributor
219 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

After a day of driving and hiking we set up camp here for the night.The rooms might have been a bit tired, but not as tired as we were. They were of good size, clean, comfortable and quiet. Couldnt get wifi in the room, but could up in the lobby. T V only ever used in states for the weather channel. Did not need a laundry, so did not ask. Breakfast as with a lot of motels in the U.S. was sub standard consisting of token gestures of a muffin and everything else had been consumed by the time we got there at 8.30am. Fortunatly there are good coffee shops with delicious fare back in the village. Excellent restaurant attached.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob-Carol-Pinjarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layton, Utah
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

My husband and I stayed here in August 2011 and had a nice time. The room was comfortable and clean and had everything we needed. The price was great and the grounds were well kept. The staff was very friendly everywhere we went on the grounds. There are two restaurants on the property, a nice steak house and a casual dining/bar establishment; we ate at both places. The food at the steak house was fantastic, the service was great, and the prices were very reasonable. I had the local trio and it was delicious. The casual dining place was wonderful as well. It had darts, frisbee golf, and a lot of kitsch. The nachos were fresh with handmade chips and the portion was huge. The view from this property is fantastic and watching the sun set of the red cliffs was beautiful. We really enjoyed our stay and will stay again the next time we are in Torrey, UT.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 012512Name
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
235 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

inexpensive, yes, but MUCH more "budget" than advertised. Room was not welcoming-- stained carpets-- just not a comfortable room at all. The attached restaurant has excellent food! $20 per meal price range. Quite the opposite of the motel in every way .

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wings1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
109 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

What a great find! After a day at Capitol Reef, we checked in with the friendly and helpful front desk, and walked to the end of the building to have a wonderful dinner. The beautiful dining room has windows on 3 sides that display the spectacular red cliffs that were illuminated by the setting sun as we dined. There is also a more casual pub at the end of the driveway for more informal dining. The cozy lodge room had all we needed and the next morning we were treated to another show as the sun illuminated the red cliffs on the west. Rimrock Inn is only a few minutes to the little town of Torrey, where there is a grocery store and a unique bookstore/coffee house that has neat talks on Sat. night. This is a great location between some of the beautiful stops in Utah!

Room Tip: West-side rooms have spectacular sunrise shows on the red cliffs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doughgirl81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

Even though the price was low and expectations were scaled to their price, they did not come through. Most frustrating was the lack of internet wireless service. It was not available in my room. Front desk staff had poor customer service skills. We had a two night reservation and decided to bail out after one night. They refunded our money for one night. Avoid!

Room Tip: Stay next to office to potentially get a wireless signal
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank h0wardt55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torrey hotels
0.1 mi away
Capitol Reef Resort
1.6 mi away
Broken Spur Inn
Broken Spur Inn
#2 of 6 in Torrey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
2.5 mi away
Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Days Inn Torrey Capital Reef
0.4 mi away
Affordable Inn of Capitol Reef
1.9 mi away
Red Sands Hotel
Red Sands Hotel
#4 of 6 in Torrey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rim Rock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rim Rock Inn

Property: The Rim Rock Inn
Address: 2523 E Highway 24, Torrey, UT 84775
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Torrey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Torrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Rim Rock Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Rim Rock Inn and Restaurants. We can offer you complimentary continental breakfast, free wireless internet, 19" TVs and two fabulous on-site dining options. You'll love having an outdoor entrance to your room and a beautiful scenic view from your own balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Rim Rock Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rim Rock Hotel Torrey
The Rim Rock Inn Torrey, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing