We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Torrey Schoolhouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torrey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Torrey Schoolhouse
Ranked #1 of 7 Torrey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2008

My husband and I recently stayed here and we loved it. We stayed in the Reading Room, which was very comfortable and clean. I'm a bit of a clean-freak and don't like to walk barefoot or sit on bedspreads (which I don't think hotels clean often enough), but I didn't have those qualms here.

Breakfast was delicious. When they give you french toast, it's not just your basic stuff... it's good freshly-baked bread with yummy batter and fresh nuts sprinkled on top. The syrup was actually maple and not that maple-flavored corn syrup stuff.

Diana, who seems to be next in charge after the owner, was extremely helpful and a wonderful, warm personality.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NY100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    43
    12
    6
    1
See reviews for
23
149
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pacific Northwest
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2008

We made reservations but never actually stayed Torrey Schoolhouse----and considering they opened on April 1 (for the season) and there didn't seem to be anyone staying there when we were in Torry, we did NOT understand why the reservation agent was so negative, unfriendly and unwilling to work with us. Once we did get to Torrey, we swallowed our lost deposit money and chose a competing cabin for 1/3 of the price.

  • Disliked — The customer service was patronizing, negative and unfriendly. The location is NOT ideal.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HikeandBike45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Mississippi
Level Contributor
164 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2007

The Torrey Schoolhouse Inn is a sparkling clean well kept inn near Capitol Reef National Park. The rooms are immaculate and very up to date. Breakfasts are wonderfully prepared and there is plenty for all. The calm quiet atmosphere is complimented by the gorgeous gardens that surround the Inn and make for a nice place to sit and relax. There were no surprises for us at any time during our stay and I would return there without hesitation. You will be delighted if you choose this B and b for your visit to the Torrey area.

  • Liked — Clean, updated rooms, good service, pleasant environment.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2007

One of the best B&B stays. Exceptionally hospitable and friendly, really felt like we got to know some locals. Wish it were in NJ so we can bring all our friends.

Helpful?
Thank lizpagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2007

As the result of very unsatisfactory lodgings in Hesperus, Colorado (see separate review of the Blue Lake Ranch), we found ourselves almost a week ahead of schedule for our planned stay at the Torrey Schoolhouse Bed and Breakfast Inn. But a call to innkeeper Ty resulted in our being able to book the 2-room suite named the Arithmetic Room for the next 3 nights.

What a difference between the two accommodations - and at a better price! As described in previous reviews, the TS B&B is in a large 3-story converted stone schoolhouse, although one of the innkeepers stated that the original use before it became a school had been as a dance hall. One wonders, why was such a big building built (it's by far the largest in the pop. 174 town of Torrey), especially as a dance hall in Mormon country?

The present use, however, is the result of an extremely ambitious and successful renovation that has turned the old building into a gracious, welcoming, and, given the weather when we were there, cool luxury lodging. Downstairs is a very large, high-ceilinged public room with a piano, several seating areas and tables for the included breakfast. It is very light, due to numerous tall windows, and is decorated in an unassuming motif of chintz-covered chairs and sofas.

The sleeping rooms are primarily on the second and third floors. The second floor has most of the old classrooms, and has the only 2-bedroom suite. With walls over a foot thick and double-glazed windows, they can maintain their cool, although central A/C is available. The third floor rooms are in large dormers that were added to the original building. They feature excellent views over the surrounding countryside and off to the north to a panorama of stunning red cliffs. Again, the decor is cool and light.

As the Inn is a long 1 1/2 blocks from the main highway that runs through town, it is pretty quiet at night. The only noise we experienced, which could be controlled, was the due to the wind that picked up after midnight. If the window was open and the box shade dropped all the way down, the shade would bang around in the wind. Easily fixed.

A night's stay includes a specially prepared and served "organic" breakfast. Torrey is a long way from major shopping, so everything isn't necessarily organic, but a good effort is made to create a healthy and tasty meal. Our only gripe was that breakfast wasn't served until 8:30 am, and then it's a sit-down affair, so it's pretty much 8:30 or nothing. Given the 100-plus degree days we were experiencing, an early start to explore nearby Capitol Reef NP was mandatory, so we missed two of our three breakfasts in order to get off quickly. In fairness, Dianna did fix us a nice early plate of fresh fruit on our last morning, so a real effort was made to accommodate us.

Dining out in the area has two excellent choices - the Cafe Diablo in Torrey, and the Hell's Backbone Kitchen in Boulder, about an hour away. The latter is a good way to break the self-guided 125-mile Waterpocket District drive around the southern end of the park, which goes through Boulder. The final 45 miles back to Torrey over a 9000' pass is a great late evening drive.

Overall, we loved the Torrey Schoolhouse B&B, and would both highly recommend it to friends and return again without hesitation. June reservations are pretty easy to get, as the weather is warming up. We had an unusually hot spell, but still had a terrific time!

  • Liked — Great facility and location.
  • Disliked — Breakfast served too late.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank winetripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW Washington State
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2007

Well-decorated, comfortable room. Room clean - bed comfortable - towels and bathroom all we could ask for. Owners did a great job in restoring the schoolhouse. Grand area on main floor for reading, talking, hanging out. Breakfasts nicely presented, healthy and good food. We'd definitely come back again. Owners appear to be doing a great job supporting the community.

  • Stayed May 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mayorchim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
160 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2007

We loved this B&B. Amazing newly decorated rooms with large baths and massage chairs in each room. The breakfasts were delicious and delightfully served. This is an amazing B&B in a remote area of Utah. It is the gateway to Capitol Reefs National Park.

  • Liked — The Rooms were gorgeous and spacious.
  • Disliked — No elevator
  • Stayed May 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ewilkens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torrey hotels
2.5 mi away
Capitol Reef Resort
1.1 mi away
Broken Spur Inn
Broken Spur Inn
#2 of 6 in Torrey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.1 mi away
Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
SkyRidge Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Red Sands Hotel
Red Sands Hotel
#4 of 6 in Torrey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.5 mi away
Capitol Reef Inn & Cafe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torrey Schoolhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torrey Schoolhouse

Property: Torrey Schoolhouse
Address: 150 N. Center St, Torrey, UT 84775
Location: United States > Utah > Torrey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Torrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Torrey Schoolhouse B&B Inn provides lodging in a historic pioneer setting. The Inn was once the lifeblood of the whole county, including weekend dances, country bands, boxing matches, sometimes attended by local outlaws including Butch Cassidy. The Inn is close to hiking, biking, scenic trails, horseback riding, tours, and is the perfect base for your next National Park adventure! If you are planning a tour of Bryce Canyon, Canyonlands, or Lake Powell, don't forget to include the diverse and spectacular Capitol Reef National Park on your route! A stay inTorrey to enjoy great food at award-winning restaurants, and to revive yourself with our Sharper Image rolling-action massage-recliners is a special treat. Come and relax and enjoy the historic elegance that awaits you at the Schoolhouse Bed and Breakfast Inn!Located in the heart of Torrey, Utah--only minutes from the entrance to Capitol Reef National Park--the Torrey Schoolhouse Bed and Breakfast Inn is the most convenient and luxurious lodging accommodation at Capitol Reef. Providing delicious ORGANIC full hot breakfasts, the Schoolhouse Bed and Breakfast Inn is also a wellness retreat. It is truly where "Capitol Reef meets comfort!" ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Torrey Schoolhouse Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing