We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Burgers and Ice Cream”
Review of Slackers

Slackers
Ranked #4 of 20 Restaurants in Torrey
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Oakwood, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Great Burgers and Ice Cream”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We eat at slackers everytime we go to Capitol Reef. The service is good, the food is great, and we love the license plates that decorate the restaurant. This restaurant closes during off season.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jewella72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    230
    75
    23
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Better burgers elsewhere”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

They advertise themselves as the best burgers in Utah so we were expecting a good meal. We were disappointed. A double Wendy's burger or a Chili's burger is better than the two that we had here. Not close to the best in Utah.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Boston59_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“The Locals Eat Here!”
Reviewed October 18, 2013


So you know it has to be good! Someone at the Red Sands Hotel recommended Slackers for a good meal. As it was just down the road, it was already beginning to appeal to me. There was a great selection of possibilities posted but how can you go wrong with curly fries; cheeseburger toped off with a root beer float? Eating solo I was engaged in small talk with a table of regulars. It’s too bad I only had one day in Capitol Reef, as I seriously wanted to try some of the other menu items.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelinJoe47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice people, well-priced and good food”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Torrey doesn't have much in the way of restaurants; and they all seem overpriced. We had a hamburger and a chicken sandwich for dinner, which came with fries. The cook was nice enough to make up a small green salad for us. And the milkshake was excellent!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 364santafeguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado, USA
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Excellent burger”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

My friend and I ordered the garlic burger (one was a veggie patty) and it was amazingly smothered in garlic. It was one of the best veggie burgers I've eaten (but I'm quite partial to garlic). The curly fries were nothing to write home about, and the rootbeer float was good, but not amazing, but the burger more than made up for it. If I ever find myself in that part of the world again I wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank linteater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slackers also viewed

 

Been to Slackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing