We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, but didn't live up to the hype”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Slackers

Slackers
Ranked #4 of 19 Restaurants in Torrey
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice, but didn't live up to the hype”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Our group of 14 ate here and I hate to say it, we were underwhelmed. Perhaps our expectations were too high, but it was just good... not great. The kids did have a lot of fun playing in the little park.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JudyH537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    208
    65
    21
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“still totally great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We returned this year and, as previously reported, everything was GREAT!!! Because Café Diablo has been ruined (see my separate review of it) and we were in Torrey for 2 lunches and 2 dinners, we ate every meal, happily, at Slackers. The burgers are yummy, with great toppings, buns and fries. Because we needed *some* variety, we branched out and tried the crispy chicken sandwich and also the crispy chicken salad. In both cases, there was a tasty, boneless chicken breast lightly fried, in one case served like the burgers, with bun and fries, and in the other, cut up and put on top of an amazingly tasty mixed green salad with choice of dressing. We held off on the (totally delicious) shakes this year and instead had their classic hot fudge sundae...yum! The place is always busy with locals and repeat visitors, but the staff remains soooo nice. Finally, the décor is a hoot: funny signs all over and license plates from around the world. If you're in Torrey, DON'T miss Slackers

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank prado1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
177 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We were looking for a good casual place to eat and the reviews here were very good so in we went. So happy we did. Great place, great staff and great burgers. Excellent shakes too. Priced right. I would definitely return. If you like a good burger then you'll enjoy it here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mitchmurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richfield, Utah
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best burger stop in Capitol Reef”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

If you have worked up an appetite from exploring Capitol Reef then this is the place to come. Old fashioned burgers were excellent as were the fries and shakes. Staff was very kind and friendly. We enjoyed eating outside in the picnic area with a nice view of the distinct red cliffs in the distance while our kids played on the playground--best kind of "Playland" if you ask me. Prices were a bit high but didn't dissuade us from eating here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauracello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good burgers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I had the Mushroom Bacon Swiss Burger; it wasn't the best burger I've ever had, but it was good. The strawberry shake was also good, tasted like they had used fresh strawberries.

On the down side... you do have to pay .25 for the fry sauce -- this is the first restaurant I've ever had to pay for fry sauce. As others have mentioned, it is a bit pricey; however, considering it's the only place to get a burger in the surrounding area it was a price we were willing to pay.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BCARG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slackers also viewed

 

Been to Slackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing